$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

3 stars
216 East Ontario Street, 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
64 reviews
Super stay

Room super clean and comfortable. Location great. The Staff was absolute top of the... See full review

  • Trav42
  • Jun 19, 2014
First timer to Chicago

Hotel is in a great location and serves a good breakfast. Clean rooms and didn't hear the... See full review

  • SM Swanny
  • May 31, 2014
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, located steps from the famed Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and Northwestern Memorial Hospital, which features comfortable guest rooms and chic public spaces. Our downtown Chicago hotel is also surrounded by the finest retail stores and restaurants in the city. You'll feel at home the minute you step into our stylish hotel lobby and you'll look forward to returning to your modern guest room after spending the day exploring Chicago. Our guest rooms feature crisp linens and pillow-top mattresses, as well as, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet. If you stay in one of our well appointed Chicago suites, you'll have a microwave and mini-refrigerator at your disposal. Every guest can look forward to daily complimentary hot breakfast. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites, youre our #1 priority. We promise youll be satisfied, or well make it right. Thats our commitment to you. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gal from Kalamazoo
Business
kalamazoo
Apr 23, 2011

Very good location in mag mile chicago

Close to many shops and Water Tower. Many nice restaurants in the area. Room was very nice, peaCeful, comfortable space. My other thing to include Would have been a small refrig. Otherwise, it was perfect and convenient. It was so nice to have breakfast right there. Everyone on the staff we met was Very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Mar 28, 2011

Better than Holiday Inn

My husband and I were in Chicago for my sons wedding. We left a Holiday Inn and came straight to this one for one day. We stayed in a small suite so I had my own space and t.v. It was very convienient. We enjoyed the free breakfast that was served until 10:00am. The service was very fast and professional. I did not like the fact that there was no parking within walking distance of the parking garage, but it seemed that most Hotels were like that in Chicago. They only had 2 luggage carts, so at checkout time we had to carry our luggage down.Otherwise, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOYNTON BEACH, FL
Mar 21, 2011

Unbeatable location for the PRICE

WE DINED AND WENT SHOPPING. THE BREAKFAST INCLUDED IN PRICE WAS THE BEST EVER OF ANY HOTEL WE HAVE STAYED. THE ONLY THING THAT BOTHERED US WAS THE NOISY FAMILY NEXT TO US. OUR ROOM WAS AN AJOINING ONE, BECAUSE I HAD REQUESTED 2 BEDS, I WAS TOLD TODAY THAT ALL ROOMS ARE LIKE THAT AT THE FAIRFIELD HOTELS. WE HEARD EVERYTHING IN THAT ROOM. THAT WAS THE ONLY THING THAT BOTHERED US; THAT THEY PUT A FAMILY NEXT TO US AFTER WE WERE THERE A NIGHT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 24, 2011

nice small hotel

Was in town to be in the audience of the Oprah Show and catch the Chicago Auto Show for a midweek three night stay. This place was a surprise, as it is not your typical Fairfield Inn. It reminded me more of a European style small hotel. Only about 12 rooms per floor, and nice trendy lobby and mid-block location. The room was bright, clean and comfortable. I found the breakfast to be well stocked and a good variety of options. Overall the staff was very helpful and friendly. It was a great value and only a block from Michigan Ave and easy walk to subway and most sights. I would stay again. I only wish the room had a mini fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

to get a sense of the ethnic mix of Chicago- check out the restaurants in Chinatown, Little Italy and Greek Town- all can be gotten to on the CTA train or a short cab ride. Dim Sum in Chinatown is great at the Phoenix!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison, wi
Feb 20, 2011

Comfy and cordial

had to book this hotel the day of our stay so I didn't have time to be picky. What I found in this hotel couldn't have worked out much better. Although the room was small it was extremely clean, comfotable and modern. Free wifi and breakfast are always great perks as well. The staff was very helpful when we asked for some suggestions for good close by restaurants as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Metal
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 19, 2011

Friendly Staff, Factor Parking Price

My wife and I were looking for a hotel close to the Philippine consulate. This one is an easy walk there and in a great overall location. It is a good value for the location but as other reviewers have said $42 a day for valet parking (or $32 for non-valet parking with no right to go in and out)is pretty steep even for Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit,mi
Feb 1, 2011

straight hotel

a indoor swimming pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maineville, Ohio
Sep 12, 2010

Great hotel in an even better location!

The hotel was great for our 3 night stay in Chicago. It was a quick walk to great shopping on Michigan Avenue, good restaurants, and to the red line train. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast in the morning was good and was constantly being refreshed by staff. Our only complaints would have to be that the wired internet in the room did not work, but it was just a elevator down to the breakfast room to use the wireless. We did ask the front desk for suggestions on places for happy hour and they weren't helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone should take the train if needing to go to other parts of Chicago. It's alot cheaper than taking taxis! It's easy to learn and fun!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtflamingo
Business
Lansing, MI
Jul 18, 2010

Great Location, Great Price!

Went to Chicago to see a show, a game, and do some shopping. Got a tremendous deal on our stay in a very clean, comfortable room. The location was unbeatable. The hotel was packed, but it was still quiet and well maintained. The hotel was booked solid and many people (like us) were checking out the next day, but the staff was well prepared. At check-in, they provided us with a letter apologizing in advance for any check-out delays and explained in detail how to check out without waiting in line. They were also efficient with storing our bags while we shopped after check-out. Overall, this stay was quite a bargain for downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The bands at the House of Blues were awesome, but the wine and beer was not good. Similarly, the food seemed to be just upscale sports bar selections. If you like good music but are fussy about your alcoholic beverages and food, I highly recommend dining at Bin 36 right across the street from the House of Blues then going to the show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Small town Iowa
Jun 27, 2010

Great place to stay!

Location, location, location! Everything was wonderful at Fairfield Inn & Suites. Nice room with lots of space. Great service. Very clean! Our room had a king bed with a fold out couch. There was a division between with a frige & microwave. TVs in both areas. Worked wondfully - kids slept on hida-a-bed and could watch what they wanted. We had some quiet time in our part of the room and could watch what we wanted. We had a great time and I would definately stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Ave. is only a block or so away! Loved Water Tower Place & the Disney store. All an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top