$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanjay B
Business
Bloomington, IL
May 28, 2014

Great hotel

Lovely location and unbeatable for the price. Great value. Parking is very pricey though so make separate arrangements for parking elsewhere and save a bundle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Aug 11, 2008

super location; free wireless

Staying at the Holiday Inn at Merch Mart turned out to be a great decision: I needed to be online a lot due to both personal and business reasons, so the free in-room wireless was great, and I was a short walk away from the Fed Ex office store. The view from the room was spectacular and the linens were clean; the cleaning of the room itself was less than thorough (there was dust and debris under the dresser from previous lodgers) and problems with the tv, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful (and the handouts re: local dining options are the best I've ever seen offered by a hotel, as they specify both distance from hotel and average price of entree) and Merch Mart has a great range of eating and people-watching options, along with an El stop. The coffee-and-paper deal at the nearby Sun Times store can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchandise Mart has lots of inexpensive eateries, including Jamba Juice, Dunkin Donuts, takeout sushi, etc. The Sun Times store has an Italian coffee machine that makes great custom drinks that are complimentary with any purchase (even just .50 for a newspaper).

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Wonderufl Stay

The Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart was clean, quiet and conveniently located. Great view of Chicao skyline and outstanding breakfast buffett.Staff very helpful and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We wished we had visited the Merchandise Mart which was attached my skywalk. We didn't realize it was open to the public and since we are in the middle of a kitchen renovation, we passed up a great opportunity for ideas.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 28, 2007

Interesting

It was interesting staying in a hotel that begins on the fifteenth floor. Express elevators made it work OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to theaters

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hand Bag Seller
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jul 31, 2011

Very nice & free internet!

I've stayed in the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza before. Always a nice place to stay. My room had a funny smell, but the staff was very friendly and gave me a new room with no problem. The views are absolutely amazing and it's very convenient! Also has a fabulous pool and fitness center with a sauna. I stay here to attend trade shows at the Merchandise Mart and I absolutely love it. I would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay here for trade shows at the Merch Mart. Super convenient and affordable!

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoTourist
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 20, 2011

Holiday Inn Mart Plaza Chicago

Great view of the river, close to the train station. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was having to search vending machines for a voted water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Apr 26, 2011

Good stay

We went to a baseball game, had drinks and dinner at the hotel bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naperville, IL
Jan 17, 2011

Great Location

It's in a great location in the city. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Google Maps says that the hotel is on the opposite side of the street, so keep that in mind if you are driving there. Also, the hotel is on the 15th floor the building, so just follow the Holiday Inn sign to the elevators.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 21, 2010

Chicago Mart Plaza stay

The rooms are clean and homely in a chic way. Great panoramic view from the bar. Staff was courteous. Breakfast: One plate of fruits and a cup of oatmeal will cost you $11 + tips. You will get a better deal by going accross at the Merchandise Mart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's. They don't have that kind of Italian beef sandwich in NY. Good stuff.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dakterra
Business
Cottage Grove, MN
Nov 3, 2010

Great Hotel and staff

Was there on business. Staff very helpful and attentive. The staff's personable responses, all of them, from doorman to waitstaff, always make this hotel a pleasure to stay at. Excellent dining recommendations from concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Kinzie Chop House and Coco Pazzo

Back to menu Return to top