$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura and Philip the Chicago frequenters
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, teeny-tiny room

We had a wonderful time in Chicago but we were not extremely pleased with the small size of our room considering what we were paying. There were no pictures of our tiny room on the website so we had no reason to think we would have a room so small. There wasn't even room for both of our suitcases! However, the hotel was very clean, had very courteous staff members and a fantastic breakfast! However, an elevator with room for us would take up to 10 minutes to get to our floor and there was often no room for anyone to sit for breakfast. The location couldn't be beat! Across from Trader Joes, 3 blocks from the CTA and free trolley to Navy Pier! And a 3 minute walk to Michigan! I doubt we will stay there again if it meant staying in such a small room again, but if the opportunity arose for a bigger one, we'd be very willing to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Giordano's, the best stuffed pizza in Chicago!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jakatax
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 14, 2010

Gorgeous views of Chicago

The room was a little small but very clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The continental breakfast was wonderful. We were in a great location to many shops, restaruants and the "red line" subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopping Sharon
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 13, 2010

Holiday Inn Express- Magnificent Mile

The location of the hotel is perfect for hanging in the Michigan Ave. area and the entertainment venues on Rush Street. You are 4 blocks from the red line Grand or Chicago station. You can buy a 24 hour pass for the CTA, ask at the hotel desk they have the details. While the rooms are small, the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Steve was great and very cheerful. Breakfast was a great start to the morning. I would not hesitate to come back next time I'm in this area of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check for parking alternatives around the area. Hotel charges $40.00 a night

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenniferlovethecity
Business
South Bend, IN
Jul 6, 2010

too small for families

We were just in Chicago for a long weekend so didn't spend much time in the room. For just a place to sleep and shower it was fine, but there was no extra room at all in the rooms. We were with other family and one of the double rooms was a bit larger, but still small for 4 people. It was however a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unlv18
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 5, 2010

Bad Experience

When we first arrived and checked in the room we had had so many spiders inside and outside and even on the bed when we complained to the front desk the lady said well the spiders are trying to come inside becuase it is hot outside and moved us to another room while in the second room this time we only could see one spider in this room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Government street walker
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 3, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Room was a little bit tight but it was very cute and clean. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great. Everything was within walking distance. The subway station was just a couple blocks way and Michigan Ave was a block away. Wabash was not a high traffic street so there was plenty of room to pull up to the valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Untilize the subway system and use the map the hotel gives you. Asking hotel employees for directions is also very helpful.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Four Traveling Friends
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 29, 2010

Great location. Tiny Rooms

The location was very convenient for all the sights we were interestd in: Architectural tours, Millenium Park and Navy Pier. Chicago's Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Tour Bus was especially helpful in learning about the city and getting us to some of our points of interest. Restauants were close by,with even a Trader Joe's across the street!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CFLA25
Business
Miami, FL
May 28, 2010

Heart of Chicago most definetely!!!!

At Chicago with my bestfried for my Birthday and we absolutely loved the service at this Hotel!!! We were very impressed with the variety the Breakfast Buffet offered every morning. The hotel was very centric to all that we were in town for. Just a walk or bus away to all the Chicago Tourist Attractions. Also lots of nearby Restaurants too! We also loved the Hydrageas outside of the Hotel and the Bellman was so sweet and very helpful with directions!!! Would definetely stay at this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weber Grill a must! Big Bowl is awesome! Pizzeria Due's Deep Dish Pizza was worth it! Portillo's was a cool spot for Chicago Style Hot Dogs and Beer in Schooner Glass! Garret's Popcorn is delicious but messy and fun!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CFLA25
Business
Miami, FL
May 28, 2010

Heart of Chicago most definetely!!!!

At Chicago with my bestfried for my Birthday and we absolutely loved the service at this Hotel!!! We were very impressed with the variety the Breakfast Buffet offered every morning. The hotel was very centric to all that we were in town for. Just a walk or bus away to all the Chicago Tourist Attractions. Also lots of nearby Restaurants too! We also loved the Hydrageas outside of the Hotel and the Bellman was so sweet and very helpful with directions!!! Would definetely stay at this Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weber Grill a must! Big Bowl is awesome! Pizzeria Due's Deep Dish Pizza was worth it! Portillo's was a cool spot for Chicago Style Hot Dogs and Beer in Schooner Glass! Garret's Popcorn is delicious but messy and fun!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie & Jason B.
Business
indianapolis, indiana
May 18, 2010

good for price

great breakfast, 15-20 minute walk to millenium park, 2 blocks away from michigan ave and shopping. small rooms but good size bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

cheapest parking garage near there is turn right on ontario, first garage on the right for about 30/day. otherwise valet parking is 45, a ripoff.

Back to menu Return to top