$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

3 stars
View map of 350 WEST MART CENTER DRIVE, CHICAGO, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zenani
Des Moines, IA
Apr 29, 2014

Awesome location

This was one of best hotel location wise I stayed. The hotel was beautiful starting from 15th floor, so you get nice downtown view. Staff was courteous and their breakfast buffet is awesome. Just needs more variety though. Only complaint is for the beds, as I found it bit soft so as they would sag in middle making it bit uncomfortable. Overall we got value for our money when we booked room with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis
Apr 6, 2010

nice hotel

Had a late check-in, check-out time extended for a few hours. Staff very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK, NY
Mar 24, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vanefort
Business
New York
Feb 16, 2010

Fantastic place

It was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 19, 2010

Great Location - Quiet

Was in Chicago to find a place to host my son's rehearsal dinner. The HI was located near the area where we were looking. We will be staying here for the wedding so I wanted to check it out. The room was clean and quiet with an excellent view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet C
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 28, 2009

View & Location, Location, Location

My trip was a X'MAS Vacay with my boyfriends family with a little shopping & sight seeing. We upgraded our room to a corner room with view. The heat system made a horrible noise after cutting off. The shower head was clogged or did not spray properly. My previous stay there was better due to no maint. issues in the room. But other than that it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan ave is the best shopping not really walking distance either drive or take a cab and also go to State Street for more shopping fun...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ujack traveller
Business
fayetteville, nc
Nov 29, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

the hotel room had a wonderful view over the city and the chicago river. many shops, restaurants, and sights are in walking distance. chicago is a very clean city, and all of downtown was beautifully decorated for the holidays. loved it. would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

petro's restaurant on lasalle ave. breakfast, lunch, and dinner are excellent and affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Nov 1, 2009

Better Location than expected

My family of three (teen son) stayed at this hotel over Halloween weekend of 09. I travel in Chicago for business a lot and usually stay at the Mag. Mile Doubletree or Palmer House. Since this was on my dime, I[...] found a good deal on the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza.The location turns out to be great for walking around the downtown, we were able to walk to the Sears Tower in about 15 minutes, and Navy Pier in about half an hour. When it rained, cabs were conveniently waiting for us.The room and service were great. The only real problem was that two of the three nights there were parties in the ballroom, which was located right under our room. The Hotel was kind enough to offer to move us or give us a free breakfast to make up for the racket (which ran to about midnight each night) but we were up that late anyway so it wasn't that bad, could have been if we'd needed an early bedtime. Try to book a room higher than the 16th floor to avoid this problem.Make sure to take advantage of the extra fee for a room with a view. Our view was a highlight of the trip and really made the say something special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Hotel doesn't actually start till the 15th floor, but on the first floor of the building is a little convenience store where you can pick up snacks and necessaries without paying Hotel-like prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo
Oct 11, 2009

chicago

I felt the pictures that they show on the internet were deceiving. There are many nicer hotels in Chicago for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neo
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 29, 2009

Not so good

The location is not so bad. But it's hard to walk around most of the city attractions. We had to use taxi to go to most of the city attractions. We chose veiw option with extra fee, but we only to veiw east side of the city where there's nothing to see except ordinary buildings, warehouses, and railways. The toilet was not flushed. So, we needed plumbing at night. But the plumbing service was quick and room maid cleaned the bathroom in the middile of the night kindly. The part of room floor was wet all days. It might be leaking from somewhere. I do not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If family trip, they would need taxi to most city attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHICAGO-MART PLAZA RIVER NORTH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland ohio
Sep 28, 2009

Weekend getaway

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn last May and had a really nice time. So this time I did decided to stay at the same Hotel and had a lovely time. Keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to David Burke's Prmehouse. It is expensive but worth every bite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top