$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
142 reviews
awesome view, great service

We live on 23rd floor. The view was awesome. Its location is very convenient. 10 min walk to blue,... See full review

  • super super dan
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great stay

Everything was great from the staff to the room. We will definitely be back. See full review

  • 43rd Anniversary
  • Jun 21, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6374
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

ItaliAsia
ItaliAsia combines the flavors of Italy and Asia to create tempting meals. Breakfast features a hearty buffet. Lunch centers on sandwiches, pizza, and salad. And dinner includes Chicken Milanese with Indonesian Curried Udon Noodles.
Blackbird
Serving American Contemporary food, this was voted one of Gourmet Magazine's 50 best restaurants in the country in 2001 and 2004.
Gene and Georgetti Steakhouse
Serves delicious prime beef, steaks, salad.
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Spectacular city views, especially at night, create a sophisticated venue in our Cityscape Bar, located on the 15th floor of the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows, appealing appetizers and award-winning cocktails and local brews make this the place to be.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Moline, Il
Jun 22, 2009

"Great place to stay"

We had a room with a view over the river. Farther up the loop but still with the downtown feel and close enough to jump in a cab and go downtown. It was very nice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Wonderufl Stay

The Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart was clean, quiet and conveniently located. Great view of Chicao skyline and outstanding breakfast buffett.Staff very helpful and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We wished we had visited the Merchandise Mart which was attached my skywalk. We didn't realize it was open to the public and since we are in the middle of a kitchen renovation, we passed up a great opportunity for ideas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stillwater, MN
May 5, 2010

Downtown sites

We did have a great time, the hotel is beautiful. They kept us pretty happy and was a reasonable price. They also sent me my camera charger after I left it in the room. I will say, the ballroom on the floor above us was a nasty surprise when Saturday night the band kicked up and we were up until midnight. And, I will say that it is a little fancy for the room service, nothing that was really appealing for my daughter and I to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have to shop the magnificent mile!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forever 27
Illinois
May 28, 2013

Milestone Birthday & Celebration of Life-Cancer Survivor Weekend Get Away

The Hotel Staff were very friendly! However, when it was realized the room was not booked directly through the hotel, the party atmosphere was over...with a negative don't expect me to answer any extra questions attitude at check-out. Announcing this out loud in the lobby was rude and mean. The Turning of the head and not even looking at you was a bit much. The worst rooms are always issued to you also. They should stop allowing 3rd party vendors to use their web logo and treat ALL guests just as nice! After all, we spent good $s in that hotel eating as well as using room service. We now know not to use other sites. I thought it was their site. Front desk attitude lady at check out needs lessons from upscale hotels. Downside...Valet parking was not an option here. This is a Long walk for person with 3 back surgeries. Room bedding and furniture, etc. was very outdated! Room temp could not be regulated. Froze first night...no extra blankets for guests in the room. Had to use coats on the bed. Nice location, and great views from the riverfront however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice Jazz Clubs and eating establishments just a taxi ride away. Tons of shopping all near this hotel as well. Hotel food was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not traveler savvy
Business
Sacramento CA
Feb 3, 2014

Central Location downtown

Attached by skyway at 2nd floor to Merchandise Mart was a real benefit since I stayed during the coldest week of January

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchandise Mart offers a food court and several coffee and tea shops for convenience and less costly than dining at hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolin
Texas
Jun 24, 2009

overall good

The location is perfect but somehow hard to find when we got off the train. The room is not sound proof. I can hear exactly what people talk nextdoor. But the front desk gave us a lot of helpful information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OKC, OK
Aug 22, 2009

I would stay there again

I was not told by Orbitz that a room w/a view was an extra charge, the cost was only 20.00/night but it would've been nice to know in advance. The extra charge was worth it, my view was AMAZING...pay the 20 bucks if you stay there! The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and, over all, I have no complaints. If you like to walk the city (I do) this hotel is well located, you are a short walk from everything. I'm a small female and I was traveling alone and I walked at night many times by myself and took the trains...I NEVER had any problems or felt unsafe. Oh, I forgot... the hall had a funny smell, but only on days it rained. It didn't effect the room but was a bit odd. Probably related to the humidity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery is great for a good breakfast or lunch and has reasonable prices. They are all over and easy to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boymama
Business
New Jersey
Nov 19, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I attended a conference in a pricey hotel nearby. I wish there was a microwave in the room. This is one of the best Holiday Inns have stayed so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Most dining facilities around the area closes by 7 0 clock.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ad guy
Business
atlanta
Aug 25, 2009

A good buy at the Merchandise Mart"

Great hotel for a short business trip. Fast free Internet in the lobby and room... and no wifi dead spots that can happen with a hotel this size. The room was clean and functional, with a sofa and desk... good for in-hotel business meeting/briefs. N. Michigan Ave was a 10-15 min walk. House of Blues 7-10 min walk. The famous Harry Carry's Restaurant was 5-7 min walk. Price per night and location were at a good price ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
remove
Business
greensboro nc
Apr 11, 2014

surprised

I was pleasantly surprise with the quality of the service, restaurant and room décor. The only negative was that it was extremely hard to find. I didn't know it was inside the Sun Time Building Ramona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search