Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

3 stars
View map of 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChiSoxfan
Business
Wheaton, IL, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Great Location

good clean affordable hotel in the heart of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deek
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago

Room was clean, very close to affordable eatting and more upscale eatting if prefered. Staff were very nice. Only complaint, I would have liked to have more than one warm cookie. Not bad if that's all I have to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a GREAT Japanese resterant only about 1 block away called Oysy. Very affordable, staff were very helpful and the food was some of the best Japanese I have ever had.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serpie
Business
Cape Girardeau, MO
Oct 11, 2011

Great place for a weekend stay!

Hotel was in a good location. VERY friendly staff. Room was clean. On site restaurant was excellent. We walked to the Magnificant Mile and took the tour bus to see the sights. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Safe area for women on their own. Very pleasant experience. One time we got lost and called the hotel and they gave us directions on how to walk back to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Weber Grill was excellent! The best ribs I've ever eaten. Nice ambiance. Very kid friendly too. Reasonably priced.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sawbuck
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great place to stay

Upon arrival, the door man brought us bottles of cold water that really hit the spot. Staff was gracious and helpful. Hotel is very conveniently located to the Red Grand subway entrance. Convenience store around the corner about half a block and restaurants abound in the area. Close enough to walk to many attractions. Loved the place and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Grand entrance to the subway (L) train is just steps away from the Hotel. It's the way to travel inexpensively around Chicago.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TN Rae
Business
Murfreesboro, TN, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Great Home Away From Home

Courteous Staff; Great Location ... we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Country Mouse
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 3, 2011

Great Location

Loved the location! Rooms are comfortable. Wish they had the parking rates/location on their website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfect for a Mag Mile shopping spree!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traceyct
Business
White Lake, MI
Sep 28, 2011

American Girl Adventure

This was a great hotel! Close to Michigan Ave and many restaurants. My only comment would be to provide room service for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brittany
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Disappointed

This hotel was a hard one to judge, first, after my train into Chicago was canceled, they were extremely difficult to work with moving my reservation. So much so, as to not lose the money I paid for the hotel through Orbitz, and their unwillingness to move the reservation more than one day later, I actually had to DRIVE 5 hours into Chicago. The check in and lobby staff were great. Very nice. The room, while it was bigger than I was expecting, had a HUGE water spot on the floor that was sopping wet, and while we called once about the issue, we never heard back, and between my non stop meetings, I really hated having to further worry about this. The bed was nice, but when I called down to request a second comforter, they brought me up a fleece throw blanket with a crusty hard circle of...something on it. And to top it off, the hotel room did NOT have dark out curtains, so come 6am, when the sun rose, it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep. I was so disappointed, because the location was AMAZING, absolutely perfect, but wow. I think I should have just stayed home and lost out on my reservation money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mojojojo
Business
DSM
Aug 8, 2011

Nice downtown Chicago hotel

The Hilton Garden Inn on Grand Ave was a very pleasant stay at a decent (relatively) price point for a hotel in the city. Good location within walking distance to Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park and good restaurants/shopping. Navy Pier and the Museum Campus were a short cab ride away. The room was small but well-appointed and the bed was comfortable. Only downside was we were expecting 2 double beds and had to settle for one king. Also - HHonors members take note - you cannot use a stay booked through [...]for points. Better to book directly from Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

During summer there are fireworks at Navy Pier every Wed and Sat night. Short but well-choreographed.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarkston, MI
Aug 4, 2011

Great hotel, great location

This was our 1st time in Chicago and we picked the right hotel. The desk clerks were fabulous! I had lots of questions about transportation, directions and recommendations for places to go. They were extremely helpful and kind. We visited the Willis Tower, Shedd Acquriam, and Navy Pier. I thought everyone was so friendly. I talked with people on the subway and buses and even on the streets. I would highly recommend this hotel on your next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pre-buy your tickets to the attractions, such as the City pass or Chica-GO pass. It saves money and time.

Back to menu Return to top