$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
340 out of 340
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cdubb
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Embassy Suites

Pretty nice hotel! Worth what you pay!! They have complimentary drinks in the evening, just adds a little bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrigley420
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 19, 2013

V-Day Retreat

The hotel, overall, met expectations. Unfortunately, the pool was not available for use. The only negative thing I could say, is when I was checking in I overheard the hotel staff offer two free movies to a gentleman who seemed disappointed the pool wasn't available. When I approached the same employee a few hours later, and asked for similar treatment I was denied. I didn't decide to push it further, as she appeared annoyed with all the questions about "the pool." Otherwise, the room itself was very clean and spacious as promised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian right around the corner.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Five to 1
Business
Holland, Mi
May 13, 2013

Nice Hotel

It was a nice hotel. lacked a few minor things that would make this better. Need to improve the managers reception. I had kids who wanted pop as well as me and wife but the long lines made it hard. To many people getting alchol need to add a line for pop only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across street to Dominiks and buy snacks and pop for a cheap cos.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy72
Business
Chicago
Jul 8, 2013

I was expecting for a better quality hotel

I think that over $300.00 was too much per day and the room was not comfy. Also I had to pay $55 per day for parking. I not going back to that hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Landes
Business
Lafayette, IN
Jun 6, 2013

Pool?

Everything was wonderful, up to and until we found the pool out of service. Really? Would have been nice to know going in, or we would have picked another hotel. Pools with children are a must. No discount for the disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family father
Business
Ohio
Aug 20, 2013

From Finland

Good hotel for weekend visit, if hotel is only a place to sleep and have a breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.Rose
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 10, 2013

The hotel aesthetics were fair

The hotel stay and breakfast were great except that parking was expensive and the hotel did not validate parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the magnificent mile.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GPS Loser
Business
Chicago, Il
Sep 28, 2009

Good til the end

I have stayed at this hotel before and it is always pleasant. I had a bad experience however with valet parking. My GPS was missing at pick up even though all the cords and accessories were still there. For $50 a night for parking it was 1/3 of my stay cost and I would expect efficiency not theft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 2, 2011

Great location; room needed more venting

Location was great: midway between Navy Pier and the Miracle Mile shopping area. The staff, breakfast, and manager's reception were top notch as expected at an Embassy Suites. The hotel appears due for a remodeling. Our room seemed to need some way of getting fresh air in and to remove the humid air from the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice grocery store across the street to the west from this hotel. It's simple and cheap to stock up on food or to put together a picnic lunch. There are many great parks close by to enjoy it.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Valve Guy
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Business Trip

Very disappointed that they charge an hourly rate for wireless services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top