$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
294 reviews
Family Getaway

Great location, friendly staff, fun for kids.. perfect location to walk to Navy Pier, Eataly, Water... See full review

  • Jeffrey Ackland
  • Oct 12, 2014
Would return again !

Location was great convenient to the river walk,Navy Pier and downtown shopping. I was able to walk... See full review

  • KK1033
  • Oct 8, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger810
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 4, 2011

Good locale for exploring Chicago

We enjoyed our stay in Chicago, thanks to the ease, comfort, and location of this Embassy Suites. We were just a short 2 block walk from Michigan Avenue which was teeming with Buses for quick rides to anywhere along the Magnificent Mile, restaurants, markets, theatres, museums, and art galleries. Trains were a little less accessible at about 4 blocks away, but were easily usable to more distant reaches in Chicago. The breakfast was good with the prepared to order egg breakfasts, decent coffee, but don't stray too far from the eggs as other breakfast items were just average. Highly recommended for any first time visitor, seasoned travelers, and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the 3-day CTA pass for $14 and go anywhere anytime

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retired from Michigan
Business
KALAMAZOO, MI
Jun 24, 2014

very nice in many ways but one

The hotel is really nice and well run. The ballet service is not however. Use self park, it's cheaper and faster. Apparently the parking garage is quite a ways away. it took 45 minutes for the ballet to get our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

always make reservations in Chicago. otherwise you will wait over an hour, even at a sub-par restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawkeye 7
Business
Chicago
Jul 20, 2014

Family getaway

We had a great time at the Embassy Suites. The location is perfect and the breakfast and happy hour are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lakefront

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.Smith1974
Business
Chicago
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect Staycation on a Budget

I am from Chicago and have traveled all over the world and have stayed in five star hotels. When me and my girls couldn't take our annual trip, we decided to stay local. I needed a room that was large enough to accommodate me and my friends and wanted a pool and jacuzzi (for relaxing as if we were at a beach). My girls and I had a blast. The room was spacious for the four of us (one king and a pull out sofa). It had plenty of sinks (three to be exact and came in handy with four grown women getting ready for the Beyonce concert). The hotel also had a wonderful manager's happy hour (the drinks were delightful)! We were supposed to be getting ready for the Beyonce concert and ended up having so much fun we were late for the concert and we didn't even care. After the concert we were starving and the Bellwether, adjacent to the hotel, was open until 4am and the food was delicious. The next day, we had a full breakfast that is included in the hotel price. We even had time to relax in the jacuzzi and sauna before a quick and easy 12 pm check out. All in all, as a Chicagoan, I can say the location is everything and all though we were there for a girls' weekend, it is family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robojaden
Business
Coldwater, Michigan
Aug 27, 2014

Fantastic overnight stay downtown

Great central location. Had an issue with the parking garage, but the hotel clerk took care of it quickly and very politely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the in/out permit at parking garage to save money and have extra time parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott RG
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Nice location, staff and amenities.

Positives include the location, the helpful staff, and complementary breakfast in the morning and cocktails/snicks in the evening. Some fixtures in the room seemed slightly dated and a number of spiders hanging outside of our window freaked my girlfriend out a bit. I also had a valet charge on my final bill despite having no car, but it was easily removed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momma L
Business
Colorado
Sep 14, 2014

Nice place

For the price and location in Chicago, the room was quite spacious. Beds were comfortable. The pool was pretty small, but warm and the hot tub was actually hot! Very nice on tired feet. The free breakfast was great! Hot and cold buffet, plus a cook-to-order line for omelets and eggs. They have egg whites and turkey bacon on request. Afternoon snack was ok. The wifi was not great, but it was free. It would have been helpful to have a clothesline to dry bathing suits. Utensils and microwavable dishes would have also been very helpful. While there was a "kitchen" sink, there were no towels or scrubbies. It will be very convenient once the Whole Foods opens across the street. We had to go about 15 blocks for a decent grocer. Many attractions are easy to walk to or take transit. Willis Tower, the Museum of Science and Industry, Smith Glass Museum at the Pier and riding bikes along the lake shore trail were our favs. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtian73
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 6, 2014

Accomodating staff, amazing room.

Everything was handled well and efficiently. I was stuck in traffic and needed a friend to check-in for me and the process was easy. The room was very clean and huge! We had the suite on the 17th floor and it was more than accomodating for 7 people. The only problem was the shower in one room had no lip on the edge. It was flush with the floor and the bathroom floor collects about 1/2 inch of water when you shower. Not safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikek254
Business
miami
Oct 15, 2014

Great for marathon weekend

Very good location if you are running the marathon and visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Queem
Business
Indiana
Oct 16, 2014

It was a great area for me and my friend.

We traveled to Chicago to go to the Steve Harvey Show. The studio was very convenient for us, a very short walk. Driving in the city was difficult for us, but we made it home all in one piece. We drove and drove around to find the famous Chicago Pizza. (Giordanos). Parking is terrible and costly. The Pizza was very good and worth the headache. My friend and I would like to return to Chicago for several days to enjoy Chicago sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Need better driving directions. A lot of one way streets and the person at the hotel didn't give good directions. It was not the Concuerge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top