$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
445 reviews
Great trip

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Best hotel breakfast... See full review

  • rwhiteley12
  • Jul 7, 2014
So comfortable

It was far from a station. But we could get on the bus easily. The room was so comfortable. See full review

  • Kiyoedo
  • Jun 26, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (445)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
445 out of 445
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 26, 2009

good value

I was only there for business, spent only one night. Great value to have a complimentary cocktail or 2 in the evening, and breakfast the next day. The negatives: add more snacks besides chips w/salsa and pretzels. Rude housekeeping staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

try 3 or 4 long blocks to get to Michigan Avenue; take comfortable walking shoes!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyer
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 6, 2012

New years trip

Friendly Staff alway w/ a smile when answering questions - very knowledgable to attractions and eating places / Close to Navy Pier / Great Rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Navy peir

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2007

Excellent location

One of the best locations for visiting Chicago. We did not have to rent a car and pay those high parking rates! And we toured Chicago with 2 kids, including 1 toddler. Given that, an excellent value for the money. The rooms were comfortable. But I would have appreciated a full-length mirror. The hotel was fairly quiet considering the large # of families and the fact it was during the 4th of July holiday. Everything was kept clean. However I did not enjoy the breakfast. I thought the quality and selection of foods were sub-par considering how nice the hotel was (and how long the wait for food could be). Other Embassies (particularly in Florida) have better breakfasts! If you have to have a decent suite and you're not picky about breakfast, this hotel is a great choice. Also, I recommend going across the street to Dominick's/Starbuck's for fruit, breakfast food, pizzas, deli, and your morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Movies and bowling are right around the corner, taxis are easy to get and Magnificent Mile is a few short blocks walk. You can also walk down to the Chicago River for touring and dining options, including boat tours. You can't beat this location!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomington IL
May 15, 2011

wonderful

We had never stayed at an embassy suites before and were surprised at the rooms and the free breakfast and drinks. This breakfast was also not just a buffet but a cook to order hot breakfast which was amazing. While it was a little loud in the hotel as everything kind of echos a little the rooms are still large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco, ca
Feb 8, 2010

definitely great for downtown visiting

the embassy suites is a great downtown hotel. it is just 2 blocks off of michigan avenue which actually makes it nice to be off the main hectic strip. the staff is courteous and helpful. i have stayed here twice in the past few months and thoroughly enjoyed my stays. my only complaint would have to be that the room service seems to have issues delivering on their estimated times. however we were given a free dessert for the hassle of waiting an extra 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kingman AZ
May 27, 2009

Embassy Suties Chicago Lakefront

Enjoyable; however had to pay $210 for valet parking. Thought that was a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Vicky
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 17, 2009

Fabulous hotel

My husband & I took advantage of our downtown location. We walked to Navy Pier, the Sears Tower, movie theater, Michigan avenue. We also took the L to a White Sox game. We dined @ Carson's Ribs, Nick's Fish Market, and Gino's East Pizza. The two room suite with the king size bed and two TV's was our best vacation hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Each morning a newspaper is delivered to your door. Made-to-order breakfast awaits you. The amount and variety of food should satisfy everyone. The service is wonderful and it's a great way to save money.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KeKe and The Band
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 20, 2010

Perfect

I must say I loved this hotel. When we travel with the band we normally like to stay at the Embassy Suites because of the spacious rooms and the additional perks, like a wonderful Buffet Breakfast and the Managers Reception (this helps cut down on cost for us). The view from my room was absolutely amazing. The workout center overlooked a park, the pool area was just right. The gift shop had to be the kicker for me. It wasn't just your typical gift shop...a mini convent store...they had every item that you thought you packed but you didn't….loved it. The location of this hotel is perfect. It wasn't far from all the shops. There is a wonderful grocery store across the street. It's not too far from the Navy Pier….I actually left the group and went by myself….it was the best walk. Our last night in town we went to Lucky Strike, we had the wonderful time bowling and playing pool. They had the greatest wings ever. It was on the same block as our hotel so we didn't travel far at all. When I visited Chicago again in the spring with my Niece I will defiantly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento CA
Jul 14, 2010

Great time in Chicago

This was our first trip to Chicago and we LOVED it! The hotel was in a great, central location and the staff were very helpful. We used taxis, bus, and the "El" and found it very easy to get around the city. Oh yes, we also did the river boat cruise-what a treat! We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architectural Foundation river tour just off of Michigan and Wacker.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyer
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 6, 2012

News years trip

Great place to stay if going to Navy Pier . Its about 3-4 blocks and taxi service right out the front door. Great hotel - service ; heated pool open till late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Back to menu Return to top