$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warsaw Willie
God Bless America
Apr 29, 2014

Nice Alternative to Michigan Avenue

Location is near L stops and also pedestrian friendly for walkers. Room is quite nice. Just a good, solid place especially for price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk don't ride. Easy walk to most things visitors want to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terr
Business
Illinois
Aug 8, 2013

Enjoyable get a way

Pleasant stay, nice location, good view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forever 27
Business
Illinois
May 28, 2013

Milestone Birthday & Celebration of Life-Cancer Survivor Weekend Get Away

The Hotel Staff were very friendly! However, when it was realized the room was not booked directly through the hotel, the party atmosphere was over...with a negative don't expect me to answer any extra questions attitude at check-out. Announcing this out loud in the lobby was rude and mean. The Turning of the head and not even looking at you was a bit much. The worst rooms are always issued to you also. They should stop allowing 3rd party vendors to use their web logo and treat ALL guests just as nice! After all, we spent good $s in that hotel eating as well as using room service. We now know not to use other sites. I thought it was their site. Front desk attitude lady at check out needs lessons from upscale hotels. Downside...Valet parking was not an option here. This is a Long walk for person with 3 back surgeries. Room bedding and furniture, etc. was very outdated! Room temp could not be regulated. Froze first night...no extra blankets for guests in the room. Had to use coats on the bed. Nice location, and great views from the riverfront however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice Jazz Clubs and eating establishments just a taxi ride away. Tons of shopping all near this hotel as well. Hotel food was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusinessEngineer
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
May 20, 2013

Business Trip Greatness

Great Hotel...Perfect for my business trip. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have Money Will Travel
Business
Oakdale, MN
May 6, 2013

Would Stay here Again

My husband, two boys and I stayed over night here for a funeral. This is a very nice hotel, the staff was very friendly and professional. We ate at the hotel restaurant Italiasia, the food was very good. The prices were reasonable as well. The best part was that kids 12 and under eat free-breakfast, lunch and dinner! We definitely took advantage of this Saturday evening and Sunday morning. They had a great breakfast buffet on Sunday morning. Service there was good too, a little slow but good. We didn't use any of the amenities- pool or fitness center. The rooms and bathroom was very clean, comfortable, and nicely updated. The location is perfect, right next to the Merchandise Mart. We walked to the Sears Tower for sight-seeing. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The only down fall we didn't know about was the parking at the hotel was $42 per night! But my husband drove around and found a lot for $27. As we were walking to the Sears Tower we saw an overnight lot for $14-it was just 2 blocks away. So if you do decide to stay here, do your homework on the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Franko713
Business
McHenry, IL
Feb 19, 2013

Great Customer Service, Amazing view.

We originally reserved a smoking room, I'm not a heavy smoker but just in case I would like the opportunity to the do it from my room. I was not expecting the heavy smell, not to mention my GF had asthma. Called the front desk for a non smoking room, after explaining my situation, they did not hesitate to find me another room. They truly went the extra mile to make our stay was a pleasant one, and gave me one of the best view in the house. Just like in the Pictures above. Will be coming back soon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Few days in chicago
Business
Michigan
Dec 20, 2012

Nice view! Nice hotel!

It was afforable but a bit out of the way. But you could take an elevator and then a short walk inside to the Merchandise Mart and catch a train. Amazing view of the river and the city from my window! Beds were comfortable and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WDG1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 30, 2012

holiday mdse mart

Not the hotel if you are scared of heights (open atrium).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meggie May
Business
Ann Arbor
Sep 17, 2012

beautiful view

hard to get to. Nice stay. Beautiful view Nice Staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
go colts
Business
Milford, IN 46542, USA
Aug 21, 2012

experience

The lady at the checkin was not very helpful! Parking cost 39.00 Rooms were bluh no fridge or microwave. You had to get on two elevators just to get to your room. nothing great about this hotel-will not stay again. the only good thing is the view was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Drfro
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Jul 9, 2012

Underwhelmed

My experience certainly wasnt bad, but everything- from the room to the food and pool- were just generally underwhelming. Its definitely more expensive than it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top