$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

3 stars
View map of 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
107 reviews
Weekend Getaway

I surprised my wife with a birthday weekend in Chicago to try out new restaurants and do touristy... See full review

  • Mitchell R.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Amazing Getaway Weekend

We came to Chicago for a little romantic getaway and had a fabulous time. The hotel was great,... See full review

  • LaLa lollipop
  • Nov 24, 2014
Business and leisure hotel with free Wi-Fi near the Magnificent Mile

Business and leisure travelers target this Streeterville hotel for its proximity to the Magnificent Mile, only a few blocks away. The three-star Hilton Garden Inn Chicago covers all the basics: well-kept rooms, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and a place to dine. Weber Grill of backyard barbecue fame invites diners to sample its signature charcoal fired steaks, burgers and chicken. Other must-sees aren't far away, like the family-friendly Navy Pier, the Loop, the Financial District and McCormick Place.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and rooms
  • Skylit indoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Close to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and other classic Chicago gems
  • 7,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms
Rooms at Hilton Garden Inn are 300 square feet, configured with a large king or two queen beds, all of which feature the Garden Sleep System. For added comfort, each room includes a comfortable chair and ottoman, generous work desk and Herman Miller chair, flat-screen TV, individual climate control, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Guests who prefer rooms with a skyline view can make the request at check-in.
Features
If a hotel's priority is to create a second, albeit temporary home for guests, then visitors at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North will be pleased. In addition to a business center and classic American restaurant (Weber Grill), the hotel provides an ATM, a 24-hour pantry for sundries, laundry and valet service and car rental services. Oh, and don't forget to pick up free cookies between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Midway Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  •  Magnificent Mile
  • River North
  • Navy Pier
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Millennium Park
  • Grant Park
  • Shedd Aquarium
  • Adler Planetarium
Business
  • 7,000 square feet of function space on the 12th floor with views of the Chicago skyline
  • Business center with computers, copier, fax machines and printers
  • Conference services staff and audiovisual team
Policies & fees
The pool is closed for renovation. Guests can use the pool across the street at the sister hotel Embassy Suites by Hilton. Hilton Garden Inn apologizes for any inconvenience this may cause.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnetka, Illinois
May 8, 2009

Hilton Garden Inn - Toast of the Town

We called to inquire about parking. We were told there was valet and it was $29 per night if we were guests at the hotel. When we checked out the next morning, they charged us $44. When we asked them to correct the charge, they were rude and while they gave us a receipt for $29, our credit card was later billed three times for the parking and we have yet to receive the refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park yourself in the lot just east of the entrance to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ILLINOIS
Mar 10, 2009

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!!

WOULD JUST LIKE TO START OFF WITH THAT THIS WAS SUPPOSE TO BE A FAMILY GETAWAY, AS MY 2 CHILDREN HAVE NEVER BEEN TO CHICAGO AND WAS VERY EXCITED AND WAS LOOKING SO FORWARD TO A NICE STAY AND THE SHEDD AQUARIUM. AS FOR IT GOING THAT WAY WAS A DIFFERENT STORY, FIRST OF ALL I BOOKED THROUGH ORBITZ FOR THE FIRST TIME 2 WEEKS EARLY AND WHEN WE ARRIVED AT 3PM TO CHECK IN WE HAD TO WAIT AN HOUR TO GET A ROOM AS THE ROOM I BOOKED WAS NOT AVAILABLE, I ASKED DESK CLERK HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN AND SHE SAID WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THROUGH 3RD PARTY [ORBITZ] I WASNT HAPPY! TRYING TO KEEP 2 RESTLESS KIDS IN A LOBBY WITH NOTHING TO DO FOR AN HOUR IS RIDICULOUS! NOT ONLY WAS THE DESK CLERK RUDE BUT SHE ALSO MADE REFERENCE THAT WE SHOULD GO WAIT AROUND CORNER FROM LOBBY! ONCE WE GOT INTO ROOM THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED PROPERLY THE MAID HAD TO COME BACK 2 TIMES TO BRING THINGS TO ROOM THAT SHE HAD FORGOT WHILE CLEANING, THE MINI FRIDGE DID NOT WORK AS I BROUGHT LOTS OF DRINKS FROM HOME FOR MY KIDS THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO KEEP COLD! OVERALL THIS WASNT A GOOD EXPERIENCE AND I WILL THINK TWICE ABOUT RECOMMENDING OR GOING THROUGH ORBITZ AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jojama
Business
Green Bay, WI, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Needs a little more

Some things were fine. Location was great and cleanliness. However, the noise from the hallway was loud-like no insulation between rooms. The double bed in room 2028 was terrible. My husband and I slept in it and had to "crawl" out of the middle of the mattress. Pillows were very hard, but we asked for medium soft. We thought the parking was expensive for the 2nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka KS
Jan 10, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn

They take your credit card and charge $200.00 to it and will return it within 10 days if there aren't charges, including damage. Staff was not informative, like where the pool and fittness center is and hours. Didn't even tell us where the elevators were. The room was normal size. The beds are comfortable but mind did have one lump in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too cold to walk around city
Business
Illinois
Jan 10, 2010

Should have been told

I wish someone would have warned me that their pool has been closed for awhile. I'm stuck in frigid Chicago with three kids and nothing to do all night? Watching TV in bed is something we could've done at home. Very disappointed. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brittany
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Disappointed

This hotel was a hard one to judge, first, after my train into Chicago was canceled, they were extremely difficult to work with moving my reservation. So much so, as to not lose the money I paid for the hotel through Orbitz, and their unwillingness to move the reservation more than one day later, I actually had to DRIVE 5 hours into Chicago. The check in and lobby staff were great. Very nice. The room, while it was bigger than I was expecting, had a HUGE water spot on the floor that was sopping wet, and while we called once about the issue, we never heard back, and between my non stop meetings, I really hated having to further worry about this. The bed was nice, but when I called down to request a second comforter, they brought me up a fleece throw blanket with a crusty hard circle of...something on it. And to top it off, the hotel room did NOT have dark out curtains, so come 6am, when the sun rose, it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. I was so disappointed, because the location was AMAZING, absolutely perfect, but wow. I think I should have just stayed home and lost out on my reservation money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington
Apr 22, 2009

never use orbitz

the hotel would not honor any Hilton upgrades, points or other Gold Card benefits because I booked and prepaid through Orbita. if you hae a hotel or airline card, DO NOT USE Orbitz as you will lose all benefits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway station (Grand Ave on red line) just outside hotel door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Dec 31, 2010

Weekend Stay 2010

Great staff who went out of their way to make my family comfortable. We had a large room that had the worst beds of any hotel I've stayed in over ten years. In addition the pool and spa had so much chlorine that it burned your eyes upon entry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Art Institure is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Professor Sergey
Business
DC
Jan 2, 2012

Fantastic family vacation

Good experience! I recomment to all people. And especially I ask you toi propose less questions. Please shorten review volume because I am so busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist2012
Business
Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Jan 10, 2012

good value, could be better

Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location. Bathroom and shower need an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top