$128 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
213 reviews
Great stay

Everything was great from the staff to the room. We will definitely be back. See full review

  • 43rd Anniversary
  • Jun 21, 2014
Nice Alternative to Michigan Avenue

Location is near L stops and also pedestrian friendly for walkers. Room is quite nice. Just a good,... See full review

  • Warsaw Willie
  • Apr 29, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6374
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

ItaliAsia
ItaliAsia combines the flavors of Italy and Asia to create tempting meals. Breakfast features a hearty buffet. Lunch centers on sandwiches, pizza, and salad. And dinner includes Chicken Milanese with Indonesian Curried Udon Noodles.
Blackbird
Serving American Contemporary food, this was voted one of Gourmet Magazine's 50 best restaurants in the country in 2001 and 2004.
Gene and Georgetti Steakhouse
Serves delicious prime beef, steaks, salad.
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Spectacular city views, especially at night, create a sophisticated venue in our Cityscape Bar, located on the 15th floor of the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows, appealing appetizers and award-winning cocktails and local brews make this the place to be.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 213
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juncos
Jun 30, 2008

Happy Vacation

I was surprise how nice this hotel was for the price paid. The location would have been ok with me but since I travelled with my parents, walking to many of the attractions like the magnificent mile was kind of far. Otherwise it was very nice and I would recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is at a resonable distance fromthe Sears towers. From the Sears Towers you can catch many of the free troleys offered bythe city to get to the different attractions. Oh!! before I forget if you take the subway from the airport the train terminal is on the same building as the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wentzville, Missouri
Jan 18, 2011

Moving Day

We moved my daughter to Chicago and needed a place to stay. The hotel was very nice and our room was spacious. There was a fee for parking but I thought it was reasonable. We took a cab and was able to get one right outside the hotel. We went in January so walking wasn't an option on this trip. I plan on making many trips back and would choose the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a cab to go out to dinner and it only cost $7.00 for a family of 4. We didn't have to mess with parking and was picked up and dropped off door to door.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
cleveland ohio
Sep 28, 2009

Weekend getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn last May and had a really nice time. So this time I did decided to stay at the same Hotel and had a lovely time. Keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to David Burke's Prmehouse. It is expensive but worth every bite!

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 13, 2009

Pleasant stay downtown

Our stay at the Holiday in Mart was wonderful. It was our first trip to Chicago and definitely not the last. The hotel staff was very attentive and wonderful to help. The hotel is convenient to anything in the downtown area. Would recommend to anyone wanting to experience the downtown Chicago environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the sundown river/lake tour. Very enjoyable and a great way to see and learn about the city and architecture.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warsaw Willie
God Bless America
Apr 29, 2014

Nice Alternative to Michigan Avenue

Location is near L stops and also pedestrian friendly for walkers. Room is quite nice. Just a good, solid place especially for price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk don't ride. Easy walk to most things visitors want to see.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Juncos
Jun 30, 2008

Happy Vacation

I was surprise how nice this hotel was for the price paid. The location would have been ok with me but since I travelled with my parents, walking to many of the attractions like the magnificent mile was kind of far. Otherwise it was very nice and I would recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is at a resonable distance fromthe Sears towers. From the Sears Towers you can catch many of the free troleys offered bythe city to get to the different attractions. Oh!! before I forget if you take the subway from the airport the train terminal is on the same building as the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 20, 2008

Traveler friendly

Because our flights were delayed, we ended up arriving in Chicago at 12:30 a.m. The hotel staff were friendly when we finally arrived and held our room even though the hotel was full. The view from our hotel room was fabulous and the location was within walking distance to Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family trip - 3 adults and 3 kids
Dallas, TX
Jul 17, 2009

Great Deal

Great hotel for the money. Good location, clean rooms, excellent overall if you consider it has 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 15 minutes of walking to everywhere. Restaurants were the closest attraction.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holmes Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 3, 2010

Superb service and comfort!!

We were on a family vacation and our stay at this hotel helped to make it all such a pleasant and fun trip! We have 2 teenagers (14/17) and they both enjoyed the lobby area at night w/their laptops and also the fitness center and pool. The hotel service was excellent...couldn't ask for better or more efficient service! We'd definitely stay here again...and have for the past 2 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 20, 2008

Traveler friendly

Because our flights were delayed, we ended up arriving in Chicago at 12:30 a.m. The hotel staff were friendly when we finally arrived and held our room even though the hotel was full. The view from our hotel room was fabulous and the location was within walking distance to Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top