$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Feb 18, 2008

convinience all around

the hotel definitly served the purpose for a quick weekend getaway..the views are awesome, the hotel located within the merchandise mart has access to the brown line (cta-public trains),fast food eateries if you are watching your budget, or more expensive with a view restaurants within the hotel. only drawback i found was late night eating ..nothing opened in the area of the hotel..however you can use room service until 1:30 am. The staff was always helpful, and I would definitly stay here again. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2008

Good Stay

Good hotel at a pretty good price. Had a great view and was in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat every direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Folasade
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2008

Beautiful location

The Holiday Inn , Chicago mart plaza is situated right on the river. Gives a beautiful view of the city. Very accessible by train and you don't even have to walk outside in bad weather. The hotel adjoins the merchandise mart which has a walkway to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel depending on your tastes. The hotel keeps a few recommendations at hand and will make the dinner reservations for you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 4, 2008

Good City Location

The Holiday-Inn Chicago Mart Plaza hotel was clean and comfortable. There was a beautiful view of Chicago and the river. The heating system in the room was controlled by a wall monitor and was reluctant to warm up for us until the last night of our stay. The staff person at the front desk when we checked in was not exceptionally helpful or kind. Otherwise, the location was great and we enjoyed our stay for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the dining districts of Chicago is right around the corner from the hotel. We drove because of the cold but in nice weather I would recommend a walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
archie
Business
Norfolk, VA
Sep 30, 2007

great location

very friendly staff, clean rooms, great location.room was confortable with a great view of the city. very close to subway which was great. easy access to cities attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

easy walk to restaurants and shopping. subway close by to help with attractions further away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 23, 2007

friendly staff

Had smoking room but when we asked for an ashtray the housekeeper told us they didn't have any.The room also boasted comfortable pillows but we found them rather lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make use of the deli or the first floor or the mart plaza across the street to eat inexpensively. Coffe in the hotel looby is over thgree dollars a cup and not very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 3, 2007

It was fine

The Holiday Inn Mart Plaza was OK. It was convinient to the Miracal Mile and the food was good. It was not easy to find, as with many things in Chicago - you can see them ut you can't get to them due to the one way streets. The hotel starts on the 15th floor of the building and a room with a view meant that we looked outside to the other wing of the hotel and down at the roof of the pool, we did not see any part of the Chicago skyline so don't bother to pay the extra view for the view. Overall it was fine, nothing wrong, but nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You are goin to pay for parking no matter if you park it or they do. You will also pay for parking EVERYPLACE you go in Chicago so you might as well just park the car and take a cab, it saves your feet!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Wonderufl Stay

The Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart was clean, quiet and conveniently located. Great view of Chicao skyline and outstanding breakfast buffett.Staff very helpful and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We wished we had visited the Merchandise Mart which was attached my skywalk. We didn't realize it was open to the public and since we are in the middle of a kitchen renovation, we passed up a great opportunity for ideas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 10, 2007

Service

The guest service was excellent. The help that was provided on sightseeing and shopping was great. All staff were friendly and made our stay worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

State Street shopping was the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2007

Excellent location

Second time in Chicago...hotel is located in great site. Walking distance of everything. Navy Pier, Millenium Park, John Hancock Building, Sears Towers, etcc...are all surrounding this hotel. Great staff, very pleasant and helpful. Very clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is near Rush Street. There are plenty of bars/nightclubs around the area...dont bother drinking and driving...just walk or take a cab which is cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top