$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

3 stars
View map of 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
117 reviews
Location Location Location

Picking your your hotel online can be a bit scary, pick Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North... See full review

  • Timothy K.
  • Jul 29, 2015
Best that I have found in Chicago

Fine in every way and best hotel that I have found in Chicago,Illinois. They treat me right See full review

  • Lawrence K.
  • Jul 24, 2015

Business and leisure travelers target this Streeterville hotel for its proximity to the Magnificent Mile, only a few blocks away. The three-star Hilton Garden Inn Chicago covers all the basics: well-kept rooms, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and a place to dine. Weber Grill of backyard barbecue fame invites diners to sample its signature charcoal fired steaks, burgers and chicken. Other must-sees aren't far away, like the family-friendly Navy Pier, the Loop, the Financial District and McCormick Place.

Rooms
Rooms at Hilton Garden Inn are 300 square feet, configured with a large king or two queen beds, all of which feature the Garden Sleep System. For added comfort, each room includes a comfortable chair and ottoman, generous work desk and Herman Miller chair, flat-screen TV, individual climate control, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Guests who prefer rooms with a skyline view can make the request at check-in.
Property features
If a hotel's priority is to create a second, albeit temporary home for guests, then visitors at the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North will be pleased. In addition to a business center and classic American restaurant (Weber Grill), the hotel provides an ATM, a 24-hour pantry for sundries, laundry and valet service and car rental services. Oh, and don't forget to pick up free cookies between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and rooms
  • Skylit indoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Close to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and other classic Chicago gems
  • 7,000 square feet of meeting space
Nearby attractions
  •  Magnificent Mile
  • River North
  • Navy Pier
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Millennium Park
  • Grant Park
  • Shedd Aquarium
  • Adler Planetarium
Business
  • 7,000 square feet of function space on the 12th floor with views of the Chicago skyline
  • Business center with computers, copier, fax machines and printers
  • Conference services staff and audiovisual team
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Midway Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Policies
The pool is closed for renovation. Guests can use the pool across the street at the sister hotel Embassy Suites by Hilton. Hilton Garden Inn apologizes for any inconvenience this may cause.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnetka, Illinois
May 8, 2009

Hilton Garden Inn - Toast of the Town

We called to inquire about parking. We were told there was valet and it was $29 per night if we were guests at the hotel. When we checked out the next morning, they charged us $44. When we asked them to correct the charge, they were rude and while they gave us a receipt for $29, our credit card was later billed three times for the parking and we have yet to receive the refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park yourself in the lot just east of the entrance to the hotel.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ILLINOIS
Mar 10, 2009

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!!!

WOULD JUST LIKE TO START OFF WITH THAT THIS WAS SUPPOSE TO BE A FAMILY GETAWAY, AS MY 2 CHILDREN HAVE NEVER BEEN TO CHICAGO AND WAS VERY EXCITED AND WAS LOOKING SO FORWARD TO A NICE STAY AND THE SHEDD AQUARIUM. AS FOR IT GOING THAT WAY WAS A DIFFERENT STORY, FIRST OF ALL I BOOKED THROUGH ORBITZ FOR THE FIRST TIME 2 WEEKS EARLY AND WHEN WE ARRIVED AT 3PM TO CHECK IN WE HAD TO WAIT AN HOUR TO GET A ROOM AS THE ROOM I BOOKED WAS NOT AVAILABLE, I ASKED DESK CLERK HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN AND SHE SAID WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THROUGH 3RD PARTY [ORBITZ] I WASNT HAPPY! TRYING TO KEEP 2 RESTLESS KIDS IN A LOBBY WITH NOTHING TO DO FOR AN HOUR IS RIDICULOUS! NOT ONLY WAS THE DESK CLERK RUDE BUT SHE ALSO MADE REFERENCE THAT WE SHOULD GO WAIT AROUND CORNER FROM LOBBY! ONCE WE GOT INTO ROOM THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED PROPERLY THE MAID HAD TO COME BACK 2 TIMES TO BRING THINGS TO ROOM THAT SHE HAD FORGOT WHILE CLEANING, THE MINI FRIDGE DID NOT WORK AS I BROUGHT LOTS OF DRINKS FROM HOME FOR MY KIDS THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO KEEP COLD! OVERALL THIS WASNT A GOOD EXPERIENCE AND I WILL THINK TWICE ABOUT RECOMMENDING OR GOING THROUGH ORBITZ AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jojama
Business
Green Bay, WI, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Needs a little more

Some things were fine. Location was great and cleanliness. However, the noise from the hallway was loud-like no insulation between rooms. The double bed in room 2028 was terrible. My husband and I slept in it and had to "crawl" out of the middle of the mattress. Pillows were very hard, but we asked for medium soft. We thought the parking was expensive for the 2nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington
Apr 22, 2009

never use orbitz

the hotel would not honor any Hilton upgrades, points or other Gold Card benefits because I booked and prepaid through Orbita. if you hae a hotel or airline card, DO NOT USE Orbitz as you will lose all benefits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway station (Grand Ave on red line) just outside hotel door.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Dec 31, 2010

Weekend Stay 2010

Great staff who went out of their way to make my family comfortable. We had a large room that had the worst beds of any hotel I've stayed in over ten years. In addition the pool and spa had so much chlorine that it burned your eyes upon entry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Art Institure is a must see!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka KS
Jan 10, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn

They take your credit card and charge $200.00 to it and will return it within 10 days if there aren't charges, including damage. Staff was not informative, like where the pool and fittness center is and hours. Didn't even tell us where the elevators were. The room was normal size. The beds are comfortable but mind did have one lump in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too cold to walk around city
Business
Illinois
Jan 10, 2010

Should have been told

I wish someone would have warned me that their pool has been closed for awhile. I'm stuck in frigid Chicago with three kids and nothing to do all night? Watching TV in bed is something we could've done at home. Very disappointed. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brittany
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Disappointed

This hotel was a hard one to judge, first, after my train into Chicago was canceled, they were extremely difficult to work with moving my reservation. So much so, as to not lose the money I paid for the hotel through Orbitz, and their unwillingness to move the reservation more than one day later, I actually had to DRIVE 5 hours into Chicago. The check in and lobby staff were great. Very nice. The room, while it was bigger than I was expecting, had a HUGE water spot on the floor that was sopping wet, and while we called once about the issue, we never heard back, and between my non stop meetings, I really hated having to further worry about this. The bed was nice, but when I called down to request a second comforter, they brought me up a fleece throw blanket with a crusty hard circle of...something on it. And to top it off, the hotel room did NOT have dark out curtains, so come 6am, when the sun rose, it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. I was so disappointed, because the location was AMAZING, absolutely perfect, but wow. I think I should have just stayed home and lost out on my reservation money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Craig
Business
Mount Prospect
Jul 19, 2015

Family get away

We did not have hot water for a shower in the morning. At checkout I complained that we did not get what we paid for since we could not take a decent shower. The response from the front desk staff was very dismissive and said that they hoped that everything else was ok with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tourist2012
Business
Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Jan 10, 2012

good value, could be better

Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location. Bathroom and shower need an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top