$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
445 reviews
Great trip

The Embassy Suites Lakefront was a great place to stay. Very friendly staff. Best hotel breakfast... See full review

  • rwhiteley12
  • Jul 7, 2014
So comfortable

It was far from a station. But we could get on the bus easily. The room was so comfortable. See full review

  • Kiyoedo
  • Jun 26, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (445)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
445 out of 445
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helen on the Road
Frankfort, IN
May 13, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Great hotel that offers a lovely breakfast included in the price of your room. Great location for any activity you want to do downtown. Very little swimming pool, but the kids enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit with a short taxi ride the Lincoln Park Zoo!

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cdubb
Indiana, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Embassy Suites

Pretty nice hotel! Worth what you pay!! They have complimentary drinks in the evening, just adds a little bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rkkl
denver, co
Feb 21, 2012

Can't wait to go back!

Love the space in the rooms. Excellent location. Friendly, courteous staff. Amazing value . The pool is small, but clean. The staff tried to address issues with the phone and coffee maker, we were only there overnight, they did the best they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Things close early in the winter months, hard to find specialty places to eat late during the week.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sjmeyers
Linden, MI
Feb 19, 2012

Best for Family of 5!

It was wonderful and worth the price. We have 3 small children and the set-up was wonderful. It was nice having a living space for the children to play and sit in instead of sitting on beds all the time. Breakfast was awesome with a made to order line and plenty of sitting space. We never had trouble finding a table to fit our family. Walking distance to Michigan Ave and a taxi ride to all the museums. The staff was extremely friendly! Would go back here and any other Embassy Suites!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab because parking is expensive if you can find a place to park.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kpdual90
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Feb 6, 2012

Expected more

When I pay $130 a night for a room and $50 to valet my car, I don't expect the toilet paper roller to be falling off the wall or the ice bucket to still be half full of water from the previous guest. There were other minor issues as well. The staff was cold and not very inviting; almost like they were frustrated that they were there at all. With all the great places to stay in Chicago, I won't be going back to this hotel again. The location is great but there's at least a dozen other hotels in same area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maldonado
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 3, 2012

Great

It was difficult to find, needs a larger sign. But it was worth it, they treat us nice and the breakfast was excellent. I like the room it was big and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Many stores and great prices. Nice people

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ballski
Greenville, MI 48838, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Business oriented

It was a good place overall. It is a beautiful hotel but it seems to cater to the business person more than the traveler. Rooms were clean but the shower backed up each time we used it. Even after explaining the problem to the front desk supervisor there was nothing done to resolve the problem. Parking is ridiculous! $43.00 a night! We enjoyed our stay nonetheless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giordano's Pizza is amazing stuff and is well worth experiencing.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jutu
Business
Port Huron, MI
Jan 29, 2012

2 day getaway

Hotel was in a great location just 2 blocks away from magnificent mile and many great restaurants. Staff was very friendly. The cook to order breakfast was delicious and very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candicakes
Toledo, OH, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great Location/Value/Overall Stay

Hotel is located in a great area and welcoming. Great value for Downtown Chicago, nice lobby and managers reception for free from 5:30-7:30 every night! Drinks aren't limited to beer & wine - great selection to choose from on the house. Expect to pay for parking - costed us $43 for one night! Overall - excellent value, clean room and spacious for the price. Definitely would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crooklyn
Omaha, NE, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Romantic date to Chicago

Our stay was very pleasant but did leave much to be desired. The hotel receptionist I felt was rather cool toward me when we arrived. The room itself for a suite left a lot to be desired. Not much of a view n very small compared to other embassy suites hotels I stayed at before. The breakfast was nice however when it came time for cut off I noticed the kitchen staff was rather rude bout closing up. I forgot a drink n went back fora glass of orange juice an was turned away. I was severely disappointed considering the rate for the room i was in was over 600 dollars. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
naff
Michigan
Jan 16, 2012

nice hotel

I found the rooms very nice, pretty well insulated so you don't hear your neighbors plus there was a complimentary breakfast and evening "reception" of drinks and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top