$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
97 reviews
Great place for a bachelorette party!

We were having a smaller bachelorette party & this location worked great! We got a 2 bedroom suite,... See full review

  • Carrie Chicago
  • Apr 21, 2014
Took the kids to Chicago

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because I felt I was getting a very good room rate... See full review

  • GMaVal
  • Jul 10, 2013
for big times in the big city... welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Downtown Chicago is right in the middle of the Windy City. We're just blocks away from many of Chicago's best attractions, from art museums to science centers, to shopping, and family fun. From our hotel in Chicago, you'll be able to blow through the Windy City, visiting famous sites like Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. We're also central to scores of Chicago's top businesses. Our Downtown Chicago hotel offers great hotel specials and packages for the whole family on vacation or just a quick couple’s getaway.Regardless of whether you're in town for work or pleasure, our hotel in Downtown Chicago is your most convenient stop. Every morning, guests can enjoy our free Hampton On the House® hot breakfast or if you are in a hurry, grab one of our On the Run™ breakfast bags. There are also plenty of dining options around our Downtown Chicago hotel. We invite you to come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chicago-Downtown, where you're sure to enjoy big times in the big city. * Enjoy fine Italian dining at our onsite restaurant Rosebud Trattoria* Bring the family and enjoy a day at the Chicago Children’s Museum* Take advantage of our Blue Man Group package* Tour the city of Chicago on an exciting Segway adventure* Indulge in your own culinary adventure of Chicago by starting at La Madiaservices & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn Chicago, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Take a dip in our indoor pool or get a workout in our onsite fitness center. In town on business? Our convenient business center is open 24 hours a day and provides free internet access to help you get your work done.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting, special event or intimate wedding or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.* Take a video tour of our Downtown Chicago hotel* Meetings & Events in Downtown Chicago* Downtown Chicago area restaurant guide* Group rates for your wedding party, sporting team or famil

Hotel Map

41.8908 -87.6294
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 13.50, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jnhd
Bloomington, IN, USA
Sep 12, 2011

good for 4 ppl

ideal stay for a group of 4 - the cost per person was very reasonable. good location, walking distance from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Great location good room mediocre servce

We asked for a one bedroom suite and several front desk people told as at different times it was the best room in the hotel. It was nice and roomy and clean. There were several issues we had to talk to front desk about - no shower curtain rod, we asked for extra blankets because the living room where our daughters slept was freezing while the bedroom was extremely hot - never got the blankets after asking twice, the lamp plugs did not work (also the ac was on same circuit) and we had to call twice (once at 10am and no one came, then we called again at 5pm) before someone came to fix it. All the staff were extremely polite, just not much follow through when asked to do something. We were on the top floor, in the corner suite, right above the Fire Department. The sirens all night long were incredibly loud. During breakfast (in the same room, but on the second floor right across from the fire department) the sirens were not nearly as loud. I guess it just reverberated off the buildings as the sound reached the 12th floor. We got used to it after the first night, though. It must be a common problem because there is an ear plug dispenser in the lobby. All in all I would give it 3+ stars. The location was great for the price. It is a few blocks off michigan avenue but the walk is not bad. There is a train line one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the speed pass when visiting the Willis Tower Skydeck. It was worth it.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Great location good room mediocre servce

We asked for a one bedroom suite and several front desk people told as at different times it was the best room in the hotel. It was nice and roomy and clean. There were several issues we had to talk to front desk about - no shower curtain rod, we asked for extra blankets because the living room where our daughters slept was freezing while the bedroom was extremely hot - never got the blankets after asking twice, the lamp plugs did not work (also the ac was on same circuit) and we had to call twice (once at 10am and no one came, then we called again at 5pm) before someone came to fix it. All the staff were extremely polite, just not much follow through when asked to do something. We were on the top floor, in the corner suite, right above the Fire Department. The sirens all night long were incredibly loud. During breakfast (in the same room, but on the second floor right across from the fire department) the sirens were not nearly as loud. I guess it just reverberated off the buildings as the sound reached the 12th floor. We got used to it after the first night, though. It must be a common problem because there is an ear plug dispenser in the lobby. All in all I would give it 3+ stars. The location was great for the price. It is a few blocks off michigan avenue but the walk is not bad. There is a train line one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the speed pass when visiting the Willis Tower Skydeck. It was worth it.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Hamptons Terrible Night Staff

Front desk associate allowed a non-registered guest to enter my room and remove items without my supervision. When I confronted the night clerk he gave attitude and displaced the liability onto his co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Hamptons Terrible Night Staff

Front desk associate allowed a non-registered guest to enter my room and remove items without my supervision. When I confronted the night clerk he gave attitude and displaced the liability onto his co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
May 9, 2011

Friendly Staff, Noisy location

The breakfast was awesome, room was clean. Quite noisy since our room overlooked the fire station. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap Chicago getaway. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is not the place to go but for a group of friends or a family it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
May 9, 2011

Friendly Staff, Noisy location

The breakfast was awesome, room was clean. Quite noisy since our room overlooked the fire station. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap Chicago getaway. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is not the place to go but for a group of friends or a family it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, Wi
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location for downtown activities

Hotel was nice and clean and rooms were very comfortable! Great location for downtown chicago adventures! Only a few problems encountered... no parking available thru hotel except very expensive valet and noisy at night until very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping location!!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, Wi
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location for downtown activities

Hotel was nice and clean and rooms were very comfortable! Great location for downtown chicago adventures! Only a few problems encountered... no parking available thru hotel except very expensive valet and noisy at night until very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping location!!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 31, 2011

Wonderful!

Took my two kids on a quick trip to Chicago. The hotel was beautiful, clean, quiet, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If in town more than a day and a half, get the bus pass.

Back to menu Return to top