$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
View map of 33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherrunner3
Business
Antioch, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

great time with the family

the location was great and the pool was perfect! the kids had fun and we had a great night sleep on the COMFY BEDS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

we went ice skating at Millenium park- had a blast but didnt' expect to wait in line for skates. price was resonable. Also be prepared, the zamboni time takes about 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brene
Business
Goodells, Wales, MI 48027, USA
Jan 8, 2012

college audition excursion

Staff were helpful and friendly. Location was very good. Room was sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwen T
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Overall Good Value

The people working at the desk were weird, really annoying and not all that helpful, but otherwise a nice hotel - housekeeping staff was amazing, had good breakfast, nice pool and pretty lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Tribune has stones from different buildings from around the world, like a pyramid, a church in Dublin, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetotravel.
Business
Conway, AR, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Perfect Getaway!

The location of this hotel is awesome! My friends and I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and really make your stay here a special one! The indoor pool and heated jacuzzi were a great way to unwind at night. The complimentary breakfast offered a huge variety and was delicious. The rooms and bedding were very clean. Definitely a very enjoyable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can buy a 3 day subway pass for $14 inside any walgreens! Great deal and will get you pretty much anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jthomps
Business
Bay City, MI
Nov 28, 2011

Summary

The hotel was great. Close to shopping and bus lines, and subway. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jnhd
Business
Bloomington, IN, USA
Sep 12, 2011

good for 4 ppl

ideal stay for a group of 4 - the cost per person was very reasonable. good location, walking distance from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Great location good room mediocre servce

We asked for a one bedroom suite and several front desk people told as at different times it was the best room in the hotel. It was nice and roomy and clean. There were several issues we had to talk to front desk about - no shower curtain rod, we asked for extra blankets because the living room where our daughters slept was freezing while the bedroom was extremely hot - never got the blankets after asking twice, the lamp plugs did not work (also the ac was on same circuit) and we had to call twice (once at 10am and no one came, then we called again at 5pm) before someone came to fix it. All the staff were extremely polite, just not much follow through when asked to do something. We were on the top floor, in the corner suite, right above the Fire Department. The sirens all night long were incredibly loud. During breakfast (in the same room, but on the second floor right across from the fire department) the sirens were not nearly as loud. I guess it just reverberated off the buildings as the sound reached the 12th floor. We got used to it after the first night, though. It must be a common problem because there is an ear plug dispenser in the lobby. All in all I would give it 3+ stars. The location was great for the price. It is a few blocks off michigan avenue but the walk is not bad. There is a train line one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the speed pass when visiting the Willis Tower Skydeck. It was worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Hamptons Terrible Night Staff

Front desk associate allowed a non-registered guest to enter my room and remove items without my supervision. When I confronted the night clerk he gave attitude and displaced the liability onto his co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 9, 2011

Friendly Staff, Noisy location

The breakfast was awesome, room was clean. Quite noisy since our room overlooked the fire station. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap Chicago getaway. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is not the place to go but for a group of friends or a family it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, Wi
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location for downtown activities

Hotel was nice and clean and rooms were very comfortable! Great location for downtown chicago adventures! Only a few problems encountered... no parking available thru hotel except very expensive valet and noisy at night until very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping location!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top