$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
View map of 33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jnhd
Friends
Bloomington, IN, USA
Sep 12, 2011

good for 4 ppl

ideal stay for a group of 4 - the cost per person was very reasonable. good location, walking distance from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Great location good room mediocre servce

We asked for a one bedroom suite and several front desk people told as at different times it was the best room in the hotel. It was nice and roomy and clean. There were several issues we had to talk to front desk about - no shower curtain rod, we asked for extra blankets because the living room where our daughters slept was freezing while the bedroom was extremely hot - never got the blankets after asking twice, the lamp plugs did not work (also the ac was on same circuit) and we had to call twice (once at 10am and no one came, then we called again at 5pm) before someone came to fix it. All the staff were extremely polite, just not much follow through when asked to do something. We were on the top floor, in the corner suite, right above the Fire Department. The sirens all night long were incredibly loud. During breakfast (in the same room, but on the second floor right across from the fire department) the sirens were not nearly as loud. I guess it just reverberated off the buildings as the sound reached the 12th floor. We got used to it after the first night, though. It must be a common problem because there is an ear plug dispenser in the lobby. All in all I would give it 3+ stars. The location was great for the price. It is a few blocks off michigan avenue but the walk is not bad. There is a train line one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the speed pass when visiting the Willis Tower Skydeck. It was worth it.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Hamptons Terrible Night Staff

Front desk associate allowed a non-registered guest to enter my room and remove items without my supervision. When I confronted the night clerk he gave attitude and displaced the liability onto his co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Denver, Colorado
May 9, 2011

Friendly Staff, Noisy location

The breakfast was awesome, room was clean. Quite noisy since our room overlooked the fire station. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap Chicago getaway. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is not the place to go but for a group of friends or a family it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Madison, Wi
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location for downtown activities

Hotel was nice and clean and rooms were very comfortable! Great location for downtown chicago adventures! Only a few problems encountered... no parking available thru hotel except very expensive valet and noisy at night until very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping location!!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 31, 2011

Wonderful!

Took my two kids on a quick trip to Chicago. The hotel was beautiful, clean, quiet, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If in town more than a day and a half, get the bus pass.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pancho Loppez
Business
Mexico City
Mar 9, 2011

Unsatisfactory

Main trouble is that this Hotel gets lots of students that are really noisy at night and the Front desk has no control over. Besides the location is next to a Fire station and the sirens does not allow you good sleep. On top of all this, their maintenace dept. came two times to my room to fix a water leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Braqzil
Oct 22, 2010

Magnific Free space big room

It's near to every things you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chitownjilly
Couples
Munster, IN
Jul 4, 2010

Great get away in Chicago

Awesome location for all the local night life and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon was really fun!!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB Flag
Couples
Flagstaff, AZ
Jul 1, 2010

Great Location - Noisy.

Awesome location. Close to El and many attractions. Great breakfast included. Nearby fire station wasn't as noisy as others complained. The internal noise of people slamming their doors shut and remodeling was worse. Would definitely stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 3 or 7-day pass for the El - CTA. Only $14 for the 3-day pass and we traveled all over the city. Red-line is only 2 blocks from hotel. Very handy. The EL also goes all the way to O'Hare.

Back to menu Return to top