$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
446 reviews
Great trip

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Best hotel breakfast... See full review

  • rwhiteley12
  • Jul 7, 2014
So comfortable

It was far from a station. But we could get on the bus easily. The room was so comfortable. See full review

  • Kiyoedo
  • Jun 26, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (446)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 446
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crooklyn
Omaha, NE, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Romantic date to Chicago

Our stay was very pleasant but did leave much to be desired. The hotel receptionist I felt was rather cool toward me when we arrived. The room itself for a suite left a lot to be desired. Not much of a view n very small compared to other embassy suites hotels I stayed at before. The breakfast was nice however when it came time for cut off I noticed the kitchen staff was rather rude bout closing up. I forgot a drink n went back fora glass of orange juice an was turned away. I was severely disappointed considering the rate for the room i was in was over 600 dollars. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joe koziel
barabo wi
Mar 5, 2013

didnt get what i was told

the room i booked i didnt get, And wasnt offered any thing to make it up to me. I thought vallet parking was high at over 50.00 a night. Over all not very impressed with staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Landes
Lafayette, IN
Jun 6, 2013

Pool?

Everything was wonderful, up to and until we found the pool out of service. Really? Would have been nice to know going in, or we would have picked another hotel. Pools with children are a must. No discount for the disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJT1
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 19, 2014

Family vacation in Chicago

We loved the location and the price for what you get! Were very surprised at how expensive parking was $59/night for valet. Also started out on the wrong foot with Bell staff. It took a long time to get our bags to the room, 40+ mins. Said they were real busy and would get there soon. Pretty rude about it too. When traveling with young children and you need a bag, you want help not the cold shoulder. We even said we would meet them and get what we needed or take the bags ourselves and were told "NO" we couldn't come get our own bags. It still bothers me how I was spoken to. But, for the rest of the hotel staff "good job!" we did enjoy what you provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy72
Chicago
Jul 8, 2013

I was expecting for a better quality hotel

I think that over $300.00 was too much per day and the room was not comfy. Also I had to pay $55 per day for parking. I not going back to that hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janet12
Warren, Ohio
Dec 21, 2011

Family Christmas Shopping

Really liked the buffet breakfast and evening reception. We had booked a non-smoking room, but were given a smoking room. When I asked to be moved the next day I wasn't guarnteed we would get a nonsmoking room.. They requested we pack all our stuff and put it in storage and see what became available later in the day! The whole floor reeked of smoke as did all our stuff after getting back home. I did feel they could have decorated their hotel more for Christmas. Very few decorations. Loved the city of Chicago though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GPS Loser
Chicago, Il
Sep 28, 2009

Good til the end

I have stayed at this hotel before and it is always pleasant. I had a bad experience however with valet parking. My GPS was missing at pick up even though all the cords and accessories were still there. For $50 a night for parking it was 1/3 of my stay cost and I would expect efficiency not theft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cary, NC
Oct 12, 2009

Top location for Marathon watching

Friendly and knowledgeable valet attendants. Went out of their way to accommodate our parking requests. Front desk very helpful with directions and tips about Marathon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the Nordstrom complex. Convenient to Art Institute

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
memphis, tn
Nov 2, 2010

Good hotel

Close walking distance to the mile, nice friendly staff, clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 7, 2009

Nice family hotel, but not too classy

Spacious room and comfortable bed. Corner suite is best. Bathroom was not thoroughly clean. Popular with families with children. Good breakfast with made to order station. Noise easily carried through the vents. Crying and screaming kids always evident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top