$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
145 reviews
Cubs vacations

The hotel was great. Very convenient for the things we wanted to do. We wanted to eat at several of... See full review

  • Xavier R.
  • Jul 7, 2015
Awesome hotel with nice downtown view

Located in the heart of downtown, this is one of the nicest hotel I've stayed. The room and lobby... See full review

  • Zenani
  • Jun 23, 2015
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $45 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq. ft. of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just three miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 17 miles of both O'Hare and Midway Airports.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 125 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 380 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 272 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 705 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.1 / 5 321 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 557 reviews
★★★
$99
3.7 / 5 257 reviews
★★★
$145
3.2 / 5 304 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

Merchants Cafe
Serving "elevated" comfort food atop Wolf Point, Merchants Cafe offers a new take on traditional cuisine serving hearty dishes to warm your belly and fresh, lighter fare for easy nibbling. Breakfast features a hearty buffet while dinner centers on individ
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Perched within the iconic skyline of the Windy City, Cityscape Bar is our very own chic on-site hotspot for local and organic drinks, tasty bites, and delectable views. Floor-to-ceiling windows let in the sunset, stars, and cityscape sights, day and night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 145
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Price concious mommy
Family
Kansas City
Apr 1, 2014

Rude manager in need of customer service skills

The manager of the hotel was very rude. When I came to her with my concerns regarding parking and the complimentary breakfasts , she wouldn't listen to me. She kept talking over me and downplaying what I was stating. Had I not prepaid for my hotel I would have checked out early. I did not feel like a welcome guest. She had no empathy whatsoever and literally had me in tears. Put a damper on my family's vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
go colts
Family
Milford, IN 46542, USA
Aug 21, 2012

experience

The lady at the checkin was not very helpful! Parking cost 39.00 Rooms were bluh no fridge or microwave. You had to get on two elevators just to get to your room. nothing great about this hotel-will not stay again. the only good thing is the view was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Detroit, MI
Sep 3, 2007

It was fine

The Holiday Inn Mart Plaza was OK. It was convinient to the Miracal Mile and the food was good. It was not easy to find, as with many things in Chicago - you can see them ut you can't get to them due to the one way streets. The hotel starts on the 15th floor of the building and a room with a view meant that we looked outside to the other wing of the hotel and down at the roof of the pool, we did not see any part of the Chicago skyline so don't bother to pay the extra view for the view. Overall it was fine, nothing wrong, but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You are goin to pay for parking no matter if you park it or they do. You will also pay for parking EVERYPLACE you go in Chicago so you might as well just park the car and take a cab, it saves your feet!

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steveice1
Family
South Bend, Indiana
Aug 31, 2009

Good stay for the price

Good stay, decent location. Hotel is hard to find with small signage. Hotel lobby is on 15th floor of the building shared by many businesses. Picture on advertisement is not picture of hotel building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Samba, Rio. Great food and service.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loyal relative
Family
Sacramento
Jun 22, 2009

Good view and location

A good value for an area of Chicago that can be very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At night, you need to head towards Michigan Avenue.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just another Joe ( NOT a plumber)
Family
Grand Junction, CO
May 28, 2009

Eh..... So-so

Staff were very friendly. Fairly good location. Free breakfast if you got a green ticket, otherwise $17 per person. $30 a day parking. The room was somewhat small (good pillows though) and old- musty.The pool was cold with no hot tub. No refrigerator in the room. Very noisy air conditioner that would let the room get hot and then make it cold. Hard to sleep well with it running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks one block north on Orleans.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drewgie
Family
maryland
Dec 31, 2013

Great location

Being my first time visiting Chicago, It would have been nice to know in advance that the hotel charges$ 45 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in the city center, you can walk most anywhere

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Milwaukee Mom
Family
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 22, 2011

Overnight trip with my daughters

Everything was great and the staff delivered the best customer service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone & I would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Money Will Travel
Family
Oakdale, MN
May 6, 2013

Would Stay here Again

My husband, two boys and I stayed over night here for a funeral. This is a very nice hotel, the staff was very friendly and professional. We ate at the hotel restaurant Italiasia, the food was very good. The prices were reasonable as well. The best part was that kids 12 and under eat free-breakfast, lunch and dinner! We definitely took advantage of this Saturday evening and Sunday morning. They had a great breakfast buffet on Sunday morning. Service there was good too, a little slow but good. We didn't use any of the amenities- pool or fitness center. The rooms and bathroom was very clean, comfortable, and nicely updated. The location is perfect, right next to the Merchandise Mart. We walked to the Sears Tower for sight-seeing. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The only down fall we didn't know about was the parking at the hotel was $42 per night! But my husband drove around and found a lot for $27. As we were walking to the Sears Tower we saw an overnight lot for $14-it was just 2 blocks away. So if you do decide to stay here, do your homework on the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanjay B
Family
Bloomington, IL
May 28, 2014

Great hotel

Lovely location and unbeatable for the price. Great value. Parking is very pricey though so make separate arrangements for parking elsewhere and save a bundle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top