$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tccccc
Maryland
Dec 25, 2012

Hidden Gem

Considering what I paid for this hotel, I was not expecting to stay in such a clean and confortable room. The lobby is gorgeous. There are framed pictures of chickens hanging on the wall, but I promise it isn't weird..just stare at them and appreciate the art. They serve a DELICIOUS every morning. The staff was also extremely friendly, and one of them gave me great advice on how to take the train to O'hare after I woke up late and almost missed my flight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve HSR
Business
Detroit area
Jan 7, 2013

Perfect 3 day get-away

Family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms. Small but comfy rooms. The staff are probably the most friendly group I've ever encountered. Great location, excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to Union Station to catch the Amtrak, have the cab driver drop you off on the east side of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tccccc
Business
Maryland
Dec 25, 2012

Hidden Gem

Considering what I paid for this hotel, I was not expecting to stay in such a clean and confortable room. The lobby is gorgeous. There are framed pictures of chickens hanging on the wall, but I promise it isn't weird..just stare at them and appreciate the art. They serve a DELICIOUS every morning. The staff was also extremely friendly, and one of them gave me great advice on how to take the train to O'hare after I woke up late and almost missed my flight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JB since 1995
Business
Mountain Home, AR
Dec 16, 2012

Great Location

You cannot beat the price for the location. But, and I do mean but, the rooms are small. This may be a Holiday Inn Express but this is an old building with small rooms, small bathrooms, small (and slow) elevators... They put a new heating system in the rooms but I found it to be loud and uncontrollable. The breakfast was fine. I will stay here again if the price continues to be reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laca dawn
Business
South bend, in
Dec 13, 2012

Great

Perfect!the price is amazing for the location :) I have no complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoanP
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 4, 2012

Great Price and Location, plus friendly staff

The location, price and friendly staff is what made this such a great place to stay. The breakfast in the morning had a lot of variety. The rooms were small, but clean. There is no pool or hot tub, but with so much to do in Chicago you don't really need it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ginger marc
Business
kent, ohio
Dec 4, 2012

perfect spot

can't beat the location or the price; was in walking distance of pretty much everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
greatgranny
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Nov 24, 2012

Good buy

Smalll, efficient room...quiet..good location, nice breakfast; would recommend for budget travellers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Awesome
Business
Indiana
Nov 24, 2012

Great location for a great price

I was pleasantly surprised with the interiors of a 3 star economy hotel. The location was also great and allowed us walking distance to places like the Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile etc. I would recommend it to someone who wants to save some $$$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast area is a bit small so be sure to walk in there early if you want a seat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cillan
Business
Colorado
Nov 22, 2012

Good, but construction next door at the moment

A building to the south side of the hotel is being renovated--jackhammers before 8am. ask for a room on the north sid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student99999
Business
Ohio
Nov 21, 2012

Updated and Great Value

I thought for a cheaper hotel it wasn't going to be as nice in the room, but it was updated and modern and beautiful. The cons: room by the elevator, noisy traffic in the hallway woke me up several times throughout the night, bathroom extremely small and tight and uncomfortable. Overall I would still recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top