$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. WABASH AVENUE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
299 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mudpiles
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 3, 2012

Great for business travel

Rooms are small but clean. Great central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atlas Alaska
Grand Rapids, MI
Sep 8, 2012

Great hotel. Will stay again, when in Chicago

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The room comfortable. I used the computer in printer in the Solarium frequently and it was great. If I ever need to stay in Chicago again, I will pick this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig. It is a tapas bar and the food it the best I'd ever eaten. Make reservations as it was almost an hour wait

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJaL
Bay Area
Sep 3, 2012

Great Location/Great Price

I went to Chicago on Labor Day Weekend. All Hotels Downtown were extremely high, however the Holiday Inn Express was still moderately priced. It was my first trip to Chicago and am pleased I chose this Hotel, because it was centrally located, the neighborhood was very safe and had very little traffic. Other hotels in the same price range were only located near a single attraction or in neighbor hoods with a lot of homeless, traffic, and elevated train platforms in the front. I like to walk when I travel. I only used the subway twice, a cab twice, and the bus once. I walked all over Chicago, because my hotel was so close to everything. The only knocks on the hotel are facility related, it is newly renovated, so all fixtures work fine and furniture is new, the bed is comfortable, but still the rooms are small, the walls are thin, and there is no pool. If you have ever traveled to older cities (Chicago, NYC, Philadelphia) you will know that all hotels in downtown areas are like this and you must travel a little further from the center of town to find larger rooms and pools. It's not like Vegas, "this hotel is old, let's knock it down and build a newer bigger one." They just preserve it. Overall a very nice stay to a very nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone goes to Chicago thinking Deep Dish Pizza, however a block down and three blocks over is Portillo's. This is a fast food chain mainly in the Chicago area, and it makes the best sandwich I have ever had, it was a beef and cheadder sandwich on a croissant with sweet peppers dipped in a jus. No one can beat this place, they also have Chicago style sausages, which I understand are quite good. To top it off they have a chocolate cake milk shake. I was expecting it to be like the one at Dairy Queen, bits of cake mixed with Ice Cream, boy was I wrong. It was a whole piece of cake mixed with ice cream, making it the best milk shake I have ever had. Try pizza there, but make sure you try Portillo's! They also except phone orders.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mm77
chicagi,il
Aug 28, 2012

Special trip with Mom

The e.mployees at the Hotel were great super nice. The breakfast was good and hot and the hotel was very clean. I had a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FOXFX
Tinley Park, IL
Aug 26, 2012

Small Rooms!!!

This hotel is way over priced for what you get. The rooms are very small even for a double. Elevators are slow and take forever to get up or down. Only good thing is the hotel is in a good area to walk to shops and has a decent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbond
Business
New York, NY
Aug 26, 2012

surprisingly very good

everything was better than expected. amenities and proximity to restaurants, shopping, businesses was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlucette
Minneapoils
Aug 15, 2012

Better than expected!

This is a great place to stay if you just want a clean, simple place to sleep in Chicago. Rooms are small - true, but extremely clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice, went out of their way to get us a fridge (that we did request before we got there - a small mix up that they fixed asap). One of the men at the desk was above and beyond helpful, he suggested many places to eat and dance, then actually called us after we left to go sight see to list a few more he remembered. I hope he gets a raise, or is paid well, because that was so awesome! Overall, very happy, and great location - will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn JA
Ohio
Aug 8, 2012

Best Location

Excellent location to area attractions. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LORIM from MN
Twin Cities, MN
Jul 31, 2012

Chicago

This is the 2nd time I stayed at this hotel and it's wonderful. The location is great. It's just 2-3 blocks from Michigan Ave without the huge price tag of staying on Michigan Ave. Definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teresa and John
Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

would stay again

Helpful staff, good location to downtown. This isn't one of those hotels that offer a spectacular view but that was ok with us and we were not expecting it. Room was fine for two people but may have been considered small for some. Breakfast was great and offered something for everyone. HD snd HBO channels did not work during our stay and they couldn't resolve, other channels were ok. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be sure to check your TV when you get in.

Back to menu Return to top