$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

3 stars
33 West Illinois, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Great place for a bachelorette party!

We were having a smaller bachelorette party & this location worked great! We got a 2 bedroom suite,... See full review

  • Carrie Chicago
  • Apr 21, 2014
Took the kids to Chicago

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because I felt I was getting a very good room rate... See full review

  • GMaVal
  • Jul 10, 2013
for big times in the big city... welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown hotel. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Downtown Chicago is right in the middle of the Windy City. We're just blocks away from many of Chicago's best attractions, from art museums to science centers, to shopping, and family fun. From our hotel in Chicago, you'll be able to blow through the Windy City, visiting famous sites like Millennium Park, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. We're also central to scores of Chicago's top businesses. Our Downtown Chicago hotel offers great hotel specials and packages for the whole family on vacation or just a quick couple’s getaway.Regardless of whether you're in town for work or pleasure, our hotel in Downtown Chicago is your most convenient stop. Every morning, guests can enjoy our free Hampton On the House® hot breakfast or if you are in a hurry, grab one of our On the Run™ breakfast bags. There are also plenty of dining options around our Downtown Chicago hotel. We invite you to come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chicago-Downtown, where you're sure to enjoy big times in the big city. * Enjoy fine Italian dining at our onsite restaurant Rosebud Trattoria* Bring the family and enjoy a day at the Chicago Children’s Museum* Take advantage of our Blue Man Group package* Tour the city of Chicago on an exciting Segway adventure* Indulge in your own culinary adventure of Chicago by starting at La Madiaservices & amenitiesHere at the Hampton Inn Chicago, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Take a dip in our indoor pool or get a workout in our onsite fitness center. In town on business? Our convenient business center is open 24 hours a day and provides free internet access to help you get your work done.Whether you're planning a corporate meeting, special event or intimate wedding or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.* Take a video tour of our Downtown Chicago hotel* Meetings & Events in Downtown Chicago* Downtown Chicago area restaurant guide* Group rates for your wedding party, sporting team or famil

Hotel Map

41.8908 -87.6294
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 13.50, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carrieell
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 5, 2014

Very nice trip to Chicago

We liked our location to the amenities of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom who likes to travel
Powell, OH
Aug 5, 2014

Family weekend trip

The location was great, we were within walking distance of shopping and the park. We interacted with the front desk staff several times and they were all unfriendly and curt. The room was nice, but we were by the elevators and it was noisy with them and the fire station near by making it difficult to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charley Bear Fan
Chicago, IL
Jul 10, 2014

Hampton Inn Chicago

When we misplaced our car keys, the staff were very accommodating in helping us search the room, etc. the pool was very nice for a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NOINKY
Covington , KY
May 27, 2014

Terrible Breakfast

The hotel discription included that they offered full hot breakfast and breakfast to go. Neither were true. The hot breakfast was horrible. The eggs were without flavor and reminded me of gellitin . Could not eat. There were not "breakfast to go either. Which effected our schedule for the morning. The noise level of the hotel were so loud that it was difficult sleeping. The window are old and provide no sound proofing. When I research my travel plans I concider all amenities to determine the value. I paid $550 (including parking) for a two night weekend stay. I think this hotel should be in the $110-120 overnight price rang.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Joe Fish is a resturant that is attached to hotel. I would highly recommend this resturant. The food, service and atmosphere are excellent. We travel often both domestic and international, we eat our way through the cities we visit. We look forward to our next trip to the wndy city so we can try other items on there menu. The crab cake appetizer is incredible.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin Rdg
Business
Detroit, MI
May 19, 2014

Horrible Experience

Unpleasant experience! Hotel room lacked amenities (No refrigerator, small room, no microwave) and was right across from a Fire Department. Very loud nights! Worst hotel ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aimege19
Buffalo grove, il
May 12, 2014

Good choice.

We were staying only the night. The breakfast was good bonus to the price. Great staff members. Free entrance to howl at the moon. Perfect location for partying and staying around that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the corner is Ruth Chris and Hun 51! And rockit!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carrie Chicago
Chicago
Apr 21, 2014

Great place for a bachelorette party!

We were having a smaller bachelorette party & this location worked great! We got a 2 bedroom suite, with a pull out couch & a half kitchen. It was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ross F
Whitehall, MI, USA
Jan 27, 2014

Family Getaway

The Hotel was fantastic from our street side arrival to our departure. We were there with our son, his wife and two grandchildren. We caught a convenient bus, just a two block walk to the buss stop, to the Museum of S & I. The Hotel is a great location and the best service I have had in 25 - 30 weekend trips to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horse1
Business
New Hampshire
Jan 20, 2014

Chicago trip

Be aware there is no parking at this facility and there are few options. Otherwise this was a great place for getting around the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JELPCL
Champaign, IL
Jan 13, 2014

good stay

Staff were very nice. I had a mistake on my valet parking charges and the front desk was very pleasant and corrected it. Workout facility is very ordinary with 2 treadmills and some weights and the pool was closed. Our room was very nice and the noise from firestation was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Trip
Business
WI
Dec 6, 2013

Hampton Inn Chicago

Hotel was clean. Convenient to shopping on Michigan Ave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Allen Edmonds on Michigan Ave

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr GC
Northern Chicago Suburbs
Dec 6, 2013

Good Family hotel - Pleasant staff - Noisy customers

Great Value hotel for Downtown Chicago with very helpfull and pleasant staff. The hotel is mostly used by a young crowd of party goers on week ends as well as families with young kids. The hotel is located near to restaurants and clubs and right across the fire station. Needless to say it is extremely noisy, to the point there are signs on each floor telling you the front desk has earplugs available to you at no cost. It looks like the hotel management has given up on asking customer to simply demonstrate restrain. Breakfast was a bit on the cheap side in terms for the quality, but still very decent. I will probably use this hotel again for a quick hangout in the windy city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Gals
Minneapolis MN
Oct 22, 2013

Girls Chicago weekend

Great location. Walking distance to many attractions. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dicks Last Resort & Howl at the Moon

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GMaVal
Akron, OH
Jul 10, 2013

Took the kids to Chicago

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, because I felt I was getting a very good room rate compared to nearby comparable hotels. The room had two full size beds, which seemed to cost more everywhere else. The kids loved the pool, it was well maintained, and the adjoining patio was a nice, quiet retreat. The breakfast was very good, and it varied from day to day, so that was nice. The staff was top notch, helpful and pleasant. I would definitely stay there again, and plan to. With their rates and free breakfast, it was the best deal we got in Chicago the whole weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GDJR
Iiowa
Jun 25, 2013

Last minute trip to downtown

Was a very good rate compared to many of the other hotels in the area. The room was very clean, breakfast was very good. Parking $ stinks but pretty true accross all of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bberry1
Business
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

reasonable price, great location

staff was friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable. location was close to everything. Included breakfast was added benefit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherrunner3
Antioch, IL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

great time with the family

the location was great and the pool was perfect! the kids had fun and we had a great night sleep on the COMFY BEDS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

we went ice skating at Millenium park- had a blast but didnt' expect to wait in line for skates. price was resonable. Also be prepared, the zamboni time takes about 20 minutes.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brene
Goodells, Wales, MI 48027, USA
Jan 8, 2012

college audition excursion

Staff were helpful and friendly. Location was very good. Room was sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gwen T
Madison, WI, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Overall Good Value

The people working at the desk were weird, really annoying and not all that helpful, but otherwise a nice hotel - housekeeping staff was amazing, had good breakfast, nice pool and pretty lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Tribune has stones from different buildings from around the world, like a pyramid, a church in Dublin, etc.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetotravel.
Conway, AR, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Perfect Getaway!

The location of this hotel is awesome! My friends and I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and really make your stay here a special one! The indoor pool and heated jacuzzi were a great way to unwind at night. The complimentary breakfast offered a huge variety and was delicious. The rooms and bedding were very clean. Definitely a very enjoyable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can buy a 3 day subway pass for $14 inside any walgreens! Great deal and will get you pretty much anywhere.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jthomps
Bay City, MI
Nov 28, 2011

Summary

The hotel was great. Close to shopping and bus lines, and subway. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jnhd
Bloomington, IN, USA
Sep 12, 2011

good for 4 ppl

ideal stay for a group of 4 - the cost per person was very reasonable. good location, walking distance from the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 6, 2011

Great location good room mediocre servce

We asked for a one bedroom suite and several front desk people told as at different times it was the best room in the hotel. It was nice and roomy and clean. There were several issues we had to talk to front desk about - no shower curtain rod, we asked for extra blankets because the living room where our daughters slept was freezing while the bedroom was extremely hot - never got the blankets after asking twice, the lamp plugs did not work (also the ac was on same circuit) and we had to call twice (once at 10am and no one came, then we called again at 5pm) before someone came to fix it. All the staff were extremely polite, just not much follow through when asked to do something. We were on the top floor, in the corner suite, right above the Fire Department. The sirens all night long were incredibly loud. During breakfast (in the same room, but on the second floor right across from the fire department) the sirens were not nearly as loud. I guess it just reverberated off the buildings as the sound reached the 12th floor. We got used to it after the first night, though. It must be a common problem because there is an ear plug dispenser in the lobby. All in all I would give it 3+ stars. The location was great for the price. It is a few blocks off michigan avenue but the walk is not bad. There is a train line one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the speed pass when visiting the Willis Tower Skydeck. It was worth it.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Hamptons Terrible Night Staff

Front desk associate allowed a non-registered guest to enter my room and remove items without my supervision. When I confronted the night clerk he gave attitude and displaced the liability onto his co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
May 9, 2011

Friendly Staff, Noisy location

The breakfast was awesome, room was clean. Quite noisy since our room overlooked the fire station. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap Chicago getaway. If you are looking for a romantic getaway this is not the place to go but for a group of friends or a family it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, Wi
Apr 10, 2011

Great Location for downtown activities

Hotel was nice and clean and rooms were very comfortable! Great location for downtown chicago adventures! Only a few problems encountered... no parking available thru hotel except very expensive valet and noisy at night until very late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for shopping location!!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 31, 2011

Wonderful!

Took my two kids on a quick trip to Chicago. The hotel was beautiful, clean, quiet, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If in town more than a day and a half, get the bus pass.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pancho Loppez
Business
Mexico City
Mar 9, 2011

Unsatisfactory

Main trouble is that this Hotel gets lots of students that are really noisy at night and the Front desk has no control over. Besides the location is next to a Fire station and the sirens does not allow you good sleep. On top of all this, their maintenace dept. came two times to my room to fix a water leak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Braqzil
Oct 22, 2010

Magnific Free space big room

It's near to every things you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chitownjilly
Munster, IN
Jul 4, 2010

Great get away in Chicago

Awesome location for all the local night life and great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon was really fun!!

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DB Flag
Flagstaff, AZ
Jul 1, 2010

Great Location - Noisy.

Awesome location. Close to El and many attractions. Great breakfast included. Nearby fire station wasn't as noisy as others complained. The internal noise of people slamming their doors shut and remodeling was worse. Would definitely stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 3 or 7-day pass for the El - CTA. Only $14 for the 3-day pass and we traveled all over the city. Red-line is only 2 blocks from hotel. Very handy. The EL also goes all the way to O'Hare.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well traveled Val
Jackson, MI
Jun 17, 2010

Some good - some bad.

Hotel, amenities and breakfast were just "average" for the price charged. We were given 3 towels for 4 people and had to ask each day for extra. Bathroom lock did not work and we were asked why we needed it. Apron on front of sink was broken. Shower rail broken and shower curtain would not stay closed. Only grape jam/jelly put out at breakfast despite having other flavors available in kitchen. Unable to hang dress in closet. Rail set too low for average length dress (not evening length). Hotel next to fire station. Sirens going off all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
captiansin
walworth, wi
Jun 16, 2010

very nice place great location

bluesfest,no,great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

weber grill

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mauricio2099
SLP, MX
Jun 13, 2010

Great location, Great price

The Hotel is located very close to the magnificent mile, you have everything you need from a wide variety of restaurants to A-list stores. I think it needs a little work because it seems kind of old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Magnificent Mile

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
short distance walker
atlanta.ga.
Jun 1, 2010

great locatioon

The location of the hotel was excellent. most fo the more interesting things were in moderate walking distance.The staff was most cooperative and wikllingto take time to talk with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, IL
Mar 11, 2010

We'll be back!

Staff were always very pleasant and helpful. Lots of great places nearby. (Jazz Record Mart, Dick's Last Resort, O'Callaghan's, Trader Joe's, Bucca di Beppo, free shuttle to Navy Pier, House of Blues, much more)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We absolutely LOVE "Heaven on 7", a New Orleans themed restaurant featuring *excellent* cajun food and drinks, plus a mind-boggling assortment of HOT sauces. A joy every time we visit.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Feb 23, 2010

Chicago

Attended a work conference . . . was able to take my wife with me for some R&R also. Everything was great except that the hotel was located next door to the Chicago Fire Dept. which had a very busy schedule both nights we were there. The hotel did graciously offer ear plugs, but teh noise was not what we were expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Night Out
Chicago Suburbs, IL
Jan 31, 2010

Perfect for a weekend away

Very friendly staff, good breakfast, and convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julio214u
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2010

it sucks

will not come back to be treated like so poorly, almost the your were the night manager behind, and the 42 parking fee come on and the room was not even fully clean, tv was not working

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago love
Springfield, IL
Dec 15, 2009

good location

I really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was so close to all shopping and nightlife that I wanted for the weekend. We were far enough away from the shopping to not make it overwelming with people and traffic. Perfect walking distance to everything from food, nightlife, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Michigan
Oct 26, 2009

Nice place

The Hampton staff was wonderful, congenial, very professional and very helpful every time I asked for anything. Noise was a small problem. The hotel is a block east of a fire station, but hotel-supplied ear plugs helped mitigate the worst of that. Our room was clean, comfortable and served the purpose intended. Nothing fancy. Worked well for me. A nice place to come back to after a day of walking the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota
Oct 4, 2009

The loudest Hotel stay ever

Wonderful location, staff, cleanliness, all a big advantage. With one notable exception, the fact that it was the loudest hotel I have ever stayed at due to its location just adjacent to the downtown Chicago Fire Department. Don't expect any sleep at night with fire trucks going every twenty minutes or so. Staff was less than helpful offering only ear plugs the next morning and advice that I should expect loud stays in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful restaurant right in hotel.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Aug 12, 2009

Decent hotel

This hotel is in a great location for visiting Chicago for leisure. The staff provides good service as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Comfortable & convenient

Convenient location - red line subway 1 block away; great pool, though we never got back in time to use it. Very comfortable bedding Next to fire station, but they provide complimentary earplugs if needed. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bradley, Illinois
Aug 3, 2009

Great Hotel

It was a wonderful experience. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so they upgraded our room to a bigger suite with no additional charge. The room was very spacious with a dining room and kitchen. What a nice surprise. I would stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lawrence, Kansas
Aug 3, 2009

Good stay.

It was a nice hotel, and very good price for the location (just blocks from Michigan Avenue and the river). They'd just painted my bathroom door before I got there, so it was still wet. It dried after a few hours, so not really an inconvenience. Good full breakfast! The fridge in my room didn't work, but they quickly sent a technician up to my room who replaced it. Good service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan Powerwalker
Jackson, MO
Aug 3, 2009

Great place for families

Liked the hotel and the amenities; however, it was noisy due to the fire station, but the staff told us and once you were use to the sirens, you really didn't notice them at all. Close to many exhibits and bus stops for museums! Great facility for the downtown area for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
okinawa, japan
Jul 14, 2009

chicago

Fitness center was minimal, but the hotel had an agreement of some sort with a local gym (crunch fitness) that is a full Olympic-size gym. Very satisfied with that. The ONLY complaint would be the fire station next to the hotel that seemed to respond to a call every hour, day and night. Complementary breakfast was also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Biz Traveler
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 13, 2009

Great for Tourists, So-So for Biz Travel

Hotel's fine for families, but I would not recommend it for business travelers . . . jam packed with tourists. Free breakfast is decent, and the staff were generally helpful and friendly. Very noisy, though . . . paper-thin walls, and right around the corner from a very busy fire station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lineman
Taylor ridge illinois.
Jul 7, 2009

Cub Game

Great staff, Parked next door 25.00 for 24hrs. Big ,clean suite.Great location. I'm going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cumming, GA
Jul 6, 2009

Great Family Getaway close to everything

We came into town for a graduation party and stayed to take in Taste of Chicago and tour the kids around Chicago. The hotel was in a perfect location to walk to restaurants, Navy Pier, shopping and Taste of Chicago. Also a short bus ride to Museum of Science and Industry. Room was spacious, clean, met our needs. Enjoyed the pool too :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Malnati's 2 blocks West on Illinois

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun girls in Chicago
St.Paul, MN
Jun 30, 2009

fun girls getaway

Great hotel, Very clean. Great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can feel safe walking to any place.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, Mo.
Jun 29, 2009

Great location

Great location ,very friendly staff ,very good free breakfast ,Walk to Navy Pier , Walk to bus stops for routes to Shedds Field Museum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy Mitchell
Buffalo, NY
Jun 28, 2009

Very happy with our stay

We stayed at the Hampton while in Chicago for a friend's wedding. It was the cheapest 3+ star hotel we could find in the River North district on the night we needed to stay. We did not receive the room we were promised through Orbitz (King studio, instead we were put in a room with two doubles) but the hotel did let us check in at early arrival at 10:30am (instead of 3pm) so I did not complain to the staff. This was our first time in a Hampton and we were very happy with our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dunmore,Pa.
Jun 1, 2009

excellent choice!!!

This hotel is great. Large selection at complimentary breakfast, great staff and good fitness and pool area. For the price I was upgraded to a suite it was huge. You cannot beat the location it is near Navy pier, shopping and almost everything Chicago has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 5, 2009

Great Location, very neat and

Great Location, very neat and tidy, spacious room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatful Grandfather
Yorktown, VA
May 4, 2009

Great Price and Location

Great reception at check in. Everyone I asked for help in getting around in city were cheerful and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekender Mom
Mount Clemens MI
Mar 10, 2009

Weekend Getaway

Rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant. The pool was closed and we really wanted to use it after much walking about town to relax. Sauna was also out of commission. Their morning breakfast was good. They charge $42 for parking and the lot next to them only charges $25. They wisk your car away so fast..check out the area parking...much cheaper elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2008

great location for shoppers

Location is great for our annual Christmas shopping trip. Firestation across the street, so earplugs are nice (and they provide them at the front desk). personally, that did not bother me, but my roommate heard the sirens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Perfectly centered for all of the Magnificent Mile shopping.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Dec 6, 2008

Everything OK

The location is pretty ideal for me, close to the train and close to shopping and restaurants. The wifi is complimentary and works well. The rooms are clean and comfortable if a little generic. Free apples and Wall Street Journals in the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fado is a friendly Irish bar close by.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, IL
Aug 3, 2008

Adequate but poor value for money

I thought that the cost of parking was too high. The nearby restaurants even for "fast food" were expensive. I guess you have to expect this for downtown Chicago. What I found irritating was that my cell phone did not work in the hotel. Apparently the hotel is a dead zone. The room itself was comfortable and clean and the staff was capable and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Mar 2, 2008

Great stay!

I absolutely loved staying here and will probably stay here again in the near future. The proximity to Michigan Avenue and all of downtown was amazing! It was close enough without being right on the Mile. The only down part is the firestation across the street. We were not really bothered by it, but you could hear the sirens occassionally. LOVED IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy pier, Buckingham Fountain, The Mile, John Hancock...they all are easily walking distance. Check out the Signature Lounge at the Hancock Building at night...so nice.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search