$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
145 reviews
Great stay. Good Price.

The hotel was located in a perfect location. Rooms were very clean and staff was super personable,... See full review

  • promstad
  • Nov 17, 2014
awesome view, great service

We live on 23rd floor. The view was awesome. Its location is very convenient. 10 min walk to blue,... See full review

  • super super dan
  • Aug 25, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq. ft. of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just three miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare and Midway Airports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

ItaliAsia
ItaliAsia combines the flavors of Italy and Asia to create tempting meals. Breakfast features a hearty buffet. Lunch centers on sandwiches, pizza, and salad. And dinner includes Chicken Milanese with Indonesian Curried Udon Noodles.
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Perched within the iconic skyline of the Windy City, Cityscape Bar is our very own chic on-site hotspot for local and organic drinks, tasty bites, and delectable views. Floor-to-ceiling windows let in the sunset, stars, and cityscape sights, day and night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 145
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shine In
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 7, 2011

A Den of Thieves

It was an absolute nightmare! The concierge and housekeeping were in cohoots with each other to go into my room and violate me and my things. I had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on my door so no one would enter my room but of course, someone did (Housekeeping) and raffled through my things several times because, when I noticed that my bracelets were missing, I reported it to the hotel manager. Sometime after that, I was fearful for my things and I hid my bag underneath the sham of my bed and they found it and stole a very nice sun dress!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cajun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Dec 3, 2010

Don't stay here . . .

The restaurant food was overpriced, cold and was not good, even if hot. Breakfast was $20. The staff was not very attentive in the bar. Although they swiped my card at check in for incidentals, when I ordered room service, they brought my food, I signed the bill and they left. 15 minutes later, I got a call to come downstairs and pay for my food. The kitchen called me three times to come pay for room service, although I was staying 9 days and only had one pot of coffee. It was a bad experience all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

City Pass allows you to see the Aquarium, Natural Museum, and several other sights for a discounted amount. Well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Economy Mom
Business
Pebble Beach, CA
Jul 3, 2014

If only I'd complained sooner

Checked in with hotel chain loyalty card, but was given a room with no wi-Fi access (spotty at this hotel when it's fully booked) looking directly into other guest rooms, over the pool roof. No privacy from their viewing unless the curtains completed closed. After the first night no bath amenities replaced, and a terrible argument with the night manager about tidiness of room. Other smaller issues with a restaurant over-change and front desk performance. However, once I complained to the day manager, I was moved to a much better room, with a spectacular view of the city. Spotlessly clean and neat. From that point on staff were falling over themselves to accommodate me. What a difference! It pays to speak up ASAP, and to those in true control, when there are objective problems!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is Chicago's huge Merchandise Mart, which has a food court, Starbucks and other public-access eateries that are less expensive than the hotel's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sylvestor
Business
Canada
May 22, 2009

Pretty Nice Hotel

Hotel check-in was fast. Friendly staff. The free wifi in the hotel was great !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save some $$ coming from O'Hara, take the blue line train, then transfer to the brown line. Once you get to Mart Plaza, you have about a 4 minute indoor walk to the Holiday Inn (Chicago Sun-Times building.) The Holiday Inn Lobby is actually on the 15th floor. So even though there is a sign saying Holiday Inn on the 1st floor (and all you see are 3 elevators,) the actual lobby is on the 15th floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC, OK
Aug 22, 2009

I would stay there again

I was not told by Orbitz that a room w/a view was an extra charge, the cost was only 20.00/night but it would've been nice to know in advance. The extra charge was worth it, my view was AMAZING...pay the 20 bucks if you stay there! The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and, over all, I have no complaints. If you like to walk the city (I do) this hotel is well located, you are a short walk from everything. I'm a small female and I was traveling alone and I walked at night many times by myself and took the trains...I NEVER had any problems or felt unsafe. Oh, I forgot... the hall had a funny smell, but only on days it rained. It didn't effect the room but was a bit odd. Probably related to the humidity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery is great for a good breakfast or lunch and has reasonable prices. They are all over and easy to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 4, 2008

Good City Location

The Holiday-Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel was clean and comfortable. There was a beautiful view of Chicago and the river. The heating system in the room was controlled by a wall monitor and was reluctant to warm up for us until the last night of our stay. The staff person at the front desk when we checked in was not exceptionally helpful or kind. Otherwise, the location was great and we enjoyed our stay for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the dining districts of Chicago is right around the corner from the hotel. We drove because of the cold but in nice weather I would recommend a walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Aug 11, 2008

super location; free wireless

Staying at the Holiday Inn at Merch Mart turned out to be a great decision: I needed to be online a lot due to both personal and business reasons, so the free in-room wireless was great, and I was a short walk away from the Fed Ex office store. The view from the room was spectacular and the linens were clean; the cleaning of the room itself was less than thorough (there was dust and debris under the dresser from previous lodgers) and problems with the tv, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful (and the handouts re: local dining options are the best I've ever seen offered by a hotel, as they specify both distance from hotel and average price of entree) and Merch Mart has a great range of eating and people-watching options, along with an El stop. The coffee-and-paper deal at the nearby Sun Times store can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchandise Mart has lots of inexpensive eateries, including Jamba Juice, Dunkin Donuts, takeout sushi, etc. The Sun Times store has an Italian coffee machine that makes great custom drinks that are complimentary with any purchase (even just .50 for a newspaper).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moziz
Business
Charleston
Nov 28, 2011

fantastic thanksgiving break

it was really amazing. i enjoyed very minute in this hotel it was absolutely comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdamToronto
Business
Toronto
Jan 4, 2012

My expereince at Holiday Inn

I had a very nice room which was clean and well maintained. I thought it was a bit pricey, but okay for the location, city and comfort. Overall it was a very nice and comfortable stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and a good distance from the downtown area and right next to the subway system and other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zayujao
Business
New york
Apr 17, 2014

awesome!

it is the best hotel I had ever been before. Staff are very nice. They help me a lot for the first time to Chicago. Room was clean and river view made me feel so good. I can see Willis tower from my room. Aw

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top