$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
215 reviews
No free parking

Overall, was good. Except for the parking. No parking and the parking next door doesn't have any... See full review

  • JORGE G.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Business Trip

Great location for a business trip. The rooms are small but the location is walking distance to... See full review

  • Richard M.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CFLA25
Business
Miami, FL
May 28, 2010

Heart of Chicago most definetely!!!!

At Chicago with my bestfried for my Birthday and we absolutely loved the service at this Hotel!!! We were very impressed with the variety the Breakfast Buffet offered every morning. The hotel was very centric to all that we were in town for. Just a walk or bus away to all the Chicago Tourist Attractions. Also lots of nearby Restaurants too! We also loved the Hydrageas outside of the Hotel and the Bellman was so sweet and very helpful with directions!!! Would definetely stay at this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weber Grill a must! Big Bowl is awesome! Pizzeria Due's Deep Dish Pizza was worth it! Portillo's was a cool spot for Chicago Style Hot Dogs and Beer in Schooner Glass! Garret's Popcorn is delicious but messy and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Madison, WI
May 22, 2011

Great downtown Chicago hotel

Really helpful staff, beautiful modern rooms, awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping along northern Michigan Ave and surrounding area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yest
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Good place to be

It was a good stay with good breakfast. Fantastic place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ynkson
Business
Michigan
Nov 11, 2011

BEST HOTEL IN THE AREA

best deal in the magnificent mile! good location, and nice staff. everything is within the walking distance. (only a couple blocks away from Mich ave). I've looked up millions of hotels, and hostels in the area and nothing can beat this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stanly
Business
Ohio
Dec 9, 2011

good location

location is good, which close to the Michigan Ave. and red line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little MMM
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 10, 2012

LOVE IT!

I really like this hotel! Perfect location, it is very close to almost all the places I planed to go to. (This is my first time to Chicago.) I ordered for $79 per night, amazing price for the amazing place, I recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaystl211
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great location and Best staff

We recently stayed at the hotel 2 week of Feb, The hotel was in the best location, around the corner from everything. The bellman to the front desk people were very imformative and we were checked in within 5 minutes. The hotel was spotless from top to bottom. The room had a great view of downtown , the only minus was the room size.Butt most rooms downtown will be about the same size, but very neat and well planned for the space. I got a cab everytime i needed one and i was greeted by hotel staff daily. Very good hotel for the price and i will be back in 3 months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Jewel Osco Drug store 2 blocks from the hotel, and purchase a CTA transit pass. 1day 5.75$ or 3 day $14.75. You can get anywhere using the bus or train and they run every 5 minutes. This will cut down on ur cab rides which can add up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Business
Bay Area
Sep 3, 2012

Great Location/Great Price

I went to Chicago on Labor Day Weekend. All Hotels Downtown were extremely high, however the Holiday Inn Express was still moderately priced. It was my first trip to Chicago and am pleased I chose this Hotel, because it was centrally located, the neighborhood was very safe and had very little traffic. Other hotels in the same price range were only located near a single attraction or in neighbor hoods with a lot of homeless, traffic, and elevated train platforms in the front. I like to walk when I travel. I only used the subway twice, a cab twice, and the bus once. I walked all over Chicago, because my hotel was so close to everything. The only knocks on the hotel are facility related, it is newly renovated, so all fixtures work fine and furniture is new, the bed is comfortable, but still the rooms are small, the walls are thin, and there is no pool. If you have ever traveled to older cities (Chicago, NYC, Philadelphia) you will know that all hotels in downtown areas are like this and you must travel a little further from the center of town to find larger rooms and pools. It's not like Vegas, "this hotel is old, let's knock it down and build a newer bigger one." They just preserve it. Overall a very nice stay to a very nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone goes to Chicago thinking Deep Dish Pizza, however a block down and three blocks over is Portillo's. This is a fast food chain mainly in the Chicago area, and it makes the best sandwich I have ever had, it was a beef and cheadder sandwich on a croissant with sweet peppers dipped in a jus. No one can beat this place, they also have Chicago style sausages, which I understand are quite good. To top it off they have a chocolate cake milk shake. I was expecting it to be like the one at Dairy Queen, bits of cake mixed with Ice Cream, boy was I wrong. It was a whole piece of cake mixed with ice cream, making it the best milk shake I have ever had. Try pizza there, but make sure you try Portillo's! They also except phone orders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlas Alaska
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Sep 8, 2012

Great hotel. Will stay again, when in Chicago

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The room comfortable. I used the computer in printer in the Solarium frequently and it was great. If I ever need to stay in Chicago again, I will pick this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig. It is a tapas bar and the food it the best I'd ever eaten. Make reservations as it was almost an hour wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoriG1105
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 9, 2012

Great hotel in a great location

Great hotel,the staff was very helpful whenever we had any questions. It was also in a great location and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top