$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
112 reviews
excellent

The hotel is very clean! The staff was helpful and patient with all of our questions. The location... See full review

  • td and cl
  • Sep 16, 2014
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • Jul 5, 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine WI
Jan 31, 2011

The best deal in the windy city

Friendly staff. Very helpful from the moment we pulled in. Great breakfast in the mornings. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was very good and friendly. I've paid a lot more for a lot less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The breakfast could easily pay for the room if you have children with you. It's like buying breakfast for the kids and getting a nice hotel room for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Jan 31, 2011

Homewood Suites Review

The hotel, for the price and location, was definitely a good choice. We were only in for a night to catch up and grab some dinner. The rooms are nicely sized as suites, and clean. It is really close to Michigan Ave, so a lot of the stores are in walking distance. We walked to Gino's East to enjoy the scenery. The women at the front desk were very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking is pretty expensive everywhere down there, so I parked at the garage right in front of the hotel, by the Hilton I believe, for $38/ night. I think that's the cheapest in the area, valet ran from $42 and up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon,MI
Jan 30, 2011

great weekend away

Room was very nice, just the right size for a couple, we had visitors & takeout that thanks to the kitchen, we were able to eat & reheat with real dishes. Loved the breakfast the next day. Will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend, IN
Jan 30, 2011

family trip to chicago

The hotel is located in a great location downtown. You are two blocks away from Trader Joe's so you can pick up any groceries you need for the kitchen in your room. Valet parking is $42 and you can come and go as you please versus paying $38 for self park where you can't come and go. The rooms are spacious and clean, more than enough room for our 2 and 3 year old to play. North Bridge mall is right across the street, so we took our kids to the The Lego Store to see a lego Chicago skyline. Multiple restaurants are in walking distance. The complimentary breakfast offers a wide variety of hot and cold items, unlike other free hotel breakfasts. We take family trips to Chicago often and have stayed in many hotels downtown. After reading the reviews and staying here, we're never staying any place else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The 4pm check in time is not written in stone. We arrived 3 hours early and still got to check in! So if you are early, it doesn't hurt to ask if your room is ready!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lashawn Mom
Business
chicaogo,il
Jan 29, 2011

Excellent Location

Our stayat the Homewood Suites Chicago was awesome. The room was nice and clean and would believe the mini kitchen in the suite. We only stayed one night to celebrate my birthday and we loved it. The valet parking with in/out priveliges is very convenient. It is located within walking distance of every type of food you could want. I would definetely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location, Very Family Friendly!!!

We arrived early at 10am (check-in is at 4pm) and they immediately had our room ready and our luggage taken up. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful with directions, hailing cabs, and offering suggestions for restaurants (with giving us coupons!!) The pool was awesome as it is on the top floor (19th floor) and my 7 year old daughter thought that was just totally cool! Even though it was very chilly in the windy city, we had a blast and would recommend to anyone that this hotel is amazingly priced, well located between everything, and had a nice hot buffet breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Weber Grill was fantastic, the hotel even gives you a coupon for a free kid's meal. However, I will definitely make reservations otherwise you will have to wait about an hour to be seated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit MI
Jan 22, 2011

The Absolute Best Experience

Our experience at this hotel was nothing short of perfect...from allowing us early check in to late check out. We used to live in Chicago and planned this weekend to visit with all our old friends. Not only were the rooms spacious (we entertained 9 friends,) but the hotel brought us extra chairs to accomodate "our guests". It was like entertaining at home, except for the clean up..haha. We were made to feel very comfortable and truly,have NEVER had such a pleasurable hotel experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a mall and several restaurants within 2 blocks - an unbelievable "plus" when it is was 12 degress outside! The "Red Line" train was 2 blocks away as well, allowing us to get ANYWHERE -- took it to China Town and Wrigley Field

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Jan 3, 2011

Had a great time.

No grand entrance lobby must allow this hotel to give great perks, such as free breakfast and dinner (free wine and beer) with every nights stay. The room was updated,clean,spacious and the hotel is a great central location. The employees I interacted with were very pleasant and helpful. A downfall would have to be that the elevators were the slowest I have seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love authentic Italian and Quartino's fits the bill perfectly, can be done affordably or extravagantly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW ORLEANS,LA
Dec 14, 2010

great price, great location,great hosts!

m

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SB, IN
Nov 14, 2010

Convenient location

Many good restaurants within steps, as well as shopping...we were able to walk to Chicago Theater with the good weather...always a plus when breakfast is included

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top