$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

3 stars
506 West Harrison Street, Chicago, IL 60607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
Business Stay

Really excellent location and very easy for visiting downtown See full review

  • Sriram Nallam
  • May 15, 2014
Good for Business Stay

Very friendly staff and helpful It is very conveniently located near the train station and walkable... See full review

  • Sriram Nallam
  • May 14, 2014
Welcome to Chicago, the city of Barack Obama's other White House! Conveniently located just a few minutes away from the central business district, prominent area attractions, magnificent shopping, sizzling dining, and renowned entertainment venues, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chicago Downtown is a great choice for your accommodation needs, and to start off your adventure to truly experience the city our President loves! Centrally located just blocks away from Sears Tower, Amtrak/Union Station, Greek Town, University of Illinois Chicago Campus, Harpo Studios/Oprah Store, Rush Medical Center, McCormick Place, Civic Opera House, Grant Park, Millennium Park, The Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium, Navy Pier, Solider Field, United Center, U.S. Cellular Field, Museum of Science and Industry, and President Obama's home located in the Hyde Park Kenwood neighborhood! Steps away from Chicago's transportation hub, the CTA Blue line train stop Clinton Station is located at the base of the hotel. Only 12 miles from Midway Airport and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport, our hotel is easily accessible from all of Chicago's major highways, just off I-290 at the Canal Street exit. Affordable rates, unbeatable value, and a warm friendly staff are just a few of the reasons why our guests enjoy staying at our hotel! This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6398
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, NE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Marina City: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.5 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.5 mi

Dining

Sunny's Restaurant
There are a variety of menu options available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This includes daily specials and steaks, chops seafood and delicious salads to choose from.
Lou Mitchell's
One of the country's most acclaimed breakfast restaurants located at the starting point of Route 66, restaurant is located 3 blocks from hotel.
Dylans Tavern
Located just 5 blocks North of the hotel. Serving lunch and dinner 7 days a week!
Parthenon
Authentic Greek cusine with signature items such as Leg of Lamb and Gyros
Everest
Upscale French fusion cuisine located on top floor of Midwest Stock Exchange building, 6 blocks from hotel Complimentary valet parking in One Financial Place for dinner patrons
N9NE
Trendy upscale steak house in nightclub like setting, 7 blocks north of hotel.
Giordanos Pizza
Giordanos has been referenced as having Chicagos Best Pizza
Sunny's Bar and Grill
Featuring drinks of your choice along with menu options Sunny's. Juke box, pool table, dart board, games and more await you at the Lounge. The Manager's Reception is available on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, ask your server or the front desk for more informat

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margui
Michigan
Jan 7, 2013

Great Staff

The staff was delightful. They even helped me wrap a package that I got right before I left the hotel, one that I had to take on the airplane. The greeted me enthusiastically whenever I returned to the hotel. The concierge and the receptionist walked me out to the street and sidewalk to show me where to catch the bus and the CTA. So friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRK Symphony
New York
Jun 9, 2014

Friendly Staff, Comfortable Accomadations

Friendly staff and nice rooms. Only downside is no mini fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Feddy
VA
May 28, 2014

Nice hotel

Room was clean , some noice at nights. Metro Blue line in from of the hotel. Any atractions close. No breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sriram Nallam
Business
Middlebury CT
May 15, 2014

Business Stay

Really excellent location and very easy for visiting downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sriram Nallam
Business
Middlebury CT
May 14, 2014

Good for Business Stay

Very friendly staff and helpful It is very conveniently located near the train station and walkable distance to our customer location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling b
sydney, australia
Jan 8, 2014

good night stay

one night stay near the station, comfortable room, helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smuck
Chicago
Dec 20, 2013

Fantastic stay

Staying here was a nice stay it was great customer service nice n clean rooms comfortable beds clean bathrooms great parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago123456789
Business
Chicago
Dec 17, 2013

One night stay

This hotel was a great location to where we had to be. The room was a normal hotel room although had no DVD player. The toilet would flush repeatedly after every flush as well as throughout the night until we got up and had to fix the toilet ourself by taking the top off the toilet. This was very annoying seeing we had to do this at least 4 times. The alarm went off at 4:30am even though we did not set the alarm. The staff gave us a few rewards towards our rewards program which was nice but refused to credit us anything about the toilet situation! The staff did give us a 2 hr late checkout which was very helpful. This hotel is a great location, parking on site and fine if your just sleeping there. One thing, we checked in early in the am and they had no valet parking available but we parked in the parking lot next to the hotel and saved over $15!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chef mateo
downtown, Chicago
Dec 16, 2013

special occasional stay

The service the whole staff had offered was just welcoming. It was a pleasant stay overnight and the rooms were clean and also had that home feeling to them. If your looking for a great overnight experience i would recommend this hotel for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the blue line! and pace buses. also front desk calls taxi if you are in need of one.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chelsicone97
Huntington Beach
Dec 10, 2013

The remarkable staff is the hotels strongest asset.

I was having one disaster after the next on my trip until I checked into HI. The staff immediately lifted my spirits and to my surprise I left the front desk after check in and smiled all the way to my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

$3 for a 12 Buffalo Wings and all of he fixing! Very reasonably priced Beer and cocktails.

Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites CHICAGO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Purple Fridays
Puyallup, WA
Sep 18, 2013

Central location

Quick and easy access to the Blue Line. Front desk staff always helpful and attentive. Staff ready to call a cab and offer suggestions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the CTA Blue Line in 2 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search