$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
282 reviews
More than I expected

I had not stayed in an Embassy Suites before. Having the two rooms, a kitchenette, a hot breakfast,... See full review

  • JS Boston
  • Jul 25, 2014
Vacation Was Perfect!

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a perfect place to stay while in Chicago. Close to major shopping... See full review

  • Quarterflip1958
  • Jul 21, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomington IL
May 15, 2011

wonderful

We had never stayed at an embassy suites before and were surprised at the rooms and the free breakfast and drinks. This breakfast was also not just a buffet but a cook to order hot breakfast which was amazing. While it was a little loud in the hotel as everything kind of echos a little the rooms are still large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maldonado
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 3, 2012

Great

It was difficult to find, needs a larger sign. But it was worth it, they treat us nice and the breakfast was excellent. I like the room it was big and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Many stores and great prices. Nice people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pryan
Chicago, Ill
Apr 11, 2011

Weekend getaway

I wanted a hotel that was close to all the city life action. Well that it was for sure. I walked to everything, [...]. So about the only other thing is be prepared to pay a fortune for parking in downtown chicago. The hotel alone wanted 49 dollars to park my car for each night. WOW! I did find a parking lot that was only 28 a night that was pretty close to the hotel. Being an out of towner that wasn't prepared for the prices of parking, it was kind of scary. But I survived the trip and had a pretty good time. I will definitely go back to this hotel. The staff was wonderful. Thanks CJ for everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved that about this hotel, It was a short walk to the magnificent mile. The parks and everything that everyone could ever imagine. I LOVED it. There was a theatre right next to the hotel. I just felt really safe there. It was a beautiful location. I will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterrey, Mexico
Jan 25, 2011

Bears football game

Location it's just great you can go bassically every where around most of the city attraction by just walking or short drive, the rooms where clean and comfortable and the staff were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I select short drive, but in fact all distance to reacreattional attractions you can go there just walking if you are not traveling with children or in cold wether like we have in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jma11
Business
new york
Oct 25, 2013

buisness trip

All good; but placed me in room right next to elevator, which was VERY noisy and kept me up all night. I had to re-pack and change rooms in morning and was not able to get another king-size bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great Japanese place around corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo NY
Jun 28, 2011

Adequate for family stay

Location was pretty good, just a 5 minute walk from the Magnificent Mile. Pool was small and narrow and almost like not having one at all. Rooms were quiet and reasonably clean. Breakfast was good. I'd consider staying there again when on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VK1
Holland, MI
Jun 11, 2010

Embassy

Had a good time downtown Chicago. Location of the hotel was great. Breakfast was wonderful - cooks in kitchen were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jan 10, 2011

Great time with the family!

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had 6 rooms and they put all of us on the same floor. The Managers happy hour was fantastic, a great time for all of us to sit together and talk. The family really enjoyed the pool and visited it several times. We enjoyed the Breakfast buffet and it was better than we ever expected. The hotel staff went out of their way to make the experience a great time. Thank You.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cindylouwho02
Central, IL
Jul 31, 2013

Great Location

The corner suite we had let us entertain a friend visiting from Germany comfortably. Although there were lines for happy hour drinks and breakfast they moved quickly and most of the staff was very friendly. Next time I would try to find another option other than the valet parking, $55 a night is too expensive. Also, our friend was a smoker and it would be nice to have somewhere indoors to smoke late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I would skip Navy Pier next time. It had little to interest mature adults.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
panama city fl.
Oct 5, 2010

fantastic fanily experence

room not as up to date as other stays, staff very helpful,close to everything to do,easy to find and to get to places from there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take bus tour cheep people very knowledgable point out fun facts about

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top