$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
290 reviews
Family Getaway

Great location, friendly staff, fun for kids.. perfect location to walk to Navy Pier, Eataly, Water... See full review

  • Jeffrey Ackland
  • Oct 12, 2014
Would return again !

Location was great convenient to the river walk,Navy Pier and downtown shopping. I was able to walk... See full review

  • KK1033
  • Oct 8, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truly Disappointed Traveler...
Business
Albany, NY
Oct 18, 2009

Worst Hotel Customer Service EVER!!

Before I even checked in my most important bag was stolen from the locked Bellman's Closet, looks like an inside job. Hotel staff acted like it was no big deal after I tried to explain to them how important the contents were. Hotel insurance claims they are only responsible for $250, which does not even cover the bag...let alone the laptop, jewelry, prescriptions/glasses/camera/ipod etc in the bag. Manager was useless, Director of Security did not contact me until I was in the cab to leave! (2 days later), [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for shopping and getting cabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 16, 2011

Loud, smelly

The room was on the 8th floor, which is a smoking floor. At the time we booked the room it was all they had. The room smelled very very strongly and the windows didn't open. People were parting at the Bar all night and I could hear them load and clear. Between the smell and the noise I didn't get much sleep. I never was able to find the ice machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Oct 16, 2009

Worst Stay In Chicago I have ever had!

The front desk people were unfriendly and unhelpful. [...] We had paid in advance for 4 room nights and they put us in for three. Had to go back down to the front desk and get that straightened out. Called the general manager who then emailed and said that he was sorry and he would take care of it - but never did anything about the fact that our room was a smoking room and smelled terrible or anything else. I will never stay at that hotel again. I was in town on business and scoping it out for a conference that I am bringing to Chicago in 2011. I will definitely not take my members there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DORIS & FRIENDS
Business
SOUTH FLORIDA / INDIANA
Jul 28, 2009

WOULD NOT EVER STAY THERE AGAIN !!

THE LOCATION WAS GREAT, BUT WHEN CHECKING IN THE ROOM I REQUESTED AND PAID FOR IN COMPLETE WAS NOT GIVEN TO ME. THE STAFF TOLD ME IT WAS NOT A GUARENTEE TO OBTAIN THIS FROM ORBITZ. I WOULD JUST HAVE TO SETTLE FOR WHAT THEY WERE TO GIVE ME . I WAS NOT VERY HAPPY WITH THIS EXPERIENCE. I WOULD NOT CONSIDER USING ORBIZ, OR THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE DELI / FOOD MARKET ACROSS THE HOTEL WAS VERY GOOD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Oct 28, 2010

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefr

Horrible. The air conditioning did not work two nights in a row. The shower curtin rod was bent, the soap dish flipped around. The Alarm clock would not work. I asked for management to come to my room. After 28 hours of never hearing, I went to the front desk for management help where i was told there was no need to her to come to my room. Because I bought my room through [...] they refused to accept my Hilton Honors account, and any issue I had with the room, the front desk's response was always "you paid [...], you have to get assistence from them". [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammie Jane
Business
Midwest
Nov 27, 2011

Not as I expected

The tiles in the bathroom were mildewed, the heating/cooling unit was disabled, the room had a funny smell, and the breakfast very likely gave me intestinal distress. On the up side, the staff working the bar/restaurant on Thanksgiving evening -- all extraordinarily hardworking and aiming to please -- were more professional than my husband and I usually see anywhere. A bit of redemption for this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sammie Jane
Business
Midwest
Dec 8, 2011

Great location

But not much else. The breakfast is plentiful but not hot when served -- like bad diner food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crooklyn
Business
Omaha, NE, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Romantic date to Chicago

Our stay was very pleasant but did leave much to be desired. The hotel receptionist I felt was rather cool toward me when we arrived. The room itself for a suite left a lot to be desired. Not much of a view n very small compared to other embassy suites hotels I stayed at before. The breakfast was nice however when it came time for cut off I noticed the kitchen staff was rather rude bout closing up. I forgot a drink n went back fora glass of orange juice an was turned away. I was severely disappointed considering the rate for the room i was in was over 600 dollars. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joe koziel
Business
barabo wi
Mar 5, 2013

didnt get what i was told

the room i booked i didnt get, And wasnt offered any thing to make it up to me. I thought vallet parking was high at over 50.00 a night. Over all not very impressed with staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

My review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

cost was high.. parking attendant ran into my car with another customers car. Hotel was just ok and the pool area was outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on the mile was two or three blocks from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top