$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luvtutravel
Business
chicago
Jul 13, 2009

excellent rooms and amenities

No hang ups! smooth transaction. exceptional service and staff. we loved the California King size bed and the extra living room space. kitchen was a +. Take advantage of the breakfast buffet definately above average all the way around. we'll be back! Only drawback is a check in time of 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Euclid, Ohio
Jul 13, 2009

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

The staff were wonderful. I mistakenly made the resevation for one week later and they accommodated us anyway. Even though we had to be in a smoking room, it was as clean as it could be and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2009

"Great Get-a-way!!!!!!!!!!!"

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granger, IN
Jul 12, 2009

Not too bad

With two elevators and all hotel rooms starting above sixth floor be prepared for a long wait if there is a lot of guests. Very efficient air conditioning makes for windy condition in rooms. 20 minutes walk to Navy Pier, nice restaurants in 15 minutes walk radius, shopping nearby. Parking offered by hotel is pricey, lots of parkings in the area some of them with in/out privilege and cheaper...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolleys provide a lot of local information and take you from one place of interest to another. The problem is it gets boring soon. If you just need transportation get bus map and ticket. Using your car in downtown Chicago is very stressful unless you know it well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlantic hoppers
Business
London
Jul 7, 2009

Ideal for families

We spent three nights in Chicago on our way from London to Santa Fe to visit our son. We loved Chicago, so decided to stay on our way back too. This hotel was cheaper than our first one, and we liked it much better although not so 'posh'. We bought a travel card and visited the Hancock Tower, the Art Institute and Navy Pier, also the millenium park, all of which were within easy reach. Would definitely recommend it for families as the kitchen and the breakfast and evening meal are ideal for people on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
singer
Business
Iowa City Ia
Jul 5, 2009

Excellent downtown accomodations!!!

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The parking was a little expensive, but you had a valet to bring your car to you and you come and go as much as you wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
singer
Business
Iowa City Ia
Jul 5, 2009

Excellent downtown accomodations!!!

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The parking was a little expensive, but you had a valet to bring your car to you and you come and go as much as you wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Ideally located for downtown sightseeing

Was here for a wedding, but also did some centralized downtown sightseeing while my family and I were there. The hotel staff are very friendly, know the area very well, are very good with sightseeing suggestions, and the rooms are very clean, quiet, and very tastefully decorated with restful themes and colors. I used to be a travel agent for many years and have learned to be quite picky about where I stay. For the value, and the excellent rooms and friendly staff, I would gladly recommend this to any family, business traveller, or leisure vacationing clients. It is within walking distance to many sightseeing locations, or if needed, a taxi cab ride, is easily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure that you are located in a safe and well light area, and feel comfortable with the hotel. Look at the amenties offered with the hotel, and this many times will give you a hint of what to expect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mandoman
Business
United Kingdom
Jun 30, 2009

Always a pleasure

We always stay at Homewod when we visit Chicago, usually twice a year. Great location, yards from Michigan Avenue, CTA and choice of restaurants. Staff always courteous and obliging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont take an expensive cab or bus ride. Hop on the blue line CTA, change at Jackson for Red Line and a few stops to Grand and literally a few steps to the hotel,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oe and ClaraBelle
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 29, 2009

Superb Hotel,.... .Best of locations

The bed was just as comfortable as any 5 star hotel, the room was attractive and well-appointed, with every convienience available. Excellent n every sense of the word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do take the Millenium Boat tour if sight-seeing, the best of varied dining is a very short walk from the hotel in all directions. Very easy to get around by walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top