$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
144 reviews
Great stay. Good Price.

The hotel was located in a perfect location. Rooms were very clean and staff was super personable,... See full review

  • promstad
  • Nov 17, 2014
awesome view, great service

We live on 23rd floor. The view was awesome. Its location is very convenient. 10 min walk to blue,... See full review

  • super super dan
  • Aug 25, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq. ft. of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just three miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare and Midway Airports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

ItaliAsia
ItaliAsia combines the flavors of Italy and Asia to create tempting meals. Breakfast features a hearty buffet. Lunch centers on sandwiches, pizza, and salad. And dinner includes Chicken Milanese with Indonesian Curried Udon Noodles.
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Perched within the iconic skyline of the Windy City, Cityscape Bar is our very own chic on-site hotspot for local and organic drinks, tasty bites, and delectable views. Floor-to-ceiling windows let in the sunset, stars, and cityscape sights, day and night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 144
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo
Oct 11, 2009

chicago

I felt the pictures that they show on the internet were deceiving. There are many nicer hotels in Chicago for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
go colts
Business
Milford, IN 46542, USA
Aug 21, 2012

experience

The lady at the checkin was not very helpful! Parking cost 39.00 Rooms were bluh no fridge or microwave. You had to get on two elevators just to get to your room. nothing great about this hotel-will not stay again. the only good thing is the view was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Price concious mommy
Business
Kansas City
Apr 1, 2014

Rude manager in need of customer service skills

The manager of the hotel was very rude. When I came to her with my concerns regarding parking and the complimentary breakfasts , she wouldn't listen to me. She kept talking over me and downplaying what I was stating. Had I not prepaid for my hotel I would have checked out early. I did not feel like a welcome guest. She had no empathy whatsoever and literally had me in tears. Put a damper on my family's vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neo
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 29, 2009

Not so good

The location is not so bad. But it's hard to walk around most of the city attractions. We had to use taxi to go to most of the city attractions. We chose veiw option with extra fee, but we only to veiw east side of the city where there's nothing to see except ordinary buildings, warehouses, and railways. The toilet was not flushed. So, we needed plumbing at night. But the plumbing service was quick and room maid cleaned the bathroom in the middile of the night kindly. The part of room floor was wet all days. It might be leaking from somewhere. I do not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If family trip, they would need taxi to most city attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steveice1
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Aug 31, 2009

Good stay for the price

Good stay, decent location. Hotel is hard to find with small signage. Hotel lobby is on 15th floor of the building shared by many businesses. Picture on advertisement is not picture of hotel building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Samba, Rio. Great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loyal relative
Business
Sacramento
Jun 22, 2009

Good view and location

A good value for an area of Chicago that can be very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At night, you need to head towards Michigan Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just another Joe ( NOT a plumber)
Business
Grand Junction, CO
May 28, 2009

Eh..... So-so

Staff were very friendly. Fairly good location. Free breakfast if you got a green ticket, otherwise $17 per person. $30 a day parking. The room was somewhat small (good pillows though) and old- musty.The pool was cold with no hot tub. No refrigerator in the room. Very noisy air conditioner that would let the room get hot and then make it cold. Hard to sleep well with it running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks one block north on Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 3, 2007

It was fine

The Holiday Inn Mart Plaza was OK. It was convinient to the Miracal Mile and the food was good. It was not easy to find, as with many things in Chicago - you can see them ut you can't get to them due to the one way streets. The hotel starts on the 15th floor of the building and a room with a view meant that we looked outside to the other wing of the hotel and down at the roof of the pool, we did not see any part of the Chicago skyline so don't bother to pay the extra view for the view. Overall it was fine, nothing wrong, but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You are goin to pay for parking no matter if you park it or they do. You will also pay for parking EVERYPLACE you go in Chicago so you might as well just park the car and take a cab, it saves your feet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Fan
Business
Florida
Aug 18, 2009

Good weekday location

The hotel was within walking distance of the CTA - we did everything by public transportation or on foot. The rooms were a nice size and comfortable. Unfortunately the hotel is on top of a business building so the food court and most shops were closed in the evening and on the week-end. We couldn't access the walkway to the train on Sunday as it was locked. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Milwaukee Mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 22, 2011

Overnight trip with my daughters

Everything was great and the staff delivered the best customer service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone & I would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top