$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
209 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent travel9797
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Maybe better

Although the staff was welcoming and accommodating, the rooms left a lot to be desired. For the most part it appeared as though to maintenance staff was not paying attention to details, for example, the air ventilation system was filthy, paint was peeling near the windows, and the mattress appeared as though it had not been turned or changed in years. Moreover, when the hotel was renovated it seems as though the rooms were not insulated for sound in that we could hear when people in the other rooms were flushing their toilet and taking showers, at all hours. On a positive note, however, the location was excellent as well as the breakfast. Since we did not spend hours in our room, except to sleep, we were able tolerate the rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Apr 9, 2012

Great Location - Friendly Staff

The Cass is wonderful. It is located with access to restuarants, The L, and walking distance to The Billgoat! It is also amazingly clean, and staffed by good people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Richards Bar. A REAL Chicago experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calcass
Business
Traverse City, MI, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great Location, breakfast and staff !!

The hotel was clean, updated and very accommodating. The breakfast is a great way to start your day and plenty of options to fill you up.. Only complaints are rooms are very small....computers in work room are slow and printer didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
s0811
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Nice location, tiny rooms!

The staff were very nice but the room itself was itty bitty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ames86
Business
Bloomington,IN
Mar 12, 2012

GREAT STAFF GREAT LOCATION

This was a great hotel and for our next trip to Chicago we have already decided this is where we will stay. Beautiful view from our room and the staff was very helpful and nice. The only downfall was our room was VERY VERY small, and they were doing repairs outside our window so there was loud noises and people right outside the window early in the morning. So close for all the best shopping and great food!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mich11
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Small, loud rooms

Pros: -Great location right in the heart of Chicago -Extremely friendly staff -Clean -Complimentary breakfast Cons: -Room was tiny (not sure if all rooms are this size, but mine was). I was there by myself but it really would have been way too small for 2 people. -Room was very loud. There was no sound insulation, so I could hear every person who walked by the door or had a conversation anywhere in the vicinity of my room Overall: I would stay there again if I was only there for a night or two and was getting a really good discounted rate. Otherwise, I would probably pay a little more and go somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebianprinice
Business
Indianapolis IN
Mar 3, 2012

Best value for my money

Awesome place to stay and relex. My favorite place to stay when I'm in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rope
Business
Colorado, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Great Location

This hotel has great historic flare and it's in the heart of downtown! Tons of amenities an activities are close by, it's clean, the staff is helpful, it couldn't get better. The room was a bit small, but overall it's great! Definitely going to stay here the next time I visit Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaystl211
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Great location and Best staff

We recently stayed at the hotel 2 week of Feb, The hotel was in the best location, around the corner from everything. The bellman to the front desk people were very imformative and we were checked in within 5 minutes. The hotel was spotless from top to bottom. The room had a great view of downtown , the only minus was the room size.Butt most rooms downtown will be about the same size, but very neat and well planned for the space. I got a cab everytime i needed one and i was greeted by hotel staff daily. Very good hotel for the price and i will be back in 3 months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Jewel Osco Drug store 2 blocks from the hotel, and purchase a CTA transit pass. 1day 5.75$ or 3 day $14.75. You can get anywhere using the bus or train and they run every 5 minutes. This will cut down on ur cab rides which can add up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Septluv11
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Feb 22, 2012

Good for a weekend stay

Very close to Michigan Ave. but without the busyness of the city. Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast buffet. We were given a wheelchair-accessible room (neither one of us are handicapped) which resulted in a very small room and huge bathroom. Not very comfortable (I can only speak for this room in particular. It's not a regular room.) but perfect if you're looking for an affordable place to stay a couple of nights that is within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, train station and tons of restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the train/ subway system. You can go anywhere with it, no need to rent a car. We took it right from the airport. Very safe, you'll be surprised how many people ride it late at night. We took it back to our hotel at 10:30pm on a Sunday night and it was FULL!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top