$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. WABASH AVENUE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
294 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 294
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler LGBT
Hosuton
May 27, 2014

Location

This hotel was perfectly located, close to metro line Red and easy to move around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

-3 days Red double decker Bus 35 at the canopy. -Arquitectural river side at night with FREE fire works - Tilt - Free painted glass- Navy pier -

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Di Chang
Michigan
Oct 20, 2013

excelent experience

First, the staff were all super friendly and passionately, the room were comfortable and clean, and fairely spacious in center of the downtown Chicago. Wonderful location, one block with everything. Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

牛角BBQ is a wonderful Japanese BBQ chain restaurant. And it only open in the biggest cities all over the world. I drive from Michigan just for this

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mburkitt2
Illinois
May 29, 2013

Great Stay

This hotel was a good deal for the money. Only 2 blocks from the shops on Michigan Ave. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend to anyone staying in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitown guest
wisconsin
Apr 1, 2013

Good downtown deal

Clean, efficient and fantastic location for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ginger marc
kent, ohio
Dec 4, 2012

perfect spot

can't beat the location or the price; was in walking distance of pretty much everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Bay Area
Sep 3, 2012

Great Location/Great Price

I went to Chicago on Labor Day Weekend. All Hotels Downtown were extremely high, however the Holiday Inn Express was still moderately priced. It was my first trip to Chicago and am pleased I chose this Hotel, because it was centrally located, the neighborhood was very safe and had very little traffic. Other hotels in the same price range were only located near a single attraction or in neighbor hoods with a lot of homeless, traffic, and elevated train platforms in the front. I like to walk when I travel. I only used the subway twice, a cab twice, and the bus once. I walked all over Chicago, because my hotel was so close to everything. The only knocks on the hotel are facility related, it is newly renovated, so all fixtures work fine and furniture is new, the bed is comfortable, but still the rooms are small, the walls are thin, and there is no pool. If you have ever traveled to older cities (Chicago, NYC, Philadelphia) you will know that all hotels in downtown areas are like this and you must travel a little further from the center of town to find larger rooms and pools. It's not like Vegas, "this hotel is old, let's knock it down and build a newer bigger one." They just preserve it. Overall a very nice stay to a very nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone goes to Chicago thinking Deep Dish Pizza, however a block down and three blocks over is Portillo's. This is a fast food chain mainly in the Chicago area, and it makes the best sandwich I have ever had, it was a beef and cheadder sandwich on a croissant with sweet peppers dipped in a jus. No one can beat this place, they also have Chicago style sausages, which I understand are quite good. To top it off they have a chocolate cake milk shake. I was expecting it to be like the one at Dairy Queen, bits of cake mixed with Ice Cream, boy was I wrong. It was a whole piece of cake mixed with ice cream, making it the best milk shake I have ever had. Try pizza there, but make sure you try Portillo's! They also except phone orders.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
actressgirlcc
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Auditioning

My friends and I were in chicago to audition for a lot of programs. For us the location was unbeatable and the breakfast was perfect for us on the go, not the most amazing thing i've ever eaten, but no complaints here. the staff was great and they even have a gym. For the price it's worth it. Wouldn't stay here if I was planning on living in my hotel, but it's comfortable at the end of a long day. If you are looking to save money, it's a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at the top of the john hancock!!!!!!! 95th floor. just do it!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little MMM
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 10, 2012

LOVE IT!

I really like this hotel! Perfect location, it is very close to almost all the places I planed to go to. (This is my first time to Chicago.) I ordered for $79 per night, amazing price for the amazing place, I recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stanly
Ohio
Dec 9, 2011

good location

location is good, which close to the Michigan Ave. and red line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ynkson
Michigan
Nov 11, 2011

BEST HOTEL IN THE AREA

best deal in the magnificent mile! good location, and nice staff. everything is within the walking distance. (only a couple blocks away from Mich ave). I've looked up millions of hotels, and hostels in the area and nothing can beat this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top