$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
142 reviews
awesome view, great service

We live on 23rd floor. The view was awesome. Its location is very convenient. 10 min walk to blue,... See full review

  • super super dan
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great stay

Everything was great from the staff to the room. We will definitely be back. See full review

  • 43rd Anniversary
  • Jun 21, 2014
Downtown Chicago Hotel - Spectacular River and City Views Located in downtown Chicagos exciting River North area and minutes from the Chicago Loop , the contemporary Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza Hotel overlooks the Chicago River and showcases iconic views of the Chicago skyline. Defined by urban style and modern comfort, a recent $20 million redesign of this property sets the stage for an exciting Chicago experience for both business & leisure travelers. Ideally situated near the Magnificent Mile , Navy Pier and Millennium Park , the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza is the perfect base from which to explore Chicago. Catch a rising star in the nearby Theatre District, walk over to one of the myriad dining options just steps from the hotel or watch the sunset at Willis Tower before retiring to your luxurious guest room featuring breathtaking views of Chicago. Business travelers will appreciate the skywalk linking the hotel to the Merchandise Mart and our close proximity to the Loop, Financial and Business district. Hotel guests have access to complimentary wireless Internet & a convenient 24-hour Business Center. The hotel offers 16 meeting rooms, with 25,000 sq ft of function space and can accommodate up to 1000 guests for a trade show or reception. Additionally, the hotel is just 3 miles from McCormick Place Convention Center and within 16 miles of both O'Hare Airport and Midway Airport.

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6374
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.1 mi
  • Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Water Tower: 1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 1.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1.1 mi

Dining

ItaliAsia
ItaliAsia combines the flavors of Italy and Asia to create tempting meals. Breakfast features a hearty buffet. Lunch centers on sandwiches, pizza, and salad. And dinner includes Chicken Milanese with Indonesian Curried Udon Noodles.
Nick's Fishmarket Grill & Bar
Serves fresh seafood, sandwiches, and salads
Coco Pazzo
Tuscan inspired Italian dining
Lou Malnati's River North
Serves deep dish Chicago style pizza, salads, sandwiches, pastas.
Cityscape Bar
Spectacular city views, especially at night, create a sophisticated venue in our Cityscape Bar, located on the 15th floor of the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows, appealing appetizers and award-winning cocktails and local brews make this the place to be.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Verona
Nov 28, 2008

My review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA (RIVERVIEW)

Friendly, courteous, helpful,professional staff with a great location. An extreme value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short and p[leasant walk to miracle mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 20, 2008

Traveler friendly

Because our flights were delayed, we ended up arriving in Chicago at 12:30 a.m. The hotel staff were friendly when we finally arrived and held our room even though the hotel was full. The view from our hotel room was fabulous and the location was within walking distance to Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oaklyn
Sep 29, 2008

Great Value for your money

Hotel was great in my opinion! Wonderful oversized room with a beautiful view of the river. Hotel check-in was smooth and very accomodating. My wife and I were in town for a long 4 day weekend for a football game and everyone complained about their over priced , undersized center city hotel rooms. Now, the oliday inn is a few blocks west of all the big name hotels, but everything is within walking distance. Their is a hotel concierge seated next to the hotel check in desk to guide you with any tourist questions you may ahve. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel it's employees or the location. The merchant mall is connected to the hotel as well as the chicago sun times. The Chicago Train is literally a 2 minute walk through the maerchants mall. We are going back next year. The navy pier is within walking distance as well as Michigan Ave.. Hary Cary's is within a 10 minute walk as well as the sears tower and many more wonderful sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Aug 11, 2008

super location; free wireless

Staying at the Holiday Inn at Merch Mart turned out to be a great decision: I needed to be online a lot due to both personal and business reasons, so the free in-room wireless was great, and I was a short walk away from the Fed Ex office store. The view from the room was spectacular and the linens were clean; the cleaning of the room itself was less than thorough (there was dust and debris under the dresser from previous lodgers) and problems with the tv, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful (and the handouts re: local dining options are the best I've ever seen offered by a hotel, as they specify both distance from hotel and average price of entree) and Merch Mart has a great range of eating and people-watching options, along with an El stop. The coffee-and-paper deal at the nearby Sun Times store can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchandise Mart has lots of inexpensive eateries, including Jamba Juice, Dunkin Donuts, takeout sushi, etc. The Sun Times store has an Italian coffee machine that makes great custom drinks that are complimentary with any purchase (even just .50 for a newspaper).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Amityville
Jul 9, 2008

great location

The Holiday Inn Merchandise Mart is the best possible location if you have business at the Mart. The room, however, was not commensurate with the price charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juncos
Jun 30, 2008

Happy Vacation

I was surprise how nice this hotel was for the price paid. The location would have been ok with me but since I travelled with my parents, walking to many of the attractions like the magnificent mile was kind of far. Otherwise it was very nice and I would recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is at a resonable distance fromthe Sears towers. From the Sears Towers you can catch many of the free troleys offered bythe city to get to the different attractions. Oh!! before I forget if you take the subway from the airport the train terminal is on the same building as the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WHITTIER, CA
May 13, 2008

Perfect Stay

My stay at the Holiday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza was perfect. It is centrally located in the heart of the city. It is near everything. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean. Hotel staff were so hospitable! I even got my morning paper delivered to my door! I had a short stay in Chicago. If my stay at here at the Holiday Inn Chicago-Mart Plaza would not have been so comfortable, my entire trip would've been ruined. I would recommend all my friends and family to to check in on any of their Chicago trips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Gibsons for some filet mignon sliders while your listen to a talented pianist cleverly disguised as the piano man at the bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Demetrise
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 20, 2008

The best bang for your buck!

The Holiday Inn - Chicago Mart Plaza (Riverview) was great. The location was excellent and we steps from the Brown line on the CTA. All of the things that we wanted to see in the Loop and downtown were within walking distance. The views from our room looking west toward the Chicago River were refreshing as we awoke each morning. We have stayed at many hotels during our annual trip to Chicago, but the Holiday Inn - Chicago Mart Plaza (Riverview)is one of our favorite. We hope to stay here in the future. If you are a Priority Club Rewards member there are more treats for you upon your arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bin 36 is adjacent to The House of Blues and near the Corn Cobs. Great atmosphere and the wine and cheese are delicious!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Feb 18, 2008

convinience all around

the hotel definitly served the purpose for a quick weekend getaway..the views are awesome, the hotel located within the merchandise mart has access to the brown line (cta-public trains),fast food eateries if you are watching your budget, or more expensive with a view restaurants within the hotel. only drawback i found was late night eating ..nothing opened in the area of the hotel..however you can use room service until 1:30 am. The staff was always helpful, and I would definitly stay here again. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2008

Good Stay

Good hotel at a pretty good price. Had a great view and was in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat every direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top