$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

3 stars
10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
103 reviews
Happy Quad

I was in Chicago on vacation and 1st and foremost I must say if you're visiting, you must dine at... See full review

  • JKelz
  • Sep 2, 2014
clean hotel, in a good location

Spent a few days with my son and were able to use the hotel as a base to see the city. Went to the... See full review

  • Kasey Joe
  • Jul 14, 2014
Reserve a Restful Stay at the Finest of Downtown Chicago HotelsDowntown Chicago hotels must have it all in order to serve such an eclectic, vibrant city, and the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile hotel is the preferred choice among full-service hotels for business, leisure and convention guests.Nestled in the heart of the Magnificent Mile near renowned River North dining & entertainment, this stylish Chicago, IL hotel is convenient to Navy Pier, the Merchandise Mart, McCormick Place and Chicago's Loop business and financial district. All are just minutes away. Everything. Right where you need it! As our Hilton Garden Inn guest, you'll enjoy an upscale, boutique-type Magnificent Mile hotel in downtown Chicago near attractions and businesses:* Located in the heart of downtown Chicago's Magnificent Mile* Two blocks from spectacular North Michigan Avenue shopping* Four blocks to Navy Pier and the Loop business and financial district* Minutes to McCormick Place Expo Hall, Millennium Park, popular museums, and lakefront * Surrounded by world-class dining, art galleries, nightclubs, and entertainment Among upscale hotels in downtown Chicago, IL, the Hilton Garden Inn offers a superior level of convenience and style, featuring sophisticated full-service Chicago hotel amenities at moderate prices. Our hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois offers unrivaled services combined with exceptional Chicago wedding halls and meeting facilities.Enjoy Chicago, Illinois hotel dining with classic outdoor grilling at Weber Grill - our casual on-site restaurant. Delight in delectable room service as you settle into one of our amply-appointed guestrooms, complete with refrigerator, microwave oven and stunning views of the Chicago skyline. As a convenient option for hotels in Chicago, we offer a variety of on-site features, including:* 357 generously-appointed Chicago hotel rooms* Six hospitality suites, ideal for small functions* Weber Grill, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service* Pavilion Pantry®, open 24-hours, featuring food and beverages* Heated indoor pool, whirlpool, and on-site fitness room* Boutique-style lobby and amenities* Complimentary 24-hour business center* Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guestrooms and public areas* Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and more in each room* Convenient access to all of Chicago's transportation optionsAs the only downtown Chicago hotel in the area to offer full-service suite amenities at a non-suite price, we are the preferred choice for all types of travel.Relax in comfort, just steps from North Michigan Avenue and River North attractions. Make your Chicago vacation even more affordable with one of our downtown Chicago, IL hotel deals. Book your reservations online today for our Best Rates. Guaranteed.*****Everything. Right where you need it.*****

Hotel Map

41.8918 -87.6277
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 16.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ILLINOIS
Mar 10, 2009

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!!

WOULD JUST LIKE TO START OFF WITH THAT THIS WAS SUPPOSE TO BE A FAMILY GETAWAY, AS MY 2 CHILDREN HAVE NEVER BEEN TO CHICAGO AND WAS VERY EXCITED AND WAS LOOKING SO FORWARD TO A NICE STAY AND THE SHEDD AQUARIUM. AS FOR IT GOING THAT WAY WAS A DIFFERENT STORY, FIRST OF ALL I BOOKED THROUGH ORBITZ FOR THE FIRST TIME 2 WEEKS EARLY AND WHEN WE ARRIVED AT 3PM TO CHECK IN WE HAD TO WAIT AN HOUR TO GET A ROOM AS THE ROOM I BOOKED WAS NOT AVAILABLE, I ASKED DESK CLERK HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN AND SHE SAID WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THROUGH 3RD PARTY [ORBITZ] I WASNT HAPPY! TRYING TO KEEP 2 RESTLESS KIDS IN A LOBBY WITH NOTHING TO DO FOR AN HOUR IS RIDICULOUS! NOT ONLY WAS THE DESK CLERK RUDE BUT SHE ALSO MADE REFERENCE THAT WE SHOULD GO WAIT AROUND CORNER FROM LOBBY! ONCE WE GOT INTO ROOM THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED PROPERLY THE MAID HAD TO COME BACK 2 TIMES TO BRING THINGS TO ROOM THAT SHE HAD FORGOT WHILE CLEANING, THE MINI FRIDGE DID NOT WORK AS I BROUGHT LOTS OF DRINKS FROM HOME FOR MY KIDS THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO KEEP COLD! OVERALL THIS WASNT A GOOD EXPERIENCE AND I WILL THINK TWICE ABOUT RECOMMENDING OR GOING THROUGH ORBITZ AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnetka, Illinois
May 8, 2009

Hilton Garden Inn - Toast of the Town

We called to inquire about parking. We were told there was valet and it was $29 per night if we were guests at the hotel. When we checked out the next morning, they charged us $44. When we asked them to correct the charge, they were rude and while they gave us a receipt for $29, our credit card was later billed three times for the parking and we have yet to receive the refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park yourself in the lot just east of the entrance to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too cold to walk around city
Illinois
Jan 10, 2010

Should have been told

I wish someone would have warned me that their pool has been closed for awhile. I'm stuck in frigid Chicago with three kids and nothing to do all night? Watching TV in bed is something we could've done at home. Very disappointed. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Dec 31, 2010

Weekend Stay 2010

Great staff who went out of their way to make my family comfortable. We had a large room that had the worst beds of any hotel I've stayed in over ten years. In addition the pool and spa had so much chlorine that it burned your eyes upon entry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Art Institure is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jojama
Green Bay, WI, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Needs a little more

Some things were fine. Location was great and cleanliness. However, the noise from the hallway was loud-like no insulation between rooms. The double bed in room 2028 was terrible. My husband and I slept in it and had to "crawl" out of the middle of the mattress. Pillows were very hard, but we asked for medium soft. We thought the parking was expensive for the 2nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Topeka KS
Jan 10, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn

They take your credit card and charge $200.00 to it and will return it within 10 days if there aren't charges, including damage. Staff was not informative, like where the pool and fittness center is and hours. Didn't even tell us where the elevators were. The room was normal size. The beds are comfortable but mind did have one lump in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brittany
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Disappointed

This hotel was a hard one to judge, first, after my train into Chicago was canceled, they were extremely difficult to work with moving my reservation. So much so, as to not lose the money I paid for the hotel through Orbitz, and their unwillingness to move the reservation more than one day later, I actually had to DRIVE 5 hours into Chicago. The check in and lobby staff were great. Very nice. The room, while it was bigger than I was expecting, had a HUGE water spot on the floor that was sopping wet, and while we called once about the issue, we never heard back, and between my non stop meetings, I really hated having to further worry about this. The bed was nice, but when I called down to request a second comforter, they brought me up a fleece throw blanket with a crusty hard circle of...something on it. And to top it off, the hotel room did NOT have dark out curtains, so come 6am, when the sun rose, it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. I was so disappointed, because the location was AMAZING, absolutely perfect, but wow. I think I should have just stayed home and lost out on my reservation money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington
Apr 22, 2009

never use orbitz

the hotel would not honor any Hilton upgrades, points or other Gold Card benefits because I booked and prepaid through Orbita. if you hae a hotel or airline card, DO NOT USE Orbitz as you will lose all benefits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway station (Grand Ave on red line) just outside hotel door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mbeth12
Boston
Oct 9, 2013

Girls weekend Chicago

Staff was helpful and friendly. Hotel was clean and in the perfect location for us. Price was fair compared to others in the area. Beds were firm and uncomfortable, have had better in other hotels. Toilet functioned fine but every time you flushed the handle almost fell off and after 5 days of having to hold it on while flushing it became very annoying. Occasionally water pressure in shower was weak but hot water worked fine. I would consider staying there again based on location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Lincoln park zoo is free! Can take a cab or walk the 2.5 miles (we walked and it was very pretty along the way)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist2012
Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Jan 10, 2012

good value, could be better

Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location. Bathroom and shower need an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search