$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clareman
Business
Aurora
Jan 6, 2015

great location

Self park in basement, out of the weather , which was great because of the snow when we left. Very friendly desk help, Hannah, who found us 2 rooms o the same floor for our 2 couple's. Lots of places nearby, but way too many children running around, and long line for drinks at the evening reception, we never got one. Our room was quiet, clean, liked the wet bar and sitting area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The D4 pub is 1block away for a good meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mari M.
Business
Holland
Feb 10, 2015

Christmas 2014

We experienced a great value with this stay in Chicago. The hotel though is more family oriented and we would appreciate a more adult feel and experience. Too many screaming kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare Italian Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lex p
Business
lake county, Illinois
Jan 19, 2014

short stay

The staff was great. The room was huge compared to other hotels. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Had complementary made to order breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hcyclist
Business
Houston TX
Mar 3, 2014

Chicago family visit

Staff was very friendly and out going, the free breakfast left a little to be desired, previous frozen pancakes are always a disappointment. the bar staff was very friendly and accommodating. the only down side was the room was not as clean as i would have likes. around the Ac vent was an large accumulation of dust. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 9, 2008

great room

Embassy Suites was very nice! I loved the suite atmosphere. The bed was so comfortable I did not want to get out of it. The breakfast made to order was out of this world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Chicago is an essential. Very close to Michigan Avenue. The Magnificent Mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sonya Renee
Business
Buffalo, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Wonderful for families on a budget

One of the best hotels that we have ever stayed in. We travel frequently and have 4 children: ages 3, 14, 16, & 18 - so it's hard to please everyone, but this hotel managed to pull it off. The location was perfect, the price reasonable, the staff was first-class, and the free breakfast & happy hour were wonderful additions. The only complaint was that the pool was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring a stroller for small children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Sep 14, 2009

Great Price and Location

Great price, $50 cheaper a night than anything I could find in the area (had to pre-pay for lowest rate). Spacious 2 room suite which allowed us to have our young son sleep in a separate room. They even provided a crib for us. Service was good and the made to order breakfast and complimentary cocktails at happy hour were a nice touch. Great location in downtown Chicago, walking distance to the Navy Pier, shopping (Mag Mile), Millenium Park. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Only shortcoming is that the pool was small. But I never used it anyway, much more interesting things to do in Chicago than swim in the hotel pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DZ
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 24, 2009

Good Value

Assuming I end up paying what Cheaptickets said I will be charged it is a very good value. The daily complementary real breakfast and happy hour were a fantastic surprise. There weren't any cups for the coffee maker in the morning but the free brewed coffee in the restaurant was better anyway. I had to stop at the desk to check out because the hotel tried to charge me for parking and I didn't have a car there. I would have liked to have received a copy of what I was charged for my stay upon checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temperance, MI
Jan 2, 2010

25th anniversary trip

Overall, the experience was very good. We were there for a 25th anniversary trip; no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

People at the front desk are more than willing to help get you where you want to go; directions for shopping, dining, and recreation. Concierge service however was never open during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Feb 8, 2010

Great Hotel

Very helpful staff and friendly. A sin charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top