$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

3 stars
View map of 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOma H
Business
Madison WI
Dec 22, 2013

Great family get away spot

Three generations of our family enjoyed a weekend stay at this hotel the week before Christmas. The grand parents, parents, and grand kids appreciated the central location, the swimming pool, and well-equipped rooms,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Burlington Couple
Business
Burlington, Il
Dec 10, 2013

Great Stay

We were able to check in at 12:00 noon. We had asked if possible and the desk person said let me check and was able to get us into a room right away. Great location, and room very clean. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mbeth12
Business
Boston
Oct 9, 2013

Girls weekend Chicago

Staff was helpful and friendly. Hotel was clean and in the perfect location for us. Price was fair compared to others in the area. Beds were firm and uncomfortable, have had better in other hotels. Toilet functioned fine but every time you flushed the handle almost fell off and after 5 days of having to hold it on while flushing it became very annoying. Occasionally water pressure in shower was weak but hot water worked fine. I would consider staying there again based on location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Lincoln park zoo is free! Can take a cab or walk the 2.5 miles (we walked and it was very pretty along the way)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christinaj4747
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Aug 30, 2013

Great for Business Travelers

I found the hotel very clean, the staff friendly and helpful with directions, calling taxis, etc. I was in town for just one night for a business trip, and had a limited expense budget- the hotel was very nice, and around $50 less than most other hotels in the area. They also have free wifi in all rooms and common areas that worked well and was easy to connect to. The hotel is not unique or swanky, but it is a well kept, affordable, conveniently located hotel. The hotel is next to a subway station and a quick run/walk to the lake. Many good restaurants around as well. Overall, a very good experience. I will stay here again the next time I come to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDREM
Business
Suburbs of Chicago
Aug 26, 2013

Short stay

The hotel staff was excellent, very nice and professional. Great location. Love River North!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leslie921
Business
Elmwood Park, IL
May 28, 2013

Memorial Day Weekend

Great location and service, very good value. Great price for the quality and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abbie
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 17, 2013

Comfort and Convenience

Excellent. Comfortable bed, responsive service, quiet, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves Chicago Shopping
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 25, 2013

Great Staff, but Noisy Room...

We booked the hotel for a weekend on Michigan Ave. The location was great, the staff was helpful and friendly from the valet to the front desk staff who checked our bags after we checked out so we could do a little more shopping before leaving. My only complaint is how loud the room was. It had a door that adjoined it to the next room and voices and TV carried through it very clearly, as did sound from the room on the other side of the bathroom vent. Also, there was a clicking noise that seemed to be related to the internet modem? There's nothing they could do about street noises, but when the other noise was added to the motorcycles and tuners on the street, I didn't get a good night's sleep at this hotel (and normally I sleep just fine at hotels, even in big cities). I might look around for a better price before booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillos is very close by, and you get get some awesome Chicago-style hot dogs in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jaymo
Business
Norfolk, England
Apr 17, 2012

Girlie break

The Garden Inn is in a brilliant location in the restaurant district and very close to the Magnificent Mile. The staff were friendly and helpful and the free cookies were a bonus. The rooms were clean and comfortable, all you could ask for at this price level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask for a deal for two days on the hop-on-hop-off trolley bus to make getting about the length of Chicago easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hillite
Business
Freeland, Tittabawassee Township, MI, USA
Apr 10, 2012

girlsgetaway

This was the second time we've stayed at this hotel. The staff is great and the hotel is very clean. The beds are very comfy, although I didn't care much for the pillows. The pool and hot tub are small and sometimes crowded. A bigger hot tub would be nice! It's a very great location, within walking distance to Michigan Ave, The Water Tower Place, and the Art Museum. The hotel gives you a list of restaurants and breakfast places within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top