$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
Nicest holiday inn ever

Location was great. Nice place and great hotel bar. See full review

  • Tom C.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Great stay. Good Price.

The hotel was located in a perfect location. Rooms were very clean and staff was super personable,... See full review

  • promstad
  • Nov 17, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq. ft. of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just three miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare and Midway Airports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

Merchants Cafe
Serving "elevated" comfort food atop Wolf Point, Merchants Cafe offers a new take on traditional cuisine serving hearty dishes to warm your belly and fresh, lighter fare for easy nibbling. Breakfast features a hearty buffet while dinner centers on individ
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Perched within the iconic skyline of the Windy City, Cityscape Bar is our very own chic on-site hotspot for local and organic drinks, tasty bites, and delectable views. Floor-to-ceiling windows let in the sunset, stars, and cityscape sights, day and night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 6, 2010

Great area

Hotel was nice. Cleaning of bathroom was not very good. Location was great. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lam
Business
minnesota
Apr 28, 2010

Great view by the river

Was there on business. Enjoy the location and view of the city & river. Only wish they had a hot tub as we did alot of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Either taxi or train ride are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, MN
May 5, 2010

Downtown sites

We did have a great time, the hotel is beautiful. They kept us pretty happy and was a reasonable price. They also sent me my camera charger after I left it in the room. I will say, the ballroom on the floor above us was a nasty surprise when Saturday night the band kicked up and we were up until midnight. And, I will say that it is a little fancy for the room service, nothing that was really appealing for my daughter and I to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have to shop the magnificent mile!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 19, 2010

Great Location - Quiet

Was in Chicago to find a place to host my son's rehearsal dinner. The HI was located near the area where we were looking. We will be staying here for the wedding so I wanted to check it out. The room was clean and quiet with an excellent view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis
Apr 6, 2010

nice hotel

Had a late check-in, check-out time extended for a few hours. Staff very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Nov 1, 2009

Better Location than expected

My family of three (teen son) stayed at this hotel over Halloween weekend of 09. I travel in Chicago for business a lot and usually stay at the Mag. Mile Doubletree or Palmer House. Since this was on my dime, I[...] found a good deal on the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza.The location turns out to be great for walking around the downtown, we were able to walk to the Sears Tower in about 15 minutes, and Navy Pier in about half an hour. When it rained, cabs were conveniently waiting for us.The room and service were great. The only real problem was that two of the three nights there were parties in the ballroom, which was located right under our room. The Hotel was kind enough to offer to move us or give us a free breakfast to make up for the racket (which ran to about midnight each night) but we were up that late anyway so it wasn't that bad, could have been if we'd needed an early bedtime. Try to book a room higher than the 16th floor to avoid this problem.Make sure to take advantage of the extra fee for a room with a view. Our view was a highlight of the trip and really made the say something special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Hotel doesn't actually start till the 15th floor, but on the first floor of the building is a little convenience store where you can pick up snacks and necessaries without paying Hotel-like prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kinglover
Business
Scottsdale, az
Sep 28, 2009

Holiday In Mart Plaza

Very convenient to the mart....love the remodel...great, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vincenzos_angel
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 28, 2009

Great value

The hotel was very nice, room had a terrific view, very quiet. We had to ask for a late check out and there was a charge for that, but after seeing the line at the desk when we left, I was suprised they allowed us to stay as long as we did. The front doorman was great. It was a bit odd having the hotel inside a business building, so you had to hunt for the hotel lobby (on the 15th floor) and then you had an additional set of elevators to use, but not too inconvenient. Close to a lot of things or a short cab ride away. Was a STEAL for the price we paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA

Great location, hotel was up to standard expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Sep 6, 2009

good price, good time

Good location to walk around Chicago. Very easy to get to from CTA Trains. Clean rooms and nice views. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top