$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warsaw Willie
God Bless America
Apr 29, 2014

Nice Alternative to Michigan Avenue

Location is near L stops and also pedestrian friendly for walkers. Room is quite nice. Just a good, solid place especially for price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk don't ride. Easy walk to most things visitors want to see.

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
remove
Business
greensboro nc
Apr 11, 2014

surprised

I was pleasantly surprise with the quality of the service, restaurant and room décor. The only negative was that it was extremely hard to find. I didn't know it was inside the Sun Time Building Ramona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Price concious mommy
Business
Kansas City
Apr 1, 2014

Rude manager in need of customer service skills

The manager of the hotel was very rude. When I came to her with my concerns regarding parking and the complimentary breakfasts , she wouldn't listen to me. She kept talking over me and downplaying what I was stating. Had I not prepaid for my hotel I would have checked out early. I did not feel like a welcome guest. She had no empathy whatsoever and literally had me in tears. Put a damper on my family's vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mansgift
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 25, 2014

Good View

I LOVED my room hands down. And everyone was so sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S.D. Traveler
Business
San Diego
Mar 21, 2014

Stay here a lot but better places elsewhere

Close to work, and in Chicago winter, need to be close walk to office. But, will now be looking for better places. I'm here every 3-4 weeks, but hotel staff is not friendly (hardly acknowledges you and attitude is severely lacking customer service attitude for location & price - words are just spoken, but not genuine). Italiasia restaurant's food is not good - would not recommend. Extremely overly salted and seasoned and very strange "fusion" combinations. And, waiters are just plain rude. Low water pressure in showers, internet & cell coverage is hit/miss depending on your room location (and no IT support if you work at night!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not traveler savvy
Business
Sacramento CA
Feb 3, 2014

Central Location downtown

Attached by skyway at 2nd floor to Merchandise Mart was a real benefit since I stayed during the coldest week of January

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchandise Mart offers a food court and several coffee and tea shops for convenience and less costly than dining at hotel

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drewgie
Business
maryland
Dec 31, 2013

Great location

Being my first time visiting Chicago, It would have been nice to know in advance that the hotel charges$ 45 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in the city center, you can walk most anywhere

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alyce 88
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas holiday!!

I stayed in the mart plaza river holiday inn hotel for two nights in December and it was a great experience! I booked a room without view but the receptionist gave me an amazing room with a view of the river! The concierge was friendly and gave my boyfriend and I great info about pizzerias, restaurants, bars, etc. The hotel has a great location! It is close to the most popular tourist attractions and it is in the heart of the city's night life! I want to return to Chicago and I will stay at mart plaza river holiday inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
templargin
Business
West Virginia
Nov 30, 2013

Location is perfect

I arrived to visit Chicago. That was the first time for me in Chicago so my main goal was to visit the most famous landmarks in town. The hotel is really close to everything you want to visit in the first place: Millenium Park, Magnificent Mile, Willis Tower and Museum area. Room was clean. The only issue I had was with TV remote: it was not working after second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly can go to see the Bean

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avayva
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 25, 2013

Great location at a great price

Holiday Inn Chicago Mart offers a great value in the Loop. As a Holiday Inn, it has a predictable level of comfort and convenience. This hotel provides no more or less than expected. What was notable is the location, a quick walk from the Lake and the Miracle Mile, at a price you would expect in the suburbs. Spectacular views overlooking the city and the Chicago River.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emaleonid
Business
Ventnor, New Jersey
Nov 12, 2013

Great location, spectacular view!

Overall great hotel with spectacular view, nice pool, perfect location, nice little bar looking over the skyline of Chicago. Great breakfast buffet at the restaurant as well. The air conditioner can be a little bit noisy but I couldn't care less compering to what the hotel offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go visit Signature lounge at the Hancock Tower! The view will blow your mind!

Back to menu Return to top