$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
217 reviews
Awesome

The trip was great. From the flight to the hotel , feel In love in Chicago. The hotel is on great... See full review

  • Nela
  • Apr 6, 2015
No free parking

Overall, was good. Except for the parking. No parking and the parking next door doesn't have any... See full review

  • JORGE G.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Casino
Children's activities
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 217
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bmm194
Business
new york, ny
Nov 15, 2014

Surprisingly Comfortable Budget Place

Had a graduate school interview to attend and waited last minute to book my trip so everything was sold out or EXTREMELY expensive. I wanted the other holiday inn but it was full and saw that this one had rooms available. Its the budget version of the other holiday inn and i guess more of a motel than a hotel so i was a little nervous. Boy was i pleasantly surprised. The entry way was nice and the lobby was clean and luxe looking for the price. The rooms are extremely tiny but it got the job done for one person. It was clean and well decorated despite it being the size of a really big closet (the bathroom was pretty spacious though and almost the same size as the room). The location is fantastic, a few blocks from the magnificient mile and across the street from major shopping and restaurants. And there's complimentary breakfast which had a wide variety of foods and drinks available...for FREE. Not the true hotel experience but great if on a quick business trip or something where you are staying for a night or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forget transportation when wanting to explore. You are in the middle of everything and can walk EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurous Laura
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 16, 2014

Amazing hotel

The hotel is a two-minute walk from a Red Line station, very convenient when coming from O'Hare, (you take the Blue Line the the Red Line to get to the area). It's right smack at the center of downtown Chicago. There are a Trader's Joe and a Starbucks literally across the street, and the Magnificent Mile is a minute away. Giordano's, the famous deep-dish pizza place, is three blocks away and was so worth the hour-long wait!! This hotel offers complementary breakfast, (good cereals, bagels, donuts, scones, muffins, biscuits, gravy, sausages, pancakes, omlettes, cold juices, coffee etc --no bacon, though. I don't know, maybe I could have requested it...), and is extremely clean, the room has its own air conditioning, TV, free high-speed internet. The employees are super friendly and competent. They strive to make sure you have a nice stay and of course I did have a wonderful time. I'll definitely go back to this Holiday Inn Express when I'm in Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a paper map of the city, because the GPS on your smartphone will not work too well with all those super tall skyscrapers around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sr Dogg
Business
Chicago
Jan 9, 2014

Comfortable for 1

I was very comfortable staying here, the room was small but well equiped for a person on the go. USB charging ports were perfect, you need power these days to keep your travel devices going. I felt like I was in a dorm room, & as everything was nearby (grocery, stores, restaurants) I really relaxed. The star here is the city, & fortunately the crew here takes care of things well so that's all you'll have to think about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I had a bus-train pass but everything is so nearby that I decided to walk almost everywhere. This is my favorite part of Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Koiifish
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Nov 4, 2013

Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I was able to check in early, which was great, and had no issues with them finding my reservation. Location was great, about 2 blocks from N Mich ave, and right around the block from some choice resteraunts. Only caveat was the smallish room, but that was manageable! Everything was clean and overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

M burger, pizza due and uno are right around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolasabunny
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 1, 2013

My solo getaway

This hotel was perfect for my solo trip. It was very affordable, room was small (perfect for just me), free breakfast (loved it)! The staff was great, very friendly and ready to recommend wonderful places to see and restaurants. The bed wasn't as comfy as I hoped it would be, but who cares! I was there to tour around not lay in bed. The location of the hotel was 2-3 blocks from the magnificent mile and surrounded by great restaurants. I would go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tccccc
Business
Maryland
Dec 25, 2012

Hidden Gem

Considering what I paid for this hotel, I was not expecting to stay in such a clean and confortable room. The lobby is gorgeous. There are framed pictures of chickens hanging on the wall, but I promise it isn't weird..just stare at them and appreciate the art. They serve a DELICIOUS every morning. The staff was also extremely friendly, and one of them gave me great advice on how to take the train to O'hare after I woke up late and almost missed my flight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JB since 1995
Business
Mountain Home, AR
Dec 16, 2012

Great Location

You cannot beat the price for the location. But, and I do mean but, the rooms are small. This may be a Holiday Inn Express but this is an old building with small rooms, small bathrooms, small (and slow) elevators... They put a new heating system in the rooms but I found it to be loud and uncontrollable. The breakfast was fine. I will stay here again if the price continues to be reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cillan
Business
Colorado
Nov 22, 2012

Good, but construction next door at the moment

A building to the south side of the hotel is being renovated--jackhammers before 8am. ask for a room on the north sid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student99999
Business
Ohio
Nov 21, 2012

Updated and Great Value

I thought for a cheaper hotel it wasn't going to be as nice in the room, but it was updated and modern and beautiful. The cons: room by the elevator, noisy traffic in the hallway woke me up several times throughout the night, bathroom extremely small and tight and uncomfortable. Overall I would still recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mimilizzie
Business
Mpls
Oct 24, 2012

Fine

The history of this place made it fun but it was expensive for what I got. Only one elevator worked the whole time so I did 15 flights of stairs seversl times. Plus not convinced room was cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Andys jazz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top