$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaG
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 1, 2010

Great surprise!

We had lived in Illinois for two years but never visited the city. We took time on our recent visit to family to drive to Chicago. I was apprehensive of booking hotel without a personal reference but the majority of reviews were exceptional and the price/location were great. The hotel far exceeded our expectations. Room was exceptional and most importantly CLEAN. It was a great respite from long hours of driving. View was spectacular and breakfast had many options. It was delicious and very convenient. Hotel treated us no differently than full price paying customers. Parking was costly, especially since we used taxis to get around. Still, we chalked it up as the price for convenience and great accommodations. Entrance was a little challenging to find. Will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Investigate parking lot next door if you have a car and will be staying long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 19, 2010

clean and quiet

Check in was easy--room was clean and comfortable, and there were even 2 tvs--one in the living area, one in the bedroom. Terrific space for the price!! Not a lot of options on room service menu, but portions were large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the EL to get from O'Hare to the hotel and back. It's only $2.45, and the closest stop is a quick 4 block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DZ
Business
Lancaster, PA
Sep 24, 2009

Good Value

Assuming I end up paying what Cheaptickets said I will be charged it is a very good value. The daily complementary real breakfast and happy hour were a fantastic surprise. There weren't any cups for the coffee maker in the morning but the free brewed coffee in the restaurant was better anyway. I had to stop at the desk to check out because the hotel tried to charge me for parking and I didn't have a car there. I would have liked to have received a copy of what I was charged for my stay upon checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Travelors
Business
Pekin, Illinois
Aug 20, 2010

I would go back!

The hotel location was perfect for a short walk to the Navy Pier and a few extra steps to the Magnificient Mile. We were very pleased with the valet parking arrangement and the complimentary breakfast was a great unexpected surprise. There was ample choices of food and you could even order an omelet if you wished. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sonya Renee
Business
Buffalo, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Wonderful for families on a budget

One of the best hotels that we have ever stayed in. We travel frequently and have 4 children: ages 3, 14, 16, & 18 - so it's hard to please everyone, but this hotel managed to pull it off. The location was perfect, the price reasonable, the staff was first-class, and the free breakfast & happy hour were wonderful additions. The only complaint was that the pool was small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring a stroller for small children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roverandom
Business
Toronto
Feb 13, 2014

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel with a good location downtown near Navy Pier. My room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly. Good breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tampa Dave
Business
Tampa, Florida
Feb 24, 2014

First Time City Visit

Great hotel. Location was fantastic, you could walk to everything that's a must see. The double decker bus tour has a pick up less than one block from hotel. Hotel has great breakfast and happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must have the Chicago deep dish pizza. closest spot Is Gino's East. 5 minute walk. And you must try Garretts popcorn, 5 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Trip of 061813
Business
Troy, MI
Feb 24, 2014

N&M Trip to Chicago

It was great hotel. Parking cost is almost 50% of the hotel cost. This is the only negative of entire stay. Other than that it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schoolwork
Business
Denver
Feb 20, 2014

Quick 2 day trip for business

The room was furnished very nicely, comfortable bed, very nice vanity area for conveniently getting ready in the morning. Who else includes an evening reception and full, hot breakfast in the morning. Lobby area comfortable and well appointed. Everything was sparkley clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Trip of 061813
Business
Troy, MI
Feb 24, 2014

M&T

Not a bad deal outside of parking cost. Overall good value for $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top