$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boss Ross
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 27, 2009

Short Trip - Great Hotel

The hotel staff was very friendly, the facilities were very clean, and the bed was super comfortable. This is the first hotel I have stayed at that had a nice 32" LCD TV. Most of the hotels I've stayed in recently still had the old tube TV's. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a nice affordable hotel with a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

State Street...all the stores are there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA

Great location, hotel was up to standard expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet C
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 8, 2009

Awesome view & hotel. Perfect location.

The Customer Service was awesome. The view of the skyline was absolutely beautiful. [...] the door man so awesome, very friendly and keep us in the loop about the free jazz festival and took real good care of us. The shopping was great, sightseeing and the view of the city was SOOOOO AWESOME....We upgraded for the view and it was worth every penny. I will highly recommend it to anyone. Three thumbs up!!! I had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is horrible so take a cab or walk..We spent a lot of time looking for a parking spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet C
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 8, 2009

Awesome view & hotel. Perfect location.

The Customer Service was awesome. The view of the skyline was absolutely beautiful. [...] the door man so awesome, very friendly and keep us in the loop about the free jazz festival and took real good care of us. The shopping was great, sightseeing and the view of the city was SOOOOO AWESOME....We upgraded for the view and it was worth every penny. I will highly recommend it to anyone. Three thumbs up!!! I had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is horrible so take a cab or walk..We spent a lot of time looking for a parking spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Sep 6, 2009

good price, good time

Good location to walk around Chicago. Very easy to get to from CTA Trains. Clean rooms and nice views. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 6, 2009

A great view of Chicago River

In and Out parking was convenient and reasonable for Chicago. Although not near the main drag for shopping and buses, there were many businesses within walking distance if you knew where you wanted to go. Would try the water taxis next time since they were so close to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

For "hop on/hop off" shuttles, would use Chicago Tours instead of Grayline Tours because they seemed to have 3X the number of shuttles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Great location, good for the money

The hotel was part of a huge indoor complex but walking in from the ground floor it was difficult to figure out where to go! There was a big information desk but you couldnt check in there - instead you had to take these side elevators to the 15th floor (confusing) and then there was another set of elevators to get to your room. this got annoying if i forgot to bring something and we would have to get all the way back but other than that no complaints. This was in a great location and the rooms were a nice size and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
steveice1
Business
South Bend, Indiana
Aug 31, 2009

Good stay for the price

Good stay, decent location. Hotel is hard to find with small signage. Hotel lobby is on 15th floor of the building shared by many businesses. Picture on advertisement is not picture of hotel building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi, Samba, Rio. Great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ad guy
Business
atlanta
Aug 25, 2009

A good buy at the Merchandise Mart"

Great hotel for a short business trip. Fast free Internet in the lobby and room... and no wifi dead spots that can happen with a hotel this size. The room was clean and functional, with a sofa and desk... good for in-hotel business meeting/briefs. N. Michigan Ave was a 10-15 min walk. House of Blues 7-10 min walk. The famous Harry Carry's Restaurant was 5-7 min walk. Price per night and location were at a good price ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC, OK
Aug 22, 2009

I would stay there again

I was not told by Orbitz that a room w/a view was an extra charge, the cost was only 20.00/night but it would've been nice to know in advance. The extra charge was worth it, my view was AMAZING...pay the 20 bucks if you stay there! The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and, over all, I have no complaints. If you like to walk the city (I do) this hotel is well located, you are a short walk from everything. I'm a small female and I was traveling alone and I walked at night many times by myself and took the trains...I NEVER had any problems or felt unsafe. Oh, I forgot... the hall had a funny smell, but only on days it rained. It didn't effect the room but was a bit odd. Probably related to the humidity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery is great for a good breakfast or lunch and has reasonable prices. They are all over and easy to find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top