$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 16, 2010

Great location

Breakfast and happy hour were good. Staff was friendly and helpful, made good dinner recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

96th floor of Hancock Building for drinks and appetizers.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clareman
Business
Aurora
Jan 6, 2015

great location

Self park in basement, out of the weather , which was great because of the snow when we left. Very friendly desk help, Hannah, who found us 2 rooms o the same floor for our 2 couple's. Lots of places nearby, but way too many children running around, and long line for drinks at the evening reception, we never got one. Our room was quiet, clean, liked the wet bar and sitting area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The D4 pub is 1block away for a good meal.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mari M.
Business
Holland
Feb 10, 2015

Christmas 2014

We experienced a great value with this stay in Chicago. The hotel though is more family oriented and we would appreciate a more adult feel and experience. Too many screaming kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare Italian Restaurant

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
East coast visit
Business
Boston
Aug 7, 2014

Family trip

Went w my 2 boys. Room was on the smaller side. It needed a face lift. We were not in the room long, so really did not matter. Great b-fast and location. The valet people were awl full and rude. Bathroom had a bit of a mold issue but not too bad. Good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobby Dicks
Business
Dayton Ohio
Sep 15, 2014

weekend get away

Close to navy pier and magnificent mile restaurant at the hotel has great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gagai
Business
Dearborn heights Michigan
Jul 9, 2014

Nice

I like it and easy walk for shopping area and resturant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jun 22, 2009

Hotel was ok, after the first night!

When we got there, they gave us a room that was wheelchair accessible. We didnt think anything of it. Tried to take a shower and water went all over the floor. When I called to say that I wanted to change rooms, the girl was VERY RUDE. She said because we booked with a 3rd party and not directly with the hotel that our reservation was first come first serve. She said there was no way to switch rooms so I asked to speak to a manager and we did get to change rooms. Will I recommend this hotel, maybe but I will tell them to beware of the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samjilla
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 17, 2010

review survey

Everything was fine, except we thought we purchase a king size suite, with a jaccuzzi. But there wasnt one, and to find dirty tooth picks on the floor as well no toilet paper. Other than that, everything was fine. The bed was very comfortable, and made neatly. The room itself was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lex p
Business
lake county, Illinois
Jan 19, 2014

short stay

The staff was great. The room was huge compared to other hotels. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Had complementary made to order breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hcyclist
Business
Houston TX
Mar 3, 2014

Chicago family visit

Staff was very friendly and out going, the free breakfast left a little to be desired, previous frozen pancakes are always a disappointment. the bar staff was very friendly and accommodating. the only down side was the room was not as clean as i would have likes. around the Ac vent was an large accumulation of dust. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top