$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. WABASH AVENUE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
299 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Apr 4, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We were visiting Loyola University. The hotel was perfect for getting a feel for the city. We didn't take a cab our entire three day trip. Used the train and we were able to walk to all of the restaurants and shopping. Perfect location! The complimentary breakfast was a bonus and very handy for our busy weekend. Matt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chitowntraveler
Business
colorado
Mar 17, 2011

Not Great

staff was ok, but the room was ridiculously small. and waiting for elevator everytime for 5 to 10 minutes gets old in a hurry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL Erie and Wabash
Mar 9, 2011

the good the bad and the really ugly

the hotel was advertised as remodeled???? The lamp shade was in shreads, the furniture was worn and had all kinds of dents, missing parts and worn areas. The beds have been there forever. Old and not that comfortable. The heating unit blew cold air, and the maintenance person offered to move vents so they did not blow directly on me. The compressor was so noisy it kept me awake. Not worth the price no matter how close it is the the Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL Erie and Wabash
Mar 9, 2011

the good the bad and the really ugly

the hotel was advertised as remodeled???? The lamp shade was in shreads, the furniture was worn and had all kinds of dents, missing parts and worn areas. The beds have been there forever. Old and not that comfortable. The heating unit blew cold air, and the maintenance person offered to move vents so they did not blow directly on me. The compressor was so noisy it kept me awake. Not worth the price no matter how close it is the the Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toledo, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Awesome location and service

This was a honeymoon trip. The location was excellent! We were within walking distance of almost every major attraction in Downtown Chicago. The service was excellent. An off duty Hostess even took our bags to the car for us. The rooms were small, but since it was only the two of us and we spent most of our days sight seeing, the size of the room was not really an issue. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was okay. I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future. Excellent service at the right price and in a prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toledo, OH
Jan 8, 2011

Awesome location and service

This was a honeymoon trip. The location was excellent! We were within walking distance of almost every major attraction in Downtown Chicago. The service was excellent. An off duty Hostess even took our bags to the car for us. The rooms were small, but since it was only the two of us and we spent most of our days sight seeing, the size of the room was not really an issue. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was okay. I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future. Excellent service at the right price and in a prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Peach
Onarga, Illinois
Jan 1, 2011

New Years Eve

My Son and Daughter-in-Law were on leave from the Army for a few days, so, lucky for us, we were able to share New Years Eve in Chicago at Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE. Everyone was very welcoming, asking what our plans were and provided excellent customer service. Parking right next door. The rooms were pretty tiny but perfectly clean and pretty groovy with the mesh of mod bed stands, vintage fashion photos and asian patterned paper in the bathroom. Breakfast was biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, coffee, juice, fresh fruit, fresh pastries...more than adequate and really more than we expected. I would have to say, that over all, the customer service was right on. Everyone was on their game. Personable, warm and welcoming. Thanks for helping us bring in 2011!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the least expensive CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE that I found at the time. Close to EVERYTHING!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Peach
Onarga, Illinois
Jan 1, 2011

New Years Eve

My Son and Daughter-in-Law were on leave from the Army for a few days, so, lucky for us, we were able to share New Years Eve in Chicago at Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE. Everyone was very welcoming, asking what our plans were and provided excellent customer service. Parking right next door. The rooms were pretty tiny but perfectly clean and pretty groovy with the mesh of mod bed stands, vintage fashion photos and asian patterned paper in the bathroom. Breakfast was biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon, coffee, juice, fresh fruit, fresh pastries...more than adequate and really more than we expected. I would have to say, that over all, the customer service was right on. Everyone was on their game. Personable, warm and welcoming. Thanks for helping us bring in 2011!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the least expensive CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE that I found at the time. Close to EVERYTHING!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyce, the family party planner
Toledo
Dec 11, 2010

Christmas Shopping in Downtown Chicago

The location was great to walk two blocks to the Miracle Mile. The breakfast was great and coffee and water in the lobby was great. Staff were very helpful with maps and directions. Many restaurants were within our walking distance. Our room was a bit small since the queen bed took up most of the room. We, however, used the lounge to rest and talk before retiring to our room after 8 hours of shopping and walking in the cold air in downtown Chicago. Then we could lounge in the room and watch our flat screen TV. There are computers in the lounge and there was free wifi in the room. We only needed to take two taxi rides to and from the hotel to get to the train station where we used the Megabus. All in all, we had a very economical fun shopping trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We ate in the Cheesecake Factory in the basement of the John Hancock Observatory Building on Michigan ave.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyce, the family party planner
Toledo
Dec 11, 2010

Christmas Shopping in Downtown Chicago

The location was great to walk two blocks to the Miracle Mile. The breakfast was great and coffee and water in the lobby was great. Staff were very helpful with maps and directions. Many restaurants were within our walking distance. Our room was a bit small since the queen bed took up most of the room. We, however, used the lounge to rest and talk before retiring to our room after 8 hours of shopping and walking in the cold air in downtown Chicago. Then we could lounge in the room and watch our flat screen TV. There are computers in the lounge and there was free wifi in the room. We only needed to take two taxi rides to and from the hotel to get to the train station where we used the Megabus. All in all, we had a very economical fun shopping trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We ate in the Cheesecake Factory in the basement of the John Hancock Observatory Building on Michigan ave.

Back to menu Return to top