$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tembabe
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 24, 2014

Great Location & Price...but beware of parking fee!

Great price for the location but was unaware of the parking fee which was another $50! I know it's Chicago and downtown but really? Amenities were great and the best part is it has a pool and breakfast was included. That's always a plus. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have your parking fee validated for the N. Grand parking ramp (where we parked) if you spend at least $20 at Bed Bath and Beyond or Jewel Osco...but that's if you are only there for an hour. Otherwise it's $41 for overnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaNa from FDL
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Jan 14, 2014

Great experience

The hotel location is perfect-- just off Michigan Avenue. For the location and affordable price, the suites / rooms are surprisingly very large and include a large kitchen. They also allow for extended parking (more than 24 hours) for one flat fee through their valet service, which is cheaper than public garages. The hotel also includes a complimentary weekend breakfast that was satisfying. I stayed here for a conference in Chicago, but would definitely come back for vacation and think the separated spacious kitchen / living room area and bedroom make it very comfortable for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiff01
Business
Chicago, il
Dec 27, 2013

Good price

Overall I think this hotel was a nice place to stay with my children. We wanted a nice hotel with a pool and the pool was very kid friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimW
Business
Indiana
Dec 11, 2013

Chicago Homewood Suites - Grand Avenue

Very nice hotel. The staff, especially at the door, were outstanding. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
High class attitude
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 11, 2013

Very nice stay

Clean rooms, great service, free hot breakfast. What more are you looking for...??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mousey1958
Business
Winnipeg,manitoba
Jul 13, 2013

Holiday

I would stay there again.great location .right downtown close to subway & magnificent mile

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZeMan
Business
Chicago Burbs, IL
May 23, 2013

Ideal for a party room

I was in need of something spacious in the downtown Chicago area to accommodate a handful of people after a night on the town and this is the place to go for that! The staff is accommodating and respects your privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B day boy
Business
Chicago
Apr 29, 2013

B day getaway

I really enjoyed my stay. I recommend this hotel to anyone. Good customer service and nice rooms. Excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rock Bottom restaurant is a great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMKE
Business
Milwaukee,WI
Mar 18, 2013

Great service and room

Came for a stay with our 15 month old daughter. The staff in the lobby were really kind and gave her a book and a toy to play with. They helped us find restaurants near by to eat at and free breakfast in the morning is always a plus. Valet service was great as well. We plan on staying again in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ex Chicago gal
Business
Los Angeles
May 22, 2012

Acceptable accommodations.

The kitchen, bedroom and bath were fine, but nothing out of the ordinary. The worst thing is the sofa sleeper. My son accompanied me on this trip and had to sleep on a thin mattress and felt the mechanism with every move he made. He thought it was the worst thing that he ever slept on. The decor is very dated and the duvet cover in the bedroom is a horrible polyester fabric, but it is lined with cotton and the sheets and towels are a very nice quality. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. They served eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, fruit, bagels, muffins, sweet rolls, oatmeal, juices and coffee. Definitely enough to get you through the morning and well into the afternoon. The location of the hotel is very good. You can walk to Rush St., Michigan Avenue, Oak Street, the river, and Millennium Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take one of the architectural river cruises. It is a great way to view some wonderful examples of modern buildings and historical ones. We took the Shoreline cruise which is only an hour and our guide was informative and very funny. He probably does this during the day and works at Second City at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top