$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSBFAM
Business
Kentucky, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great Family Trip!

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were so very impressed with the hotel staff. Every single person we interacted with was very warm and friendly. The staff was especially good at helping us choose things to do that were suitable for our children. We loved the Children's Museum, Shedd Aquarium, American Girl Store and the Navy Pier. The staff also helped us plan our transportation, which we really appreciated. While the wait for breakfast was a little long, it was worth it. The cooked-to-order omelets were amazing! Thanks for helping our family enjoy our first trip to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Children's Museum has free admission on Thursday nights from 5-8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
merri
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great location, great value

This hotel worked perfectly for a girlfriend's getaway. Walking distance to everything we wanted, friendly helpful staff and an amazing made to our order breakfast that was included. As we sat long past breakfast, still laughing and gabbing, we were asked very politely if we could move to another area so they could set up for lunch. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Room was basic but a great view and we loved the sitting area separate so we could visit. Not a luxury hotel but clean, comfortable and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilio's Tapas restaurant on Ohio near No. Columbus is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAL1
Business
Goodyear, AZ, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great for the family!

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Suite was the perfect set-up for our family. We could close the bedroom door so our two year old could sleep, while we relaxed in the comfortable main area with television, couch, and table. The two vanities were very convenient for getting ready in the morning. Can't beat the complimentary made-to-order breakfast and happy hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free made-to-order breakfast every morning and free happy hour every evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rubies
Business
Chicago Il
Nov 16, 2011

Good location, great room.

I would stay here again....close to everything and nice room. Comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

to Michigan Avenue - Gold Coast shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weary warrior
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Nice room, too pricey

Very nice hotel, courteous staff and great breakfast. However I've stayed in cheaper hotels that were just as nice. Also, $14.95 a day for internet??? You have got to be kidding me!I stay in $80 hotels and get it for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mehr
Business
SAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO
Dec 18, 2011

First time, will come back!!!

very clean...breakfast is great! well located and good coffe in the small store at the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

New Mexican Restaurant -La Cantina- Near the hotel Best margaritas in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
unopiz
Business
Janesville, WI, USA
Dec 15, 2011

An Evening in Chicago

It was the quality I expect from the Embassy Suites brand. Staff was helpful, manager's reception had several food options, and a jazz combo that was delightful. The Embassy Suites I have stayed at in D.C. had news channels on during the evening receptions & breakfast-Chicago was music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRI
Business
Dubuque, IA
Dec 24, 2011

Good Family Value

Good location, convenient to everything we wanted to see and do. The free breakfast and manager's reception are a bit of a cattle call, but you get what you pay for. If you want the convenience of downtown on a budget, you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbump
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Good service

It was good to hear English spoken by the servixe help. one problem was that people were upset when they put the elevators out of service for almost a half hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
christmas fun
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Decent place

I stayed here on christmas night. I absolutely loved the location more than anything. AMC theater and lucky strike was right behind the hotel building which was fantastic for my family. The view was pretty awesome too. Bed was comfortable and the TV's were nice. Decent bathroom and the staff were nice. Free breakfast is another thing my family truly enjoyed. Great food and great time. Parking is quite confusing. I accidentally pulled into the self-parking lot and had a little hassle with them. Self-parking is not part of the hotel. You are more than likely to miss the hotel's valet if you don't pay attention. and self-parking staff was awful. Overall, I'd come stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Marylin Monroe statue is about 8 min away from the hotel and if you look outside the window from the room, depending on where your room is, you could find it easy!! no directions necesary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top