$96 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
146 reviews
Nicest holiday inn ever

Location was great. Nice place and great hotel bar. See full review

  • Tom C.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Great stay. Good Price.

The hotel was located in a perfect location. Rooms were very clean and staff was super personable,... See full review

  • promstad
  • Nov 17, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq. ft. of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just three miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare and Midway Airports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

Merchants Cafe
Serving "elevated" comfort food atop Wolf Point, Merchants Cafe offers a new take on traditional cuisine serving hearty dishes to warm your belly and fresh, lighter fare for easy nibbling. Breakfast features a hearty buffet while dinner centers on individ
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Perched within the iconic skyline of the Windy City, Cityscape Bar is our very own chic on-site hotspot for local and organic drinks, tasty bites, and delectable views. Floor-to-ceiling windows let in the sunset, stars, and cityscape sights, day and night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warsaw Willie
God Bless America
Apr 29, 2014

Nice Alternative to Michigan Avenue

Location is near L stops and also pedestrian friendly for walkers. Room is quite nice. Just a good, solid place especially for price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk don't ride. Easy walk to most things visitors want to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
remove
Business
greensboro nc
Apr 11, 2014

surprised

I was pleasantly surprise with the quality of the service, restaurant and room décor. The only negative was that it was extremely hard to find. I didn't know it was inside the Sun Time Building Ramona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Price concious mommy
Business
Kansas City
Apr 1, 2014

Rude manager in need of customer service skills

The manager of the hotel was very rude. When I came to her with my concerns regarding parking and the complimentary breakfasts , she wouldn't listen to me. She kept talking over me and downplaying what I was stating. Had I not prepaid for my hotel I would have checked out early. I did not feel like a welcome guest. She had no empathy whatsoever and literally had me in tears. Put a damper on my family's vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mansgift
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 25, 2014

Good View

I LOVED my room hands down. And everyone was so sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S.D. Traveler
Business
San Diego
Mar 21, 2014

Stay here a lot but better places elsewhere

Close to work, and in Chicago winter, need to be close walk to office. But, will now be looking for better places. I'm here every 3-4 weeks, but hotel staff is not friendly (hardly acknowledges you and attitude is severely lacking customer service attitude for location & price - words are just spoken, but not genuine). Italiasia restaurant's food is not good - would not recommend. Extremely overly salted and seasoned and very strange "fusion" combinations. And, waiters are just plain rude. Low water pressure in showers, internet & cell coverage is hit/miss depending on your room location (and no IT support if you work at night!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not traveler savvy
Business
Sacramento CA
Feb 3, 2014

Central Location downtown

Attached by skyway at 2nd floor to Merchandise Mart was a real benefit since I stayed during the coldest week of January

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchandise Mart offers a food court and several coffee and tea shops for convenience and less costly than dining at hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drewgie
Business
maryland
Dec 31, 2013

Great location

Being my first time visiting Chicago, It would have been nice to know in advance that the hotel charges$ 45 per night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in the city center, you can walk most anywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alyce 88
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Dec 29, 2013

Christmas holiday!!

I stayed in the mart plaza river holiday inn hotel for two nights in December and it was a great experience! I booked a room without view but the receptionist gave me an amazing room with a view of the river! The concierge was friendly and gave my boyfriend and I great info about pizzerias, restaurants, bars, etc. The hotel has a great location! It is close to the most popular tourist attractions and it is in the heart of the city's night life! I want to return to Chicago and I will stay at mart plaza river holiday inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
templargin
Business
West Virginia
Nov 30, 2013

Location is perfect

I arrived to visit Chicago. That was the first time for me in Chicago so my main goal was to visit the most famous landmarks in town. The hotel is really close to everything you want to visit in the first place: Millenium Park, Magnificent Mile, Willis Tower and Museum area. Room was clean. The only issue I had was with TV remote: it was not working after second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly can go to see the Bean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avayva
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Nov 25, 2013

Great location at a great price

Holiday Inn Chicago Mart offers a great value in the Loop. As a Holiday Inn, it has a predictable level of comfort and convenience. This hotel provides no more or less than expected. What was notable is the location, a quick walk from the Lake and the Miracle Mile, at a price you would expect in the suburbs. Spectacular views overlooking the city and the Chicago River.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emaleonid
Business
Ventnor, New Jersey
Nov 12, 2013

Great location, spectacular view!

Overall great hotel with spectacular view, nice pool, perfect location, nice little bar looking over the skyline of Chicago. Great breakfast buffet at the restaurant as well. The air conditioner can be a little bit noisy but I couldn't care less compering to what the hotel offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go visit Signature lounge at the Hancock Tower! The view will blow your mind!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top