$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoriG1105
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 9, 2012

Great hotel in a great location

Great hotel,the staff was very helpful whenever we had any questions. It was also in a great location and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mimilizzie
Business
Mpls
Oct 24, 2012

Fine

The history of this place made it fun but it was expensive for what I got. Only one elevator worked the whole time so I did 15 flights of stairs seversl times. Plus not convinced room was cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Andys jazz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mudpiles
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 3, 2012

Great for business travel

Rooms are small but clean. Great central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlas Alaska
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Sep 8, 2012

Great hotel. Will stay again, when in Chicago

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The room comfortable. I used the computer in printer in the Solarium frequently and it was great. If I ever need to stay in Chicago again, I will pick this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig. It is a tapas bar and the food it the best I'd ever eaten. Make reservations as it was almost an hour wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Business
Bay Area
Sep 3, 2012

Great Location/Great Price

I went to Chicago on Labor Day Weekend. All Hotels Downtown were extremely high, however the Holiday Inn Express was still moderately priced. It was my first trip to Chicago and am pleased I chose this Hotel, because it was centrally located, the neighborhood was very safe and had very little traffic. Other hotels in the same price range were only located near a single attraction or in neighbor hoods with a lot of homeless, traffic, and elevated train platforms in the front. I like to walk when I travel. I only used the subway twice, a cab twice, and the bus once. I walked all over Chicago, because my hotel was so close to everything. The only knocks on the hotel are facility related, it is newly renovated, so all fixtures work fine and furniture is new, the bed is comfortable, but still the rooms are small, the walls are thin, and there is no pool. If you have ever traveled to older cities (Chicago, NYC, Philadelphia) you will know that all hotels in downtown areas are like this and you must travel a little further from the center of town to find larger rooms and pools. It's not like Vegas, "this hotel is old, let's knock it down and build a newer bigger one." They just preserve it. Overall a very nice stay to a very nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone goes to Chicago thinking Deep Dish Pizza, however a block down and three blocks over is Portillo's. This is a fast food chain mainly in the Chicago area, and it makes the best sandwich I have ever had, it was a beef and cheadder sandwich on a croissant with sweet peppers dipped in a jus. No one can beat this place, they also have Chicago style sausages, which I understand are quite good. To top it off they have a chocolate cake milk shake. I was expecting it to be like the one at Dairy Queen, bits of cake mixed with Ice Cream, boy was I wrong. It was a whole piece of cake mixed with ice cream, making it the best milk shake I have ever had. Try pizza there, but make sure you try Portillo's! They also except phone orders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mm77
Business
chicagi,il
Aug 28, 2012

Special trip with Mom

The e.mployees at the Hotel were great super nice. The breakfast was good and hot and the hotel was very clean. I had a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FOXFX
Business
Tinley Park, IL
Aug 26, 2012

Small Rooms!!!

This hotel is way over priced for what you get. The rooms are very small even for a double. Elevators are slow and take forever to get up or down. Only good thing is the hotel is in a good area to walk to shops and has a decent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbond
Business
New York, NY
Aug 26, 2012

surprisingly very good

everything was better than expected. amenities and proximity to restaurants, shopping, businesses was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlucette
Business
Minneapoils
Aug 15, 2012

Better than expected!

This is a great place to stay if you just want a clean, simple place to sleep in Chicago. Rooms are small - true, but extremely clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice, went out of their way to get us a fridge (that we did request before we got there - a small mix up that they fixed asap). One of the men at the desk was above and beyond helpful, he suggested many places to eat and dance, then actually called us after we left to go sight see to list a few more he remembered. I hope he gets a raise, or is paid well, because that was so awesome! Overall, very happy, and great location - will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn JA
Business
Ohio
Aug 8, 2012

Best Location

Excellent location to area attractions. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top