$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
313 reviews
Museum tour

Took the Amtrak from KC to Chicago for a 4 day stay to see the various Chicago museums. This... See full review

  • Senior travelor KC
  • Feb 27, 2015
Great Girls Night Out

We booked this hotel for its proximity to the restaurants and nightclubs in the river north area... See full review

  • Sonia M.
  • Feb 23, 2015
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 313
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammie Jane
Business
Midwest
Nov 27, 2011

Not as I expected

The tiles in the bathroom were mildewed, the heating/cooling unit was disabled, the room had a funny smell, and the breakfast very likely gave me intestinal distress. On the up side, the staff working the bar/restaurant on Thanksgiving evening -- all extraordinarily hardworking and aiming to please -- were more professional than my husband and I usually see anywhere. A bit of redemption for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammie Jane
Business
Midwest
Dec 8, 2011

Great location

But not much else. The breakfast is plentiful but not hot when served -- like bad diner food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

My review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

cost was high.. parking attendant ran into my car with another customers car. Hotel was just ok and the pool area was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on the mile was two or three blocks from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Hotel was ok, after the first night!

When we got there, they gave us a room that was wheelchair accessible. We didnt think anything of it. Tried to take a shower and water went all over the floor. When I called to say that I wanted to change rooms, the girl was VERY RUDE. She said because we booked with a 3rd party and not directly with the hotel that our reservation was first come first serve. She said there was no way to switch rooms so I asked to speak to a manager and we did get to change rooms. Will I recommend this hotel, maybe but I will tell them to beware of the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samjilla
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2010

review survey

Everything was fine, except we thought we purchase a king size suite, with a jaccuzzi. But there wasnt one, and to find dirty tooth picks on the floor as well no toilet paper. Other than that, everything was fine. The bed was very comfortable, and made neatly. The room itself was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cdubb
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Embassy Suites

Pretty nice hotel! Worth what you pay!! They have complimentary drinks in the evening, just adds a little bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrigley420
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 19, 2013

V-Day Retreat

The hotel, overall, met expectations. Unfortunately, the pool was not available for use. The only negative thing I could say, is when I was checking in I overheard the hotel staff offer two free movies to a gentleman who seemed disappointed the pool wasn't available. When I approached the same employee a few hours later, and asked for similar treatment I was denied. I didn't decide to push it further, as she appeared annoyed with all the questions about "the pool." Otherwise, the room itself was very clean and spacious as promised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HHI lovers
Business
Illinois
Mar 16, 2014

Chicago quick

Like other Embassy Suites, a large hotel, lots of kids,. The quality of the breakfast is less than expected. Good location and convenient suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Michigan Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hot and smokey
Business
La Grange, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Hot, Loud, and busy

Our air conditioning was not working on a 92 degree day and our room was very smokey. We waited in line for most of our evening to checkin to our room, waiting 20 minutes for a crowded elevator and lonnnnng line for a free cocktail. It is close to Navy Pier but well worth a cap right to have a pleasant stay ! Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 2, 2011

Great location; room needed more venting

Location was great: midway between Navy Pier and the Miracle Mile shopping area. The staff, breakfast, and manager's reception were top notch as expected at an Embassy Suites. The hotel appears due for a remodeling. Our room seemed to need some way of getting fresh air in and to remove the humid air from the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice grocery store across the street to the west from this hotel. It's simple and cheap to stock up on food or to put together a picnic lunch. There are many great parks close by to enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top