$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Great place for a bachelorette party!

We were having a smaller bachelorette party & this location worked great! We got a 2 bedroom suite,... See full review

  • Carrie Chicago
  • Apr 21, 2014
Took the kids to Chicago

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because I felt I was getting a very good room rate... See full review

  • GMaVal
  • Jul 10, 2013
for big times in the big city... welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Downtown Chicago is right in the middle of the Windy City. We're just blocks away from many of Chicago's best attractions, from art museums to science centers, to shopping, and family fun. From our hotel in Chicago, you'll be able to blow through the Windy City, visiting famous sites like Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. We're also central to scores of Chicago's top businesses. Our Downtown Chicago hotel offers great hotel specials and packages for the whole family on vacation or just a quick couple’s getaway.Regardless of whether you're in town for work or pleasure, our hotel in Downtown Chicago is your most convenient stop. Every morning, guests can enjoy our free Hampton On the House® hot breakfast or if you are in a hurry, grab one of our On the Run™ breakfast bags. There are also plenty of dining options around our Downtown Chicago hotel. We invite you to come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chicago-Downtown, where you're sure to enjoy big times in the big city. * Enjoy fine Italian dining at our onsite restaurant Rosebud Trattoria* Bring the family and enjoy a day at the Chicago Children’s Museum* Take advantage of our Blue Man Group package* Tour the city of Chicago on an exciting Segway adventure* Indulge in your own culinary adventure of Chicago by starting at La Madiaservices & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn Chicago, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Take a dip in our indoor pool or get a workout in our onsite fitness center. In town on business? Our convenient business center is open 24 hours a day and provides free internet access to help you get your work done.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting, special event or intimate wedding or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.* Take a video tour of our Downtown Chicago hotel* Meetings & Events in Downtown Chicago* Downtown Chicago area restaurant guide* Group rates for your wedding party, sporting team or famil

Hotel Map

41.8908 -87.6294
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 13.50, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chitownjilly
Munster, IN
Jul 4, 2010

Great get away in Chicago

Awesome location for all the local night life and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon was really fun!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB Flag
Flagstaff, AZ
Jul 1, 2010

Great Location - Noisy.

Awesome location. Close to El and many attractions. Great breakfast included. Nearby fire station wasn't as noisy as others complained. The internal noise of people slamming their doors shut and remodeling was worse. Would definitely stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 3 or 7-day pass for the El - CTA. Only $14 for the 3-day pass and we traveled all over the city. Red-line is only 2 blocks from hotel. Very handy. The EL also goes all the way to O'Hare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well traveled Val
Jackson, MI
Jun 17, 2010

Some good - some bad.

Hotel, amenities and breakfast were just "average" for the price charged. We were given 3 towels for 4 people and had to ask each day for extra. Bathroom lock did not work and we were asked why we needed it. Apron on front of sink was broken. Shower rail broken and shower curtain would not stay closed. Only grape jam/jelly put out at breakfast despite having other flavors available in kitchen. Unable to hang dress in closet. Rail set too low for average length dress (not evening length). Hotel next to fire station. Sirens going off all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
captiansin
walworth, wi
Jun 16, 2010

very nice place great location

bluesfest,no,great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

weber grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mauricio2099
SLP, MX
Jun 13, 2010

Great location, Great price

The Hotel is located very close to the magnificent mile, you have everything you need from a wide variety of restaurants to A-list stores. I think it needs a little work because it seems kind of old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnificent Mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
short distance walker
atlanta.ga.
Jun 1, 2010

great locatioon

The location of the hotel was excellent. most fo the more interesting things were in moderate walking distance.The staff was most cooperative and wikllingto take time to talk with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, IL
Mar 11, 2010

We'll be back!

Staff were always very pleasant and helpful. Lots of great places nearby. (Jazz Record Mart, Dick's Last Resort, O'Callaghan's, Trader Joe's, Bucca di Beppo, free shuttle to Navy Pier, House of Blues, much more)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We absolutely LOVE "Heaven on 7", a New Orleans themed restaurant featuring *excellent* cajun food and drinks, plus a mind-boggling assortment of HOT sauces. A joy every time we visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Feb 23, 2010

Chicago

Attended a work conference . . . was able to take my wife with me for some R&R also. Everything was great except that the hotel was located next door to the Chicago Fire Dept. which had a very busy schedule both nights we were there. The hotel did graciously offer ear plugs, but teh noise was not what we were expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Night Out
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Jan 31, 2010

Perfect for a weekend away

Very friendly staff, good breakfast, and convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julio214u
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2010

it sucks

will not come back to be treated like so poorly, almost the your were the night manager behind, and the 42 parking fee come on and the room was not even fully clean, tv was not working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search