$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
217 reviews
Awesome

The trip was great. From the flight to the hotel , feel In love in Chicago. The hotel is on great... See full review

  • Nela
  • Apr 6, 2015
No free parking

Overall, was good. Except for the parking. No parking and the parking next door doesn't have any... See full review

  • JORGE G.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 217
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nela
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome

The trip was great. From the flight to the hotel , feel In love in Chicago. The hotel is on great location in the city walk distance from all attractions. Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Mini Van Traveler
Business
Mankato, MN
Jul 20, 2014

Holy Parking Fees

Everything was great except that parking was a nightmare of expenses. You are better off doing valet parking as you can come and go.... Compared to the public parking where you leave you are gonna get stiffed. The staff was great very helpful. The rooms are very small it is the minimum amount of space to get everything done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Valet parking and not the public parking garage next to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love the windy city
Business
Elkhart indidna
Jul 11, 2014

Great location!

Friendly staff, Small but clean room-if all you really need is a place to sleep, this is an outstanding value. Wide variety of breakfast items. Trader Joe's across street....short walk to MANY areas! We would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Senior citizens can buy $25.00 tickets for theater by going the morning of show to purchase. Some seats have restricted vision, but are still good. Go early. The line gets long fast.v

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler LGBT
Business
Hosuton
May 27, 2014

Location

This hotel was perfectly located, close to metro line Red and easy to move around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

-3 days Red double decker Bus 35 at the canopy. -Arquitectural river side at night with FREE fire works - Tilt - Free painted glass- Navy pier -

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Di Chang
Business
Michigan
Oct 20, 2013

excelent experience

First, the staff were all super friendly and passionately, the room were comfortable and clean, and fairely spacious in center of the downtown Chicago. Wonderful location, one block with everything. Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

牛角BBQ is a wonderful Japanese BBQ chain restaurant. And it only open in the biggest cities all over the world. I drive from Michigan just for this

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mburkitt2
Business
Illinois
May 29, 2013

Great Stay

This hotel was a good deal for the money. Only 2 blocks from the shops on Michigan Ave. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend to anyone staying in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitown guest
Business
wisconsin
Apr 1, 2013

Good downtown deal

Clean, efficient and fantastic location for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ginger marc
Business
kent, ohio
Dec 4, 2012

perfect spot

can't beat the location or the price; was in walking distance of pretty much everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Business
Bay Area
Sep 3, 2012

Great Location/Great Price

I went to Chicago on Labor Day Weekend. All Hotels Downtown were extremely high, however the Holiday Inn Express was still moderately priced. It was my first trip to Chicago and am pleased I chose this Hotel, because it was centrally located, the neighborhood was very safe and had very little traffic. Other hotels in the same price range were only located near a single attraction or in neighbor hoods with a lot of homeless, traffic, and elevated train platforms in the front. I like to walk when I travel. I only used the subway twice, a cab twice, and the bus once. I walked all over Chicago, because my hotel was so close to everything. The only knocks on the hotel are facility related, it is newly renovated, so all fixtures work fine and furniture is new, the bed is comfortable, but still the rooms are small, the walls are thin, and there is no pool. If you have ever traveled to older cities (Chicago, NYC, Philadelphia) you will know that all hotels in downtown areas are like this and you must travel a little further from the center of town to find larger rooms and pools. It's not like Vegas, "this hotel is old, let's knock it down and build a newer bigger one." They just preserve it. Overall a very nice stay to a very nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone goes to Chicago thinking Deep Dish Pizza, however a block down and three blocks over is Portillo's. This is a fast food chain mainly in the Chicago area, and it makes the best sandwich I have ever had, it was a beef and cheadder sandwich on a croissant with sweet peppers dipped in a jus. No one can beat this place, they also have Chicago style sausages, which I understand are quite good. To top it off they have a chocolate cake milk shake. I was expecting it to be like the one at Dairy Queen, bits of cake mixed with Ice Cream, boy was I wrong. It was a whole piece of cake mixed with ice cream, making it the best milk shake I have ever had. Try pizza there, but make sure you try Portillo's! They also except phone orders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
actressgirlcc
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Auditioning

My friends and I were in chicago to audition for a lot of programs. For us the location was unbeatable and the breakfast was perfect for us on the go, not the most amazing thing i've ever eaten, but no complaints here. the staff was great and they even have a gym. For the price it's worth it. Wouldn't stay here if I was planning on living in my hotel, but it's comfortable at the end of a long day. If you are looking to save money, it's a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at the top of the john hancock!!!!!!! 95th floor. just do it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top