$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. WABASH AVENUE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
294 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor Ontario Canada
Aug 28, 2010

Great location

The location was great but found the rooms to be a bit small. The breakfast was a nice touch, and a great way to start the day. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino`s has to be the best Italian Restaurant I have ever been to this side of Italy. Just around the Corner at State St. and Ontario St.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

Great place to crash after touring a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

Great place to crash after touring a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westland, MI
Aug 6, 2010

Good location, Great hotel

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it was just the cass hotel. Now that holiday inn took it over they remodeled the hotel it look very nice. It is in a great location close to everything. They also have a great free breakfast bar in the morning and with how much everything cost it is nice to have. I would tell everyone I knew to stay at this hotel when they go to chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money on parking and taxis I would take the bus it is only a short walk from the hotel and it takes you right to the musuems

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westland, MI
Aug 6, 2010

Good location, Great hotel

I stayed at this hotel years ago when it was just the cass hotel. Now that holiday inn took it over they remodeled the hotel it look very nice. It is in a great location close to everything. They also have a great free breakfast bar in the morning and with how much everything cost it is nice to have. I would tell everyone I knew to stay at this hotel when they go to chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money on parking and taxis I would take the bus it is only a short walk from the hotel and it takes you right to the musuems

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 25, 2010

Eh...it was alright.

If traveling with children, don't get just one room for you, your lover and children. There was only two of us and the room felt cramped. We didn't even have enough room to sit out one of our suitcases. You better leave in the morning, because during the day it's almost impossible to get on the elevator (we were on the 16th floor) because housekeeping doesn't have their own, so it's constantly going floor to floor with them. They even make them wait. If you want to rent a car, don't bother. There's no parking garage for them. There's one around the corner you can use that's $35 a day, you get charged any time you take your car out and return it. Or you can valet for $40. Two girls that work together at the front desk are always gossiping with eachother, and don't end your conversation ever when you come to them to ask a question or check in. You have to wait however long for them to finish, and then both treat you like you're a terrible person for asking a question, like check-out time, parking, and possibly suggestions for somewhere to eat or do something. But, the hotel rooms are pretty up to date in style, and they're across the street from a Trader Joe's if you want some water or anything, and you're about a block or two away from a bunch of restaurants. Pretty close to Magnificent Mile. I wouldn't really say it's there. The valet/doorman guy is also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 25, 2010

Eh...it was alright.

If traveling with children, don't get just one room for you, your lover and children. There was only two of us and the room felt cramped. We didn't even have enough room to sit out one of our suitcases. You better leave in the morning, because during the day it's almost impossible to get on the elevator (we were on the 16th floor) because housekeeping doesn't have their own, so it's constantly going floor to floor with them. They even make them wait. If you want to rent a car, don't bother. There's no parking garage for them. There's one around the corner you can use that's $35 a day, you get charged any time you take your car out and return it. Or you can valet for $40. Two girls that work together at the front desk are always gossiping with eachother, and don't end your conversation ever when you come to them to ask a question or check in. You have to wait however long for them to finish, and then both treat you like you're a terrible person for asking a question, like check-out time, parking, and possibly suggestions for somewhere to eat or do something. But, the hotel rooms are pretty up to date in style, and they're across the street from a Trader Joe's if you want some water or anything, and you're about a block or two away from a bunch of restaurants. Pretty close to Magnificent Mile. I wouldn't really say it's there. The valet/doorman guy is also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyPhan
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 19, 2010

Small but sufficient

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Only 2 elevators and one was broken half of our stay. The rooms were small but updated. Hallways narrow and noisy when groups were moving through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyPhan
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 19, 2010

Small but sufficient

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Only 2 elevators and one was broken half of our stay. The rooms were small but updated. Hallways narrow and noisy when groups were moving through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura and Philip the Chicago frequenters
Kansas City, MO
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, teeny-tiny room

We had a wonderful time in Chicago but we were not extremely pleased with the small size of our room considering what we were paying. There were no pictures of our tiny room on the website so we had no reason to think we would have a room so small. There wasn't even room for both of our suitcases! However, the hotel was very clean, had very courteous staff members and a fantastic breakfast! However, an elevator with room for us would take up to 10 minutes to get to our floor and there was often no room for anyone to sit for breakfast. The location couldn't be beat! Across from Trader Joes, 3 blocks from the CTA and free trolley to Navy Pier! And a 3 minute walk to Michigan! I doubt we will stay there again if it meant staying in such a small room again, but if the opportunity arose for a bigger one, we'd be very willing to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Giordano's, the best stuffed pizza in Chicago!!!

Back to menu Return to top