$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 216 East Ontario Street, 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit,mi
Feb 1, 2011

straight hotel

a indoor swimming pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maineville, Ohio
Sep 12, 2010

Great hotel in an even better location!

The hotel was great for our 3 night stay in Chicago. It was a quick walk to great shopping on Michigan Avenue, good restaurants, and to the red line train. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast in the morning was good and was constantly being refreshed by staff. Our only complaints would have to be that the wired internet in the room did not work, but it was just a elevator down to the breakfast room to use the wireless. We did ask the front desk for suggestions on places for happy hour and they weren't helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone should take the train if needing to go to other parts of Chicago. It's alot cheaper than taking taxis! It's easy to learn and fun!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtflamingo
Business
Lansing, MI
Jul 18, 2010

Great Location, Great Price!

Went to Chicago to see a show, a game, and do some shopping. Got a tremendous deal on our stay in a very clean, comfortable room. The location was unbeatable. The hotel was packed, but it was still quiet and well maintained. The hotel was booked solid and many people (like us) were checking out the next day, but the staff was well prepared. At check-in, they provided us with a letter apologizing in advance for any check-out delays and explained in detail how to check out without waiting in line. They were also efficient with storing our bags while we shopped after check-out. Overall, this stay was quite a bargain for downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The bands at the House of Blues were awesome, but the wine and beer was not good. Similarly, the food seemed to be just upscale sports bar selections. If you like good music but are fussy about your alcoholic beverages and food, I highly recommend dining at Bin 36 right across the street from the House of Blues then going to the show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Small town Iowa
Jun 27, 2010

Great place to stay!

Location, location, location! Everything was wonderful at Fairfield Inn & Suites. Nice room with lots of space. Great service. Very clean! Our room had a king bed with a fold out couch. There was a division between with a frige & microwave. TVs in both areas. Worked wondfully - kids slept on hida-a-bed and could watch what they wanted. We had some quiet time in our part of the room and could watch what we wanted. We had a great time and I would definately stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Ave. is only a block or so away! Loved Water Tower Place & the Disney store. All an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 25, 2010

Definitely fair

I'll never stay here again. My husband and I booked this room for a night there on a local getaway. While the beds were comfy and the location was near beautiful downtown, the staff was not at all aware of restaurants that were open after 11pm. We found 3 within walking distance-two on the same street! Valet was $42. When I booked the room, I was told I signed up for a King bed, 27in tv, 24 hour room service, and free wireless. The room had two queens, a 36in tv, room service was limited, and internet required an ethernet connection. Also, we asked for late check out, which we thought was granted by the desk clerk at night. In the morning we had our Do Not Disturb tag ignored once every hour since 11 am followed by a phone call. Very, very, annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

about 3 blocks away is a 24hr diner that has an extensive menu and very delicious fresh food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shmoopie
Business
Kansas City
Jun 3, 2010

Great hotel for the price!!!

The staff was very helpful, friendly and couteous. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2010

Great location for the price

The room was clean and had a small sitting area with a large flat screen TV. There was another large flat screen TV near the bed. The location was 2 blocks off Michigan Ave. and convenient to shopping and restaurants. The only draw back was the handicap bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking for a great steak place The Capital Grill is right on the corner. Also The purple Pig, on the corner of Michigan and Illinois, has amazing small plate foods(now one of my favorite restaurants).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 17, 2010

great value in the middle of Chicago

this hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was small but well planned and spotlessly clean with very comfortable bed and lovely bed linens. We heard a little noise from the street in the night but nothing to keep us awake. We felt we had really good value for the position of the hotel. It is a three minute walk to Michigan Avenue. This is not the place to stay if you like to lounge about in a sumptuous hotel room enjoying room service! It is, though, good if you need a nice comfortable place to sleep. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Va
May 14, 2010

Excellent choice

Hotel Is located right off of Michigan Ave. In a very nice location. I plan to stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
May 7, 2010

Very Close to Everything

The hotel staff was very helpful. We needed a crib from our infant and it was delivered within 5 minutes. The hotel is close to everything that Chicago has to offer (2 blocks from Michigan Ave. 3 blocks to the CTA train lines) This was the first time we stayed and my famly and I will stay again. Get out and enjoy Chicago by walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend going to Dominick's two blocks over and buying a CTA pass for the weekend. Will save tons of money instead of buying a cab all over town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top