$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
View map of 33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
66 reviews
Short getaway

Had a great stay at this hotel. It is in a great location and great restaurants nearby. I would... See full review

  • brand99
  • May 5, 2015
Awesome Birthday Staycation

I chose this location because it is nearby many restaurants and bars. I ended up having a few... See full review

  • Monique
  • May 2, 2015
for big times in the big city... welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Downtown Chicago is right in the middle of the Windy City. We're just blocks away from many of Chicago's best attractions, from art museums to science centers, to shopping, and family fun. From our hotel in Chicago, you'll be able to blow through the Windy City, visiting famous sites like Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. We're also central to scores of Chicago's top businesses. Our Downtown Chicago hotel offers great hotel specials and packages for the whole family on vacation or just a quick couple’s getaway.Regardless of whether you're in town for work or pleasure, our hotel in Downtown Chicago is your most convenient stop. Every morning, guests can enjoy our free Hampton On the House® hot breakfast or if you are in a hurry, grab one of our On the Run™ breakfast bags. There are also plenty of dining options around our Downtown Chicago hotel. We invite you to come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chicago-Downtown, where you're sure to enjoy big times in the big city. * Enjoy fine Italian dining at our onsite restaurant Rosebud Trattoria* Bring the family and enjoy a day at the Chicago Children’s Museum* Take advantage of our Blue Man Group package* Tour the city of Chicago on an exciting Segway adventure* Indulge in your own culinary adventure of Chicago by starting at La Madiaservices & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn Chicago, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Take a dip in our indoor pool or get a workout in our onsite fitness center. In town on business? Our convenient business center is open 24 hours a day and provides free internet access to help you get your work done.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting, special event or intimate wedding or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.* Take a video tour of our Downtown Chicago hotel* Meetings & Events in Downtown Chicago* Downtown Chicago area restaurant guide* Group rates for your wedding party, sporting team or famil

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Oct 4, 2009

The loudest Hotel stay ever

Wonderful location, staff, cleanliness, all a big advantage. With one notable exception, the fact that it was the loudest hotel I have ever stayed at due to its location just adjacent to the downtown Chicago Fire Department. Don't expect any sleep at night with fire trucks going every twenty minutes or so. Staff was less than helpful offering only ear plugs the next morning and advice that I should expect loud stays in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful restaurant right in hotel.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Hamptons Terrible Night Staff

Front desk associate allowed a non-registered guest to enter my room and remove items without my supervision. When I confronted the night clerk he gave attitude and displaced the liability onto his co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julio214u
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2010

it sucks

will not come back to be treated like so poorly, almost the your were the night manager behind, and the 42 parking fee come on and the room was not even fully clean, tv was not working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin Rdg
Business
Detroit, MI
May 19, 2014

Horrible Experience

Unpleasant experience! Hotel room lacked amenities (No refrigerator, small room, no microwave) and was right across from a Fire Department. Very loud nights! Worst hotel ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pancho Loppez
Business
Mexico City
Mar 9, 2011

Unsatisfactory

Main trouble is that this Hotel gets lots of students that are really noisy at night and the Front desk has no control over. Besides the location is next to a Fire station and the sirens does not allow you good sleep. On top of all this, their maintenace dept. came two times to my room to fix a water leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JELPCL
Business
Champaign, IL
Jan 13, 2014

good stay

Staff were very nice. I had a mistake on my valet parking charges and the front desk was very pleasant and corrected it. Workout facility is very ordinary with 2 treadmills and some weights and the pool was closed. Our room was very nice and the noise from firestation was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brene
Business
Goodells, Wales, MI 48027, USA
Jan 8, 2012

college audition excursion

Staff were helpful and friendly. Location was very good. Room was sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr GC
Business
Northern Chicago Suburbs
Dec 6, 2013

Good Family hotel - Pleasant staff - Noisy customers

Great Value hotel for Downtown Chicago with very helpfull and pleasant staff. The hotel is mostly used by a young crowd of party goers on week ends as well as families with young kids. The hotel is located near to restaurants and clubs and right across the fire station. Needless to say it is extremely noisy, to the point there are signs on each floor telling you the front desk has earplugs available to you at no cost. It looks like the hotel management has given up on asking customer to simply demonstrate restrain. Breakfast was a bit on the cheap side in terms for the quality, but still very decent. I will probably use this hotel again for a quick hangout in the windy city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NOINKY
Business
Covington , KY
May 27, 2014

Terrible Breakfast

The hotel discription included that they offered full hot breakfast and breakfast to go. Neither were true. The hot breakfast was horrible. The eggs were without flavor and reminded me of gellitin . Could not eat. There were not "breakfast to go either. Which effected our schedule for the morning. The noise level of the hotel were so loud that it was difficult sleeping. The window are old and provide no sound proofing. When I research my travel plans I concider all amenities to determine the value. I paid $550 (including parking) for a two night weekend stay. I think this hotel should be in the $110-120 overnight price rang.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Joe Fish is a resturant that is attached to hotel. I would highly recommend this resturant. The food, service and atmosphere are excellent. We travel often both domestic and international, we eat our way through the cities we visit. We look forward to our next trip to the wndy city so we can try other items on there menu. The crab cake appetizer is incredible.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well traveled Val
Business
Jackson, MI
Jun 17, 2010

Some good - some bad.

Hotel, amenities and breakfast were just "average" for the price charged. We were given 3 towels for 4 people and had to ask each day for extra. Bathroom lock did not work and we were asked why we needed it. Apron on front of sink was broken. Shower rail broken and shower curtain would not stay closed. Only grape jam/jelly put out at breakfast despite having other flavors available in kitchen. Unable to hang dress in closet. Rail set too low for average length dress (not evening length). Hotel next to fire station. Sirens going off all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top