$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
170 reviews
Awesome hotel with nice downtown view

Located in the heart of downtown, this is one of the nicest hotel I've stayed. The room and lobby... See full review

  • Zenani
  • Jun 23, 2015
Overnight stay

Great hotel and parking right next to it... Very convenient See full review

  • Mama Lisa 43
  • Mar 2, 2015
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $45 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq. ft. of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just three miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 17 miles of both O'Hare and Midway Airports.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

Merchants Cafe
Serving "elevated" comfort food atop Wolf Point, Merchants Cafe offers a new take on traditional cuisine serving hearty dishes to warm your belly and fresh, lighter fare for easy nibbling. Breakfast features a hearty buffet while dinner centers on individ
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Perched within the iconic skyline of the Windy City, Cityscape Bar is our very own chic on-site hotspot for local and organic drinks, tasty bites, and delectable views. Floor-to-ceiling windows let in the sunset, stars, and cityscape sights, day and night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 170
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
the Bikeman
Business
Detroit Michigan
Feb 16, 2009

Holiday Inn chicago mart plaza

The hotel was in a good location easy to find. The manager on duty was arrogant and lacked people skills. the room was musty and the walls were thin enough I heard the person next door sneeze. there were a couple of helpful people on staff .They overcharge on their parking , their charge is 31 per night , if you use the parking yourself it's about 25 per night. They were renovating during our stay and we were not made aware of that as well. I think you can find just as good or a better deal elseware. Doubtful we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The dining is fantastic there. You can get anywhere by bus or on the L. You can also walk just about anywhere but wear good shoes and go for it.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris75
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Great location, good value, but bed comfort could be improved

Stayed at the hotel for a Wedding in the area. Great view of the city, good location, and competent staff. Our main issue was with the comfort of the king-size bed, which is adequate, but not remarkable by any means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Meli Cafe for breakfast on Grand. This is a great place, but plan to wait 20-30min unless you get a reservation.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mikkey
Business
il
Jun 8, 2012

great view, not so comfortable

service, cleanliness, and location was GREAT! the bed was the WORSE! my neck and back are still sore and aching. the view was to die for. if they swap out thier beds for new ones, i'll definetly be staying there in the future. if not, i doubt i'd be putting my body in that much pain ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nicolann
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 17, 2010

Wedding weekend in Chicago

My boyfriend and I were in Chicago for a wedding and reserved a King room. Our room actually had two full size beds which was disappointing and useless to us. Aside from that, we had a nice stay. The cab stand was very helpful when leaving the hotel at any time. The location is perfect to hop on the L or walk downtown to shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, Michigan
May 18, 2010

Our 13th anniversary

No welcome note in the room to tell you check out times, pool times,ect.. or a tv guide. Tv kept freezing up. Tub was chipping paint and no water presser. Don't take the north room views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Great location, good for the money

The hotel was part of a huge indoor complex but walking in from the ground floor it was difficult to figure out where to go! There was a big information desk but you couldnt check in there - instead you had to take these side elevators to the 15th floor (confusing) and then there was another set of elevators to get to your room. this got annoying if i forgot to bring something and we would have to get all the way back but other than that no complaints. This was in a great location and the rooms were a nice size and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Karen
Business
Boston,MA
Dec 7, 2014

Great City

Great location for downtown travel or shopping. Attached to Market Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krish123456789
Business
Cleveland
May 11, 2014

Located in the heart of downtown

Overall stay was ok. I checked in late so I got option to late check out (2pm instead of 12). Parking is very expensive (45$ per night). Located in a perfect place. We can easily walk to union station, millenium park & Michigan avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mansgift
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 25, 2014

Good View

I LOVED my room hands down. And everyone was so sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet C
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 28, 2009

View & Location, Location, Location

My trip was a X'MAS Vacay with my boyfriends family with a little shopping & sight seeing. We upgraded our room to a corner room with view. The heat system made a horrible noise after cutting off. The shower head was clogged or did not spray properly. My previous stay there was better due to no maint. issues in the room. But other than that it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan ave is the best shopping not really walking distance either drive or take a cab and also go to State Street for more shopping fun...

Back to menu Return to top