$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

3 stars
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
265 reviews
Stay. Again

Wonderful staff is good and very helpful . Evening cocktails and breakfast was superb See full review

  • R verma
  • Mar 31, 2014
Weekend Stay

Best value you can get in downtown Chi. Staff made you feel important, and welcome. They were very... See full review

  • KOLFan1
  • Mar 10, 2014
All-suite hotel by Navy Pier and other Chicago attractions

The Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel boasts an envious Chicago address, just two blocks from Navy Pier and a short walk to the Magnificent Mile. Peer out of one of the two-room suites to Chicago’s most recognizable landmarks. Business, shopping and entertainment districts are minutes away. Contemporary styling, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and weeknight manager receptions keep guests comfortable and well fed. A movie theater and restaurant in the building also make rainy days feel like more of a good thing.

Highlights
  • Two blocks to Navy Pier, close to the Magnificent Mile
  • Spacious two-room suites
  • Complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center and heated indoor pool
Rooms
A dedicated living room in the two-room suites affords business travelers a separate space for work or families an additional room for children to rest on a sleeper sofa. The private bedrooms at the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel are styled with contemporary furniture, fine linens and one king or two double beds. A palette of browns, square-patterned carpeting and soft lighting work together to create a space that is warm and familiar. Every suite features a flat-screen plasma TV, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features

Guests of the Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront hotel enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast served each morning inside an open, light-filled atrium. Every evening, the manager hosts a reception in the Sky Lobby. For the rest of the day, count on P.J. Clarke’s on the first floor of the property for favorite American eats, like burgers, meatloaf, salads and desserts.

Guests exercise at the 24-hour fitness center or swim in the heated, indoor pool.

High-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel, including the 24-hour business center (fees apply).

On-site indoor valet and self-parking is available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Blue Line (Grand) (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Grant Park (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • John Hancock Center (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Water Tower Place (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with complimentary Internet access
  • 20,000 square feet of function space, including 16 meeting rooms
  • Chicago River Ballroom with room for up to 500 guests
  • Video, sound and lighting technology available
  • Full-service catering and convention staff

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8904 -87.6201
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 17.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

5
Carriebear22
Appleton, WI, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Lovely get away, great location

This hotel is a great place, we won't stay anywhere else in Chicago. For a hotel downtown the room is bigger than most because of the 2nd sitting room attached. Very clean, modern looking place. The free drinks and breakfast usually have a line, but those perks are worth about $25 per person daily if purchased outside. Nice to start the day with a good breakfast. Having a fridge in the room is unusual downtown so that is a big perk if you want to bring your own snacks, healthy foods or beverages. The location is amazing, 2-3 blocks to Michigan Ave, 4-5 blocks to Navy Pier. Love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
katiebro
michigan
Jan 13, 2012

Chicago Stay

We loved the location, the space of the room and the wonderful cooked to order breakfast. The bedding was great and funiture very nice. The cost of the parking was 49 doolars per day and that forced us to stay only one night. Wish they could make some kind of discount available for 2 or more nights stay. Over all we had a wonderful time. Staff was so nice. Kay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
T V fanatic
Chicago, il
Jan 9, 2012

Very Pleasent

For the short time I was there it was a really good stay. My tv was having issues, but they took care of me with no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Joyer
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 6, 2012

New years trip

Friendly Staff alway w/ a smile when answering questions - very knowledgable to attractions and eating places / Close to Navy Pier / Great Rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Navy peir

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
Joyer
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 6, 2012

News years trip

Great place to stay if going to Navy Pier . Its about 3-4 blocks and taxi service right out the front door. Great hotel - service ; heated pool open till late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
The Guy
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great LakeView Hotel

This is a great hotel. Me and my girlfriend stayed here and went to the bulls game. Right next to bus stop, couple minutes to Navy Pier. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
JB IA
Iowa, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Breakfast and Drinks Included RuK'din!!!!

Took the family to Chi town over the holidays, expecting everything to be over priced and busy with the hustle and bustle BUT to my pleasant surprise this hotel out did itself. The FREE nightly cocktails and the morning breakfasts were the bomb! I have five kids ( 7 of us total) and we all ate breakfast " the full buffet or cooked to order" (price that out and you understand why this place is a real bargain) both were good and the staff in the kitchen or at the bar were all very pleasant. The towels in the pool area were warm, long enough to wrap yourself with, and so new the cotton smelled as if it had just been picked. My wife and I were happy with the room, a small suite but plenty of room, with sinks everywhere ( 3 kids brushing their teeth at the same time is nice) the towels and bed linens were of very good quality as well. The only gripe I had was that valet parking ended up being very high$$ almost as much per day as what the room cost, and when they brought my Rover back to me, it was still dirty and I could tell it hadn't eaten at any buffet. Needless to say that's parking in any big city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
gbump
Des Moines, IA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Good service

It was good to hear English spoken by the servixe help. one problem was that people were upset when they put the elevators out of service for almost a half hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
christmas fun
Columbus, OH, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Decent place

I stayed here on christmas night. I absolutely loved the location more than anything. AMC theater and lucky strike was right behind the hotel building which was fantastic for my family. The view was pretty awesome too. Bed was comfortable and the TV's were nice. Decent bathroom and the staff were nice. Free breakfast is another thing my family truly enjoyed. Great food and great time. Parking is quite confusing. I accidentally pulled into the self-parking lot and had a little hassle with them. Self-parking is not part of the hotel. You are more than likely to miss the hotel's valet if you don't pay attention. and self-parking staff was awful. Overall, I'd come stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Marylin Monroe statue is about 8 min away from the hotel and if you look outside the window from the room, depending on where your room is, you could find it easy!! no directions necesary.

Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

4
MRI
Dubuque, IA
Dec 24, 2011

Good Family Value

Good location, convenient to everything we wanted to see and do. The free breakfast and manager's reception are a bit of a cattle call, but you get what you pay for. If you want the convenience of downtown on a budget, you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Embassy Suites Chicago - Downtown/Lakefront

Reviewer score

3
Janet12
Warren, Ohio
Dec 21, 2011

Family Christmas Shopping

Really liked the buffet breakfast and evening reception. We had booked a non-smoking room, but were given a smoking room. When I asked to be moved the next day I wasn't guarnteed we would get a nonsmoking room.. They requested we pack all our stuff and put it in storage and see what became available later in the day! The whole floor reeked of smoke as did all our stuff after getting back home. I did feel they could have decorated their hotel more for Christmas. Very few decorations. Loved the city of Chicago though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top