$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
View map of 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
338 reviews
girls trip was awesome

Overall great time and the hotel staff was awesome. See full review

  • gloria y.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Museum tour

Took the Amtrak from KC to Chicago for a 4 day stay to see the various Chicago museums. This... See full review

  • Senior travelor KC
  • Feb 27, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 338
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenny
Business
St Louis
May 27, 2015

Family trip

Very clean room. Great breakfast. Great location near Navy Pier. Within walking distance to downtown and great restaurants. Wifi not stable which can be improved. Parking not free. Overall very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gloria y.
Business
plainfield
Apr 6, 2015

girls trip was awesome

Overall great time and the hotel staff was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Five to 1
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Good Family Trip

The hotel was everything we needed. It fit me and my wife and six kids with ease. close to train station and right in the heart of downtown. I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clareman
Business
Aurora
Feb 11, 2015

a quick getaway

We drove in to the city with another couple, each had made reservations for an overnight stay, we first went to the Chicago History Museum, checked in at 4:30, our rooms were on the same floor, different ends, theirs overlooked the large open atrium, very loud echoes of laughter, shouting, screaming kids. Lots of families with lots of school age kids were there. We went down for the managers reception, a long line barely moving for drinks at the bar, we ended up not getting one, had some chips and dip, no hot appitizers, and again, kids running around everywhere. The restaurant downstairs was closed due to a burst pipe, where we planned on eating dinner, so we found a place 1 1/2 blocks away called D4, an Irish pub, good meal. Our rooms were nice, the bedwas clean and comfortable, the mini kitchen was nice, and useful.The young ladie at the front desk was very nice, and helpful, the free breakfast was OK. I probably wouldn't go there again.We stay downtown 1 or 2 nights a year, trying different places, so this wasn't our first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mari M.
Business
Holland
Feb 10, 2015

Christmas 2014

We experienced a great value with this stay in Chicago. The hotel though is more family oriented and we would appreciate a more adult feel and experience. Too many screaming kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Volare Italian Restaurant

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ab.961
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Family Thanksgiving

We booked 3 rooms last minute for Thanksgiving (Wednesday - Friday). We live in a condo in the neighborhoods and our place is small for 10 people. For the price of the room which was less than half of what the typical rate is, we decided to join my family. The deal for the hotel including breakfast, happy hour and a pool for the kids could not be beat! We even took the limo that was available... The cost wasn't much more then the price for 2 cabs and the driver was awesome and made my niece and nephews first limo experience one to remember! I see more Thanksgivings spent here.... Only a 10 minute walk to the parade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melanie
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Fantastic family spring break stay

The hotel was in a perfect location to access all areas of the city. We took one day and walked down to Water tower place. We had as easy drive to the museum campus. Valet parking was incredibly helpful and convenient. We did have one issue with the toilet in our room, however the maintenance staff was super swift in taking care of the problem. The staff at the front desk and in the dining areas of the hotel were top notch. We loved the evening reception and breakfast buffets. We would (and have) recommend this hotel to any other families looking for a base to center their vacation around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rajiv L.
Business
Menomonie
Dec 29, 2014

great trip

evening reception lines are ling and bar tenders are very slow in pouring drinks. takes for ever to get a drink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZWIHANGWISI M.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great esxperience in a magnificent hotel with fine dinning and breakfast

Fine hotel with excellent service standards overall fine restaurant service although some breakfast restaurant staff packaging food stuffs just some, would perhaps need to cultivate hospitable manners when relating to guests. Hotel also as great location and views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently located in downtown Chicago

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rocio A.
Business
Tyler
Dec 29, 2014

Excellent location and service

It met my expectations!! Its location is great, the room nice, the staff quite good...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top