$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retel
Business
Solothurn, Switzerland
May 3, 2010

Great Location and complimentary Drinks

Very helpfulStaff when it came to booking of Transfers and Restaurants. From 5:30pm to 7:30pm complimentary Drinks at the bar! Would definitely go there again, rooms are very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The old town District in the North öfters plenty of Small Shops, Boutiques and fancy Bars and Restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 20, 2010

Spaciaous suite

The room was nice. I would suggest its perfect if traveling with kids for an extended stay. It was more than I need for my one night stay but the orbitz price was right! The parking garage is cumbersome to get to(3 different elevators from garage to room) So I suggest using bellhop services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandy1
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 9, 2009

Great Hotel

I have frequently stayed at Embassy Suites for business travel and they are always great. This one was no exception for family travel. The location was perfect. Just a few blocks away from the lake, the river, and Michigan Ave. My only complaint was that breakfast was always super busy and they seemed to run out of items like silverware fairly often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Jun 28, 2011

Adequate for family stay

Location was pretty good, just a 5 minute walk from the Magnificent Mile. Pool was small and narrow and almost like not having one at all. Rooms were quiet and reasonably clean. Breakfast was good. I'd consider staying there again when on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CindySue
Business
Toledo, OH
Apr 26, 2009

Great weekend

We went to Chicago for a wedding in the downtown area. It was great! The location was perfect. We could walk to almost every where we wanted to go. We took a taxi to the wedding and back, easy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If possible fly or take a train into Chicago. You won't have to pay to park.... You don't need a car if you are staying in the downtown area. Taxi's are the way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porterville,CA
Mar 22, 2010

In walking distants of main stores

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Feb 8, 2010

definitely great for downtown visiting

the embassy suites is a great downtown hotel. it is just 2 blocks off of michigan avenue which actually makes it nice to be off the main hectic strip. the staff is courteous and helpful. i have stayed here twice in the past few months and thoroughly enjoyed my stays. my only complaint would have to be that the room service seems to have issues delivering on their estimated times. however we were given a free dessert for the hassle of waiting an extra 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 9, 2011

What a fabulous surprise

I have been to Chicago many times and have stayed at most of the major hotels including Hyatt, Marriott, Drake, Hilton, Palmer House, Ambassador and others. All have been decent but not great. That is until my recent stay at the Embassy Suites - Lakefront. The hotel was clean and centrally located. All rooms are suites with living room, kitchenette, two flat panel TV's, etc. The nightly rate included a GREAT buffet complimentary breakfast with Omlette Station. If that wasn't enough, all guests are invited to the nightly reception with unlimited free cocktails, wine, beer, etc. All was first class. This was definitely the best value for the money. My only issues was a fee for wireless internet and some noise coming from another room through the vent system in the living room. The noise was a minor issue and only lasted a few minutes. Internet is now complimentary in many hotels. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save on cocktails prior to dining out by attending the complimentary nightly reception

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton MI
Nov 28, 2009

Excellent Experience

Great location. Two blocks from Magnificent Mile shopping. Walking distance to restaurants. Movie theatre next door. Hotel was very nice and room rate was very good. Made to order breakfast and manager's reception - very good value. $49 a night for valet parking is steep. But I know from experience that's pretty typical for other downtown Chicago hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Douglas, MI
Jan 7, 2010

Great hotel, no so great kids

My daughter and I were there for 2 nites. We'd like to try it again when the hotel is not overrun with children. It was way too busy for us. We enjoyed having a busstop right outside the door. It would have been helpful if we knew what to do at the Manager's Reception. There were 2 drink lines and only one had a sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a bus pass and use it to go anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top