$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

3 stars
View map of 10 E. Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vlc1947
Business
Glen Ellyn, IL
Mar 5, 2010

Great value and great location

Great location near Michigan Ave. and many restaurants within walking distance. Not the biggest rooms, but with the refrigerator and microwave, can't beat it. We stayed here a year ago with the same experience. The only real negative is the typical chicago hotel parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants within short walk, from moderately expensive to inexpensive choices.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lina's Mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 21, 2010

Great but extra parking charges

This was a nice hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful, but the extra parking charges were a little steep. Great location to explore downtown chicago. Walking distance to shopping and great restaurants. The jacuzzi wasnt inservice while we were there. Other than that great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To magnificent mile and great restaurants.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, DE
Feb 21, 2010

Great location, great hotel!

Came to Chicago to see the Oprah Winfrey Show and added site seeing to the weekend. The train stop was right at the hotel making it a bargain ride from Midway airport. We had to take a cab to Harpo studios, but were able to use the train for other locations, or best of all WALK! Fantastic location. The staff was very helpful and gave directions and also restaurant ideas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant in hotel was good, but very crowded at certain times. Maybe send one of the party ahead to put name on list!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsNeu
Business
Kenosha, Wi
Jan 30, 2010

Great for a weekend getaway

The hotel is just a short walk from Michigan ave. and within walking distance to Navy Pier. Also not too far of a walk from Ogilvie transportation center. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Weber Grill restaurant is a little pricey, but not too bad and definitely worth it. The food was great and the service was great! I would say that this is one of the nicer Hilton Garden Inn's that I have stayed in and the price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The CIO
Business
Davos, Switzerland
Jan 30, 2010

Gets my A Plus Rating.

Great location. Excellent Service. Vanessa at the front desk is just outstanding. Provides great assistance. The location of the hotel is awesome. This hotel is right outside the Red Line subway station. Found out that in Chicago taking the train is convenient and also very inexpensive. Well I will be staying at this Hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to all the major attractions in Chicago.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virden, IL
Jan 18, 2010

nice overnight

This was a quick overnighter. The hotel is very centrally located to many activities which allowed us to park and walk. (Parking is pricey.) Staff was very welcoming and helpful. Very pleasant room and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from Michigan Ave Magnificent Mile. Near to many fine or fast dining choices.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Good location

Our room was quiet, spacious and clean. We would have appreciated a larger lobby to hang out in and a food option besides a grille type restaurant. But there are lots of other restaurants nearby. We got a good internet rate, so can't complain. Good value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka KS
Jan 10, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn

They take your credit card and charge $200.00 to it and will return it within 10 days if there aren't charges, including damage. Staff was not informative, like where the pool and fittness center is and hours. Didn't even tell us where the elevators were. The room was normal size. The beds are comfortable but mind did have one lump in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poor Grad Student
Business
Columbia, MO
Jan 10, 2010

Fantasic Hotel, WATCH OUT for PARKING!

The Hilton Garden Inn could not have a better location. It is in the heart of the city, only 2 or 3 blocks away from Michigan Avenue, and extremely close to various things to do. The pool and hot tub are on the 12th floor, providing a great view of the city while relaxing. They have very kind service people and are accomodating to your needs (ask for a city view). The room was spotless and cleaned up every time we got back from a day out. The fitness center was also impressive. Many more options than the usual hotel. A HUGE advantage to staying at the Hilton Garden Inn is that it is literally right across the street from the "Redline" (the subway). You can pretty much take the redline anywhere (north and south). The only bummer about the trip was parking. Don't get me wrong, I knew it was going to be expensive, but it was absurd how much it cost to park in a parking garage. I parked in the garage next to the hotel, which ran $38 for 24 hours (3+ nights x 38 = $$$). There ARE places to park farther away in an open lot for much cheaper (~15), but we went in January and I wanted my car to avoid getting covered in snow, so the average cost was $35 per night. It would have been really nice if the hotel were to give a hint at how expensive it would be. Granted, they mentioned parking is a seperate expense, but they need to warn you to put up your arm and leg for sale on Ebay to pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Too cold to walk around city
Business
Illinois
Jan 10, 2010

Should have been told

I wish someone would have warned me that their pool has been closed for awhile. I'm stuck in frigid Chicago with three kids and nothing to do all night? Watching TV in bed is something we could've done at home. Very disappointed. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top