$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
View map of 33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
65 reviews
Great Business Trip Hotel

Great staff, quick check in, clean room and central location to all my business locations. See full review

  • Cordie D.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great place for a bachelorette party!

We were having a smaller bachelorette party & this location worked great! We got a 2 bedroom suite,... See full review

  • Carrie Chicago
  • Apr 21, 2014
for big times in the big city... welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Downtown Chicago is right in the middle of the Windy City. We're just blocks away from many of Chicago's best attractions, from art museums to science centers, to shopping, and family fun. From our hotel in Chicago, you'll be able to blow through the Windy City, visiting famous sites like Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. We're also central to scores of Chicago's top businesses. Our Downtown Chicago hotel offers great hotel specials and packages for the whole family on vacation or just a quick couple’s getaway.Regardless of whether you're in town for work or pleasure, our hotel in Downtown Chicago is your most convenient stop. Every morning, guests can enjoy our free Hampton On the House® hot breakfast or if you are in a hurry, grab one of our On the Run™ breakfast bags. There are also plenty of dining options around our Downtown Chicago hotel. We invite you to come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chicago-Downtown, where you're sure to enjoy big times in the big city. * Enjoy fine Italian dining at our onsite restaurant Rosebud Trattoria* Bring the family and enjoy a day at the Chicago Children’s Museum* Take advantage of our Blue Man Group package* Tour the city of Chicago on an exciting Segway adventure* Indulge in your own culinary adventure of Chicago by starting at La Madiaservices & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn Chicago, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Take a dip in our indoor pool or get a workout in our onsite fitness center. In town on business? Our convenient business center is open 24 hours a day and provides free internet access to help you get your work done.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting, special event or intimate wedding or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.* Take a video tour of our Downtown Chicago hotel* Meetings & Events in Downtown Chicago* Downtown Chicago area restaurant guide* Group rates for your wedding party, sporting team or famil

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 65
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carrieell
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 5, 2014

Very nice trip to Chicago

We liked our location to the amenities of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom who likes to travel
Business
Powell, OH
Aug 5, 2014

Family weekend trip

The location was great, we were within walking distance of shopping and the park. We interacted with the front desk staff several times and they were all unfriendly and curt. The room was nice, but we were by the elevators and it was noisy with them and the fire station near by making it difficult to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ross F
Business
Whitehall, MI, USA
Jan 27, 2014

Family Getaway

The Hotel was fantastic from our street side arrival to our departure. We were there with our son, his wife and two grandchildren. We caught a convenient bus, just a two block walk to the buss stop, to the Museum of S & I. The Hotel is a great location and the best service I have had in 25 - 30 weekend trips to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr GC
Business
Northern Chicago Suburbs
Dec 6, 2013

Good Family hotel - Pleasant staff - Noisy customers

Great Value hotel for Downtown Chicago with very helpfull and pleasant staff. The hotel is mostly used by a young crowd of party goers on week ends as well as families with young kids. The hotel is located near to restaurants and clubs and right across the fire station. Needless to say it is extremely noisy, to the point there are signs on each floor telling you the front desk has earplugs available to you at no cost. It looks like the hotel management has given up on asking customer to simply demonstrate restrain. Breakfast was a bit on the cheap side in terms for the quality, but still very decent. I will probably use this hotel again for a quick hangout in the windy city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GMaVal
Business
Akron, OH
Jul 10, 2013

Took the kids to Chicago

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because I felt I was getting a very good room rate compared to nearby comparable hotels. The room had two full size beds, which seemed to cost more everywhere else. The kids loved the pool, it was well maintained, and the adjoining patio was a nice, quiet retreat. The breakfast was very good, and it varied from day to day, so that was nice. The staff was top notch, helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay there again, and plan to. With their rates and free breakfast, it was the best deal we got in Chicago the whole weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GDJR
Business
Iiowa
Jun 25, 2013

Last minute trip to downtown

Was a very good rate compared to many of the other hotels in the area. The room was very clean, breakfast was very good. Parking $ stinks but pretty true accross all of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherrunner3
Business
Antioch, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

great time with the family

the location was great and the pool was perfect! the kids had fun and we had a great night sleep on the COMFY BEDS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

we went ice skating at Millenium park- had a blast but didnt' expect to wait in line for skates. price was resonable. Also be prepared, the zamboni time takes about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brene
Business
Goodells, Wales, MI 48027, USA
Jan 8, 2012

college audition excursion

Staff were helpful and friendly. Location was very good. Room was sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Great location good room mediocre servce

We asked for a one bedroom suite and several front desk people told as at different times it was the best room in the hotel. It was nice and roomy and clean. There were several issues we had to talk to front desk about - no shower curtain rod, we asked for extra blankets because the living room where our daughters slept was freezing while the bedroom was extremely hot - never got the blankets after asking twice, the lamp plugs did not work (also the ac was on same circuit) and we had to call twice (once at 10am and no one came, then we called again at 5pm) before someone came to fix it. All the staff were extremely polite, just not much follow through when asked to do something. We were on the top floor, in the corner suite, right above the Fire Department. The sirens all night long were incredibly loud. During breakfast (in the same room, but on the second floor right across from the fire department) the sirens were not nearly as loud. I guess it just reverberated off the buildings as the sound reached the 12th floor. We got used to it after the first night, though. It must be a common problem because there is an ear plug dispenser in the lobby. All in all I would give it 3+ stars. The location was great for the price. It is a few blocks off michigan avenue but the walk is not bad. There is a train line one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the speed pass when visiting the Willis Tower Skydeck. It was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, Wi
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location for downtown activities

Hotel was nice and clean and rooms were very comfortable! Great location for downtown chicago adventures! Only a few problems encountered... no parking available thru hotel except very expensive valet and noisy at night until very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping location!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top